1990 Nissan Skyline Silhouette RB30E 3.0 litre inline 6 from Australia and New Zealand


An excellent all round car


Power steering pump was leaking fluid.

General Comments:

These cars are outstanding if they are treated well, if they are thrashed they'll start to break just like any other car.

Like any car it has its faults and its quirks, but they are very easy to learn to live with.

For example, I find the power steering a little too light for my liking.

Outstanding value for money if you can find a good one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2004

4th Sep 2005, 20:34

This car is the best car Nissan ever put out. I have just brought mine and the RB30 is one tough engine. I recommend it to anyone, young or old!

4th Dec 2005, 03:54

The nissan skyline r31 is the best. its take off is so fast and I love the straight six power.

1990 Nissan Skyline GXE 3.0 from Australia and New Zealand


Completely brilliant


Absolutely zilch.

Right rear door won't lock-unlock with central locking. That's it.

General Comments:

This would have to be the best buy I've made in a long time. The previous owner had the car since 1993 when it had only 30000km on it. As it was used as a business car, he kept meticulous service records (every 5000km).

Brand new auto trans about 25000km ago, so I won't have to worry about that for a while.

The RB30 motor is a masterpiece. Nissan apparently developed these engines to last some 400000km and I don't doubt that it will.

They don't seem to rust either, and the interior is not far from new condition even with the mileage it has on it.

The car still feels "tight" and quite solid, a much better buy than the equivalent VL Bombadore or XF Foulcan.

They don't yell "steal me" either, I think they're still looked upon (in NZ anyway) as a bit of an "old man's" car.

Oh, and the A/C is brilliant too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2003

13th Feb 2005, 20:40

The Nissan Skyline GXE does not come with central locking.

The fault with your central locking is the after market central locking kit.

13th Sep 2005, 02:56

Strange, because we have a 1990 GXE sedan AND a 1990 GXE wagon - both have central lock. Maybe NZ cars got it standard??

6th Jul 2006, 04:02

The r31 Skyline GX models are good alright, but the best r31 4 door sedan would have to be the TI model. I have owned both and the TI has more get up and go. The body sits a bit higher than the GX models, and it is fully optioned. The Ti model has electric everything, and will burn rubber from a standing start, whereas I am unable to do this in the GX model.

The GX model engine seems to take a while to wind up, whereas the Ti is instant revs. Also, I find the GX transmission less responsive than the Ti, and although it is commonly held that engines and transmissions are the same, I am skeptical of this, and would go as far to say the Ti is 25-30% more responsive. It will sit on 170ks happily all day, and it will max out at about 200ks. It's fast considering it's not turbocharged. It is like an xu1 motor on nos.


20th Jul 2010, 22:04

I have a GXE Series 3 Skyline 1990.

Can any nice chap tell me how I can get 13 seconds over the quarter mile without changing the motor over to a turbo engine?

I think they come standard with 114kws. To reach a 13.5 time, what kws do I need, or what's the best way to get the r31 to go hard?


R31 happy owner, Billy.

1990 Nissan Skyline GXE 3.0 from Australia and New Zealand


A great car for both young and old, you can't go wrong! BUY ONE


Haven't had the car long, there have been no major problems as yet :)

The auto feels a bit off, but I'm getting that serviced tomorrow!

General Comments:

This little car is great. I read some of the reviews here before I bought it.

The power is lacking a bit when you plant your foot at take off. But if you're doing 50 or 60km an hour and then punch it, it hauls. Um my previous car was a Ford with a worked 5.8 litre V8 so perhaps I'm being a bit hard on it.

Buy a Skyline, they are well made, smooth and have power to boot!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2001

25th Nov 2001, 05:08

Got a GX manual, besides the gears being a bit cluncky when rushed, a great car so far, only had to change the rocker cover gasket.