1993 Nissan Sentra XE from North America - Comments

2nd Oct 2006, 13:05

You seem to miss the fact that I had my previous mechanic check over the Sentra. Also, my father and myself test drove the car before I bought it. Who's the incompetent one now? You really should thoroughly read a review and its comments before you start talking out of your backside. I have bought at least seven used cars that have been crappy and that is not my fault. Blame the private owners who sold them and my moron mechanic for not telling me that some of them were lemons. I think you're just jealous because you do not have the $13,800 to buy yourself a brand new car. No one in this day in age sells a good used car on the cheap. It's not 1977 anymore. You need to stop living in the past and quit shopping at Kmart. I never said that all Nissans were crap, mine just happened to be the lemon out of the bunch.

2nd Oct 2006, 14:15

By the mid-nineties, Nissan wasn't building the Sentra like it used to be built.

3rd Nov 2006, 17:12

If the "rich folks" ripped you off when they charged you $600 for the car then what did you do to the buyer that spent $2000 on your car? I know you put $300 into it, but that still only equals $900. I have a 1993 sentra and if you only spent $600 on it you got a GREAT DEAL, even if you had to put some money into it. What did you expect for $600?

11th Nov 2006, 06:31

I am the original poster of this review and I traded my 1993 Sentra in at Fuccillo Hyundai and they knew exactly what was wrong with it. I did not embellish anything about the car, unlike the previous owners who sold it to me for $600. For $600, I expected the Nissan to last me a bit longer than the month and a half that it lived. I knew that it was a used car and evidently it was far from perfect, but I did not expect the entire car to die at 106,000 miles. I have owned some junkers in my day, however I have never had a vehicle die on me. Even my $47 Geo Prizm with 203,000 miles lasted me 2 months and when the tranny went, the car was still running. If that car had heat and defrosters, I would still be driving it today. Even my $200 '87 Chrysler LeBaron GTS with 115,272 miles lasted me 4 months, despite what was wrong with it and that car still ran and drove when I sold it. Let's face it, that Sentra was a lemon and it was poorly maintained by people who had more than enough money to maintain it. Do not make excuses for folks who rip off good people on used vehicles everyday. They have no place in our society.

12th Nov 2006, 01:14

I have a comment / question for the original poster: What state are you in, or more importantly, what state did you sell your 1993 Nissan Sentra XE in? I'm in Florida, and I found a 1993 Nissan Sentra XE at a dealership in Oviedo (by Orlando), and it has about the same number of miles (106k) as yours did, and the dealer says everything is fine with it. I'm going to test drive it on Monday, but if you happened to sell that car in a 50 mile radius of that dealership, I'm going to avoid it altogether because it may be the lemon you are talking about.

This car is burgundy / dark red in color. If you still have the VIN and don't mind sharing it, that would be fantastic too.

Thank you a bunch!

18th Nov 2006, 20:06

Hello, I am the original poster and I live in New York State. My Sentra was traded in at Fuccillo Hyundai in the town of Greece, NY on September 27th. The car was blue. The hood and one of the front fenders (forgot which one) was re-painted by the previous owners of the vehicle because their daughter hit a utility pole with the car. There are visual rust spots on the Nissan, unless the dealership in Florida fiberglassed the body and painted it a burgundy color. The undercarriage was in great shape and it was undercoated. The VIN Number is: JN1EB31P2PU243232. I would not be surprised if my old POS actually made it to Florida. For your sake, let's hope not... If I were you, I would invest in a brand new Hyundai Elantra. If any 2006's are left on the lot at your Hyundai dealership in Florida, I would take immediate interest. The automatic base model averages 30 mpg in the city and on the expressway. I have put almost 400 miles on mine so far and it has been a great car to drive! I have only had to fill it up twice in the near two months that I have owned it. The base model has a lot more options than you would expect an economy car to have.

18th Sep 2007, 05:52

I am the original poster of this review. Look at the reviews on the 2006 Hyundai Elantra. There are many satisfied owners (including myself). I have owned my Elantra for about a year and have experienced no problems with it. My car has only 1,600+ miles on it at the moment. As you can tell, I don't do that much driving anymore.

I had the oil changed at the dealership back in July because after 8 months, I felt that it was a wise decision. It will probably take me a while to put 100,000 miles on my Elantra, but if the transmission goes, it is under warranty for 9 more years. Can you say the same for your 1993 Nissan Sentra?

I actually liked my Sentra until it turned into a money pit. When the car died, I was not going to put more money into it. I probably should have had the tranny rebuilt or replaced, but that was the past and you have no right to tell me what I should or should not do with my money. Did you actually read all of my comments?

In my honest opinion, the Hyundai has been a great investment. It may not be a Nissan, Toyota, Honda, or Mazda, but Mazdas are crap anyways. I once owned a 1993 Ford Festiva with the Mazda 1.3 liter engine and I invested $3,000 into that car before I finally had it. I practically gave it away because it wouldn't start anymore and that wasn't my fault. In fact, my neighbor stopped driving it recently. Gee, I wonder why?

I never owned a Honda, but I have heard that they are not as reliable as they were 15-20 years ago. My Geo Prizm had the Toyota 1.6 liter engine and even with 203,000 miles, the car still ran when I sold it for $40.

As for my Nissan, I can remember the tow truck dragging it onto the flatbed shortly after I bought my Elantra. I do miss the Sentra, but it was doomed from the start. $600 was not a bad deal, however I did everything in my power to keep her running. Blowing over $750 into a vehicle that was not guaranteed to run the same afterwards was not a good idea. I learned that the hard way with my Festiva. Good luck with your Sentra!