1996 Nissan Primera Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1996 Nissan Primera LX 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Does what it is supposed to do

Faults:

Exhaust rear silencer in 2004 it was original!

General Comments:

A good reliable car averaging 40 mpg however a trip to Italy averaged 46 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2004

1996 Nissan Primera eGT 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Even by todays standards, this is a lot of car for the money

Faults:

The radiator is in a bad state

Leaks inside when it rains hard, but only while vehicle has been stationary for a couple of hours.

General Comments:

This is my 4th Primera, my 3rd eGT, on the whole I've found the car very enjoyable to drive, however in the wet, the car pushes on when going round corners & roundabouts, if fitted with factory fitted alloy's.

I've found the interior very spacious, & comfortable.

Boot space is very good, & with the the split folding rear seats, it gives it that more extra space when required.

The driving position is good, giving you good all round vision, with all the controls within easy reach & nicely laid out. The pedals are spaced very well, with a very nice feel to them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2004

1996 Nissan Primera SLX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Blocked camshaft spray bars-watch out!!

Faults:

Starter motor failed at 50,000.

Sunroof rattles. This is very annoying.

At 65,000, the engine developed a squeak. I took it to the Nissan dealer and they changed my fan belt and p/s belt.

The squeak was actually a blocked camshaft spray bar causing one of the cam lobes to squeak! I now have unknown engine wear. Thanks to the useless Nissan dealer for NOT recognising this fault (a little local garage sorted the problem for me). The car had been regularly serviced beforehand. These spray bars must be very prone to blockage.

General Comments:

It is quick.

The sports setting on the box gives you extra revving before gear change.

It handles quite well.

Under steers slightly (FF cars do though).

Turning circle is a joke! I find myself doing 5 point turns!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th June, 2003

21st Apr 2004, 05:50

Never heard of this problem. sounds like you've been very unlucky with that car.

True- the turning circle is a joke on the '96 model, but the 2000 model I have now is significantly worse even than that!! around town it has the manoevreability of a train.

13th Sep 2004, 15:19

Hi, I feel an update is due as I am picking up my new Primera Sport Plus VT6A this weekend!

The car has been OK since the cam oil feeder problem. What a shame that had to happen. Everything else has been OK since. One thing that I'll be trading this car in with is a VERY rusty tailgate hinge. It's completely rotted away.

Looking forward to owning the Sport Plus. I'm still a Nissan fan despite the niggles.

1996 Nissan Primera Camino 2 Litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired71543 kilometres
Most recent distance72258 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A high performance economical vehicle

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This car is very quick, with the 16" wheels it handles like it's on rails.

However the seats are very uncomfortable and you get thrown around the vehicle.

The cabin is very roomy, perfect for a family.

The truck of the car is very big, perfect for going on holiday or carrying pushchairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th September, 2002

1996 Nissan Primera SRi 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Can't rate it highly enough

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Superb in almost all respects - I bought it from my dad who had owned it since 1,800 miles.

Nothing other than tyres, exhaust and brake pads/discs have needed replacing to date, every other component is original.

Performance, handling, steering and reliability all excellent, also think it looks great in bright red with the spoiler, despite the motoring press criticisms of its dull styling. (96-99 model)

2.0 litre definitely the one to go for, needs revving to get the best from it, but will cruise serenely all day. Fuel economy not spectacular, but acceptable at 33-34mpg. (No wheel spinning with the price of tyres!)

Cam In Head design means no cambelt changes and engine totally smooth & quiet after almost 80K miles.

Very little to criticise - spare parts not cheap although you shouldn't need many.

I'm reminded of how good it is when I drive other cars, drove a Renault Megane Scenic and there's absolutely no comparison.

Would definitely buy another - hopefully replace it with a T or V reg model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2002

22nd May 2004, 16:23

I couldn't agree more. I have owned a 96 model SRi for almost 4 years and all it has needed is routine maintenance. The only problem was a wiper motor that burned out, repaired under warranty. Great car, great handling and good performance too. Mine has covered over 94000 miles and still sweet. recommended.

6th Jul 2004, 07:00

I would be interested to know whether you have heard of any problems with wishbones wearing our and whether this is a common problem. The reason I am asking is that I am considering buying a 1996 SRi, but has had this wishbone replaced on both sides in the front. Wondering if this maybe has been driven hard.

11th Oct 2004, 03:10

I have bought one of these a year a go (P10). Things that needed fixing: front and rear brakes, rear shock-absorbers, generator (as far as I know almost all 92-96 nissan cars have the same problem with generators), minor electrical problems.

In general it's a quite good car.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 22 reviews