2003 Nissan Primera Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2003 Nissan Primera S 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

Wallowy, boring, and mechanically suspect

Faults:

Undiagnosed clunking and uneven ride from the rear suspension; uneven and premature rear tyre wear.

Loose exhaust heat plate.

Drivers seat sagging and creaking. (I'm only 11 stone!)

Permanently faulty handbrake.

General Comments:

The car is quick enough for a 1.8; handling could be sharper; fuel consumption acceptable, but no better.

The steering is vague at speed, and the car seems particularly susceptible to crosswinds.

Discs and pads replaced front and rear at 39,000 - never experienced brake wear this rapid on any other car.

At about 30,000 miles, the car developed an intermittent rumbling, clunking from the rear end at low speed. The dealer could not fault it, but blamed uneven wear on the rear tyres for causing ride problems. These were replaced with no subsequent improvement.

The handbrake was unsatisfactory when new, and had to be tightened shortly after delivery by an independent garage. There was subsequently an official recall because of poor handbrake operation, but despite this, and the fault being mentioned at every service, it has never been right, and the car once crept out of my driveway on its own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th July, 2007

16th Aug 2007, 07:52

The clunking noise is the ABS self-check mechanism that operates when you reach 10 mph.

This seemingly is normal on all primeras (and almeras).

I found this out myself - after Nissan Dealer "Experts" could not explain it!

18th Mar 2013, 12:30

My Primera developed an annoying knocking from rear near side wheel area, but oddly it doesn't happen when people are in the back. I have inspected the whole back axle area, and can't find anything amiss or loose, and it has always flew through its MOTs. So it can't be anything to worry about, but the knocking does get on your nerves after a while.

7th May 2013, 09:03

My 2003 Primera 1.8s has the same issue. An annoying clunking noise happens when going over an uneven surface under 30mph.

Did you manage to fix the problem then? And how much did it cost.

Any further info will be much appreciated.

Thanks, William.

2003 Nissan Primera Acenta 1.9 turbo diesel from Poland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance37000 kilometres
Previous carSeat Cordoba

Summary:

It's a great car assembled as bad as it's possible

Faults:

Everything started after 3 months. First the acclimatization compressor was replaced, than xenon lamp.

Lock of the rear trunk door screw out.

After that oil run out of my engine when I was doing 180 km/h, so the turbo got broke. It took 1 weak to fix it and 3 other to make it right.

Oil pomp was replaced by the order of Nissan Europe.

Now I'm just after replacing xenon lamp for the second time, and all dashboard (the high voltage destroyed instruments panel after the xenon lamp got broke).

I also had some problems with interior elements and some rust on the rear window drivers.

Front chassis I have new as well...

General Comments:

It is really great looking, and great driving car.

Very comfortable and fast enough for most people.

But the problems with almost everything makes You afraid to drive it for some longer distance.

And I think it is sad, specially when You still remember old Nissan that reliability was legendary.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th May, 2005

2003 Nissan Primera S 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

I can't wait to get rid of it.

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Steering is awful except on perfectly dry roads. I have had it checked by the dealer who finds nothing wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th April, 2005

27th Apr 2005, 13:29

This is not a review. Wonder if writer actually owns a Nissan, having owned five different models of Nissan (2 secondhand 3 new) can honestly say steering has been excellent on all including a Primera that covered 130000 miles without a single fault.

20th Apr 2009, 09:11

Quite true!! My Primera's steering never had a problem despite covering 180,000 miles from new however Steering felt slightly harder after temporarily driving a Toyota for a week.

2003 Nissan Primera T-SPEC 2.0 petrol M-CVT from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol M-CVT Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired51 miles
Most recent distance2374 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Original car

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

I have had my Primera T-spec auto. for one year and it is by far the best car I have had in 32 years of driving. My only real complaint is the feeling that you are not going to stop in time. I love everything about the car and would replace it with a new Primera after two, three years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 18 reviews