1996 Nissan QX Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1996 Nissan QX SE 2.0 V6 24 Valve from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 24 Valve Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

A powerful comfy Beast

Faults:

The spark plugs have messed up a few times, but otherwise all OK.

The electronic lead suppling the power to the spark plugs have been repaired twice.

General Comments:

This car is really comfortable. The power under the bonnet is immense and it gives out a lot of torque. I find the handling excellent and the overdrive on it is class. Plus the sport button is nippy and there is a snow button which controls the revs so snow is no problem. My Mazda 323f failed terribly on the snow whilst the Nisan had no problem. Even though it is only a 2.0 it guzzles the petrol badly. Bu the V6 24V engine is great and it's my favorite car of its price. I once pulled up at the lights next to a Ford Scorpio and I cleared it no problem with the overdrive and the sport button. This car rules!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2002

24th Jun 2003, 08:39

The QX is a fairly heavy car, and with a 2 litre engine that only puts out around 145 BHP, I cannot imagine this car being fast, especially burdened with a automatic transmission. I remember seeing that the 0-60 time for this car is roughly 14 seconds. Hardly quick.

14th May 2005, 11:30

My dad drives this, and a Subaru Impretza tried to overtake, admitadly it may have only been a 2.0, but he pushed the sport and overdrive button on, and it left the scooby way behind. Plus it's 0-60 time is around 8-9 seconds unmodified, so if you haven't driven one you should shut your face like.

1996 Nissan QX SEL 3.0 24 valve petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 24 valve petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carFiat Marea

Summary:

A very underrated executive car bargain!

Faults:

The car has been exceptionally reliable. The only thing that has required attention since I bought it is a new rear brake caliper and brake pads.

General Comments:

It is very comfortable and spacious with both front and rear occupants having plenty of room.

The ride and handling, I think, is on the whole excellent. It is surefooted and quite agile for such a big car. The car corners very well and inspires confidence. The only (very minor) quibble is the ride can be slightly jiggly on poor surfaces. On the motorway though the car comes into its own. It is very quiet, rides very nicely and due to the high gearing with the overdrive (approx 30 mph per 1000 revs) it makes a very relaxed mile eating cruiser.

Performance does not disappoint either with a good turn of speed available from the 3.0 24 valve engine when required. The engine is seriously smooth too with very little or no vibration coming through to the interior. It sounds nice too, muted but smooth and sporty.

The car is very well put together with a very good panel fit all around. Paintwork too is very good with no flaws or "orange peel" effect. The interior too is of a very good quality, the black leather of my car is of a high quality showing little signs of wear. Some small parts of the interior such as the fastener for the centre box between the front seats are not so good, although this is only a very minor quibble.

Equipment is excellent too, with electric seats, mirrors, windows, sunroof. Airconditioning is also fitted along with cruise control, overdrive, multi-disc CD player, leather trim, alloy wheels, alarm, immobilizer, remote central locking, remote boot release, etc etc.

Running this big car doesn't break the bank either! Considering the size of the car, a fuel consumption of 40+ mpg on a long motorway run at 70 is very good. Around town a figure somewhere in the low to mid 20's can be expected. Insurance is group 14, which again for a car of this size and power, is really quite good.

The Nissan QX has been a pleasure to own and drive. It has also been totally reliable too. I hope to own this car for a very long time yet, but if I did replace it, it would be with another QX, possibly the later Maxima QX.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2002

29th May 2004, 11:34

I have followed the cars since 1994 and have just bought a 1999 2.0 SE. My previous car is a 1988 Laurel bought 5 years ago (Looking for an owner with time and TLC) The Qx is brilliant. Now looking for a 3lt, but is there a lot of difference?

30th Jul 2004, 19:34

I have been in a 2 litre QX, they are as quiet and smooth as the 3 litre SEL I own. I think the equipment in the later 2.0 SE you own is very similar... The 3 litre SEL has Climate control, electric heated leather seats, cruise control etc etc as standard. Fuel consumption is not too much different to the smaller engined car. As I said in the original review, on a long journey..40+ mpg can be achieved!! The difference between the 2 and 3 litre is obviously the performance. While the 150 bhp 2.0 is no slouch, the 3.0 is a very quick car with an extra 43 bhp and more torque!! Both great cars in my view.

Since my original review here... guess what? Nothing has gone wrong with the car.. at all! It remains totally reliable, comfortable, never loses any oil, coolant etc. Still looks as good, no rattles or squeaks at all, no rust. Fabulous car!!

7th Sep 2004, 08:35

I love to read this about the QX/Cefiro. I have ascertained that (1) the Brit motoring press hate, hate, hate this car (2) the public believe them and they are dirt cheap for what you get. I've never understood the motoring press here-they have a reall bee in their bonnet about Japanese cars and must hate the fact that this Nissan is a better built car than anything out of Europe. If they had a day in the Nissan Gloria they would be crying. I have a feeling that Euro Nissan cars will change as Renault has more influence. Already the Primera is looking decidedly French and I fear that they will bring the French awful build quality and looks to Nissan.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews