1990 Nissan Sentra Reviews - Page 3 of 8

1990 Nissan Sentra SLX (wagon) 1.5 gasoline from Trinidad and Tobago

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

This car is a bargain, style, power, comfort and space wrapped in one package

Faults:

I had the power-steering changed, re-built the engine and serviced the alternator and starter. The only other service is routine maintenance. This car will run forever!

General Comments:

The cabin is roomy, controls fall naturally to the driver's hand. Since I have the wagon I can carry a lot of luggage or other stuff. The only gripe I have is that the air conditioner could have been more powerful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2004

23rd May 2005, 22:01

I am the reviewer, I still have the wagon. It has been almost three years of trouble free driving. This fantastic car will start without a fuss on mornings. Do you want a car that will get you to work on time everyday? Then get a Sentra!

13th Jul 2006, 19:19

Hi, I bought a 1998 Nissan Cefiro A31, and this car is really great - very good on gas, very fast and the ride is smooth.

I am running 18 inch triple chrome rims.

I am looking for a RB25 turbo to replace the RB 20 that I have under the hood right now.

1st Aug 2006, 18:04

I purchased the Nissan Almera good car takes a lot of work, but no upgrading but still a very good car.

8th Oct 2006, 20:38

The original reviewer again... I still have the Sentra. Four years and 2 months have passed. I haven't had a complete paint job done yet. She still looks good! The problem with the air conditioner is the improper installation of an a/c system at some point in the vehicle's life plus a weak compressor. A new compressor and new lines etc is in the works... if I keep her into the new year. Still a pleasure to drive and as reliable as the first day I got her. She doesn't cost much to insure or to maintain. Body parts are a bit scarce though.

17th Feb 2013, 18:41

I am the original reviewer of the 1.5 Sentra wagon. I sold the car in 2011 after 9 wonderful years. I still miss that car. It was practical and economical beyond compare in its class. A lucky guy bought it from me for a really low price.

If Nissan can build another vehicle like that Sentra model, I will be first in line to buy one or maybe two. Come on Nissan, it's time to build a real Nissan in the old tradition of Datsun and Nissan - reliable, economical, fun and reasonably priced.

1990 Nissan Sentra Basic 1.6 GL from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 GL Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles

Summary:

Awesome reliability, cheap to run with acceptable performance

Faults:

Starter replaced at around 100,000.

Replaced battery.

Replaced rotors.

Replaced clutch at 85,000 and 160,000.

Brake line rusted through at 170,000.

Replaced alternator at 171,000.

General Comments:

The car is bulletproof as far as reliability and cost to run. I bought the car in 1995 for $2000. Couldn't be happier about that.

Rust has proven to be a serious problem. Will look for a new car as the underbody rust will soon affect the integrity of the frame. Unfortunate as this car would probably run till 250,000 - 300,000 miles. Wish I'd caught the problem earlier.

Cabin noise and overall quality of the body leave a little to be desired. I am glad I have never been in an accident. It's like a go cart or motorized beer can on wheels. Nissan has remedied this in the newer models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2004

1990 Nissan Sentra GX straight 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission straight 4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles

Summary:

A very good economy car

Faults:

At about 200k miles the timing chain broke and the engine had to be replaced. But up until then there was no major fixes that needed to be done. Granted, the cost to replace that was more than the car was worth, but it was such a well built car. It turned out that the dealer said there was a recall on the engine and if it was within 30k miles then it would have been free anyway.

General Comments:

This car is small and does well even in bad weather with the front wheel drive.

The inside is a bit cracked, but it was my problem for not keeping the windows shielded.

The car handles quite well for how small the engine is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2004

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 28 reviews