2009 Nissan Qashqai Vista 1.6 petrol from Norway

Summary:

A break down away

Faults:

Clutch problems, door hinges, shock absorber and the list goes on.

Rust in tailgate.

Rear windows do not work.

Driving lights need replacing, and water in back tail lights

General Comments:

I was so pleased with the car when the dealership delivered it; very low kilometers and full service history. I never drive the car in town, yet the clutch shudders, and the entire car shudders if the car is not warmed up. I take care of my cars and this car is nothing but work.

I have never had a car with such low kilometers fall apart so quickly. I found forums that relate to the large and small repairs. It seems clutch, shockers and electronic problems are "normal" for this car. The biggest appointment is the rust. The tailgate needs to be removed to fix it. Dealership said it should have never have had such deep rust for a spotless car!

Every day it seems that I hate the car more and more. The worst thing is I can't sell due to the long list of things to do. I fell in love with the glass roof and fantastic specs, but all that gloss hid a poorly built car. I owned a Honda HR-V for years and drove over 250000 klm; never had a day of trouble. Never will I buy a Nissan again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th March, 2016

2009 Nissan Qashqai N-tec 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

N/A.

General Comments:

I had my reservations about buying a Qashqai, but they were soon put to bed upon owning this vehicle.

I have owned this 2009 1.6 petrol N-tec Qashqai for only 3 months, and I still have a smile on my face!! The kit that comes with the N-tec (panoramic roof, colour reversing camera etc), you would expect to find on cars over 30k.

I was ultimately surprised at how well the 1.6 engine copes with this car having read previous reviews. Having owned a Clio Sport and Fiesta ST in the past, I don't find the Qashqai sluggish at all.

My MPG is great as well, considering we do only town driving, and a full tank of petrol will show 500 miles to empty. I can only assume that on motorway journeys this would increase.

In summary it's a great family car (it's shorter in length than a Focus!!), and would recommend anybody in the market for a family car to consider this, especially in N-tec form.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2012

27th May 2015, 21:52

You mention you had your had a recall on the brakes on your Qashqai. Can you please give me details of the recall, as I have had 4 sets of calipers and disks in 51k, and Nissan say there is no problem with the brakes?

Ronald Duncan, Scotland.

2009 Nissan Qashqai Tekna 1.5 dCi turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good car, but it could be better

Faults:

The cover for the speedo and other dials fell off in the first week; had not been clicked in properly.

Rear shocks needed replacing after 18 months.

Rear parking sensor stopped working.

Had to go back for brake recall.

Had the wrong engine plate identity plate fitted.

General Comments:

The Qasqai is great at long runs; we took ours to the south of France, fully loaded with a roof box, and it sat on the motorway at 80-90mph with no problems.

I wish I had gone for the +2 version to get that extra room in the boot.

Can't complain about the fuel economy; on a recent trip I got from Nottingham to Paris on just over half a tank.

One thing is you can't have the radio on while the ignition is off.

I have had the car for nearly 3 years now, and for all its faults, I really like it, but wish the build quality was better, and for more space in the cabin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th November, 2011

31st Mar 2013, 10:28

Just bought a 2009 Qashqai Tekna 1.5 dCi. Nice to drive, but the heater is useless! Been back to the supplying dealer who tells me "they are all like that". Surely this is not true; it is like a 1960's car heater.

3rd Apr 2013, 16:34

I think the problem is (as with mine) because it's a diesel, and the Renault 1.5 dCi engine takes ages to warm up. If you put the temp on maximum, it will take at least 10 miles to start warming the inside up; it's just one of those QQ quirks, and there are a few of em... slow electric window motors, crashing suspension over bad surfaces, rubbish A/C, noisy startup from cold et al... but strangely I do like mine, it's a 2009 1.5 dCi. I should be fed up with its foibles... but so far I ain't!

2009 Nissan Qashqai Visia 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Useless

Faults:

Ignition failed after 26 days and less than 1,000 miles.

CD ejection button broke after 3 months and just over 2,000 miles.

Driver's electric window motor failed after 5 months and 4,000 miles.

Air conditioning was slow from the start, and finally failed after 6 months and 5,000 miles.

Head gasket blew on motorway after 8 months and 7,000 miles.

General Comments:

Biggest heap of garbage I ever owned.

Cost nearly £14,000, and couldn't have wasted my money in a worse way.

Had a Peugeot 307 for five years previously, and that was far better.

Horrible to drive.

Will never buy another Nissan ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th February, 2011

2009 Nissan Qashqai DCI turbo diesel from South Africa

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The car is very easy to drive. Visibility and agility are strong points.

There is some wind noise from the mirrors when cruising.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2009

23rd Jul 2010, 07:36

The dCI engine in your Qashqai is sourced from Renault. How good is this engine? Is true that Renault's dCI engines are not as good as VW's and Peugeots.