1990 Nissan Skyline Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1990 Nissan Skyline GTS M-Type 2.5 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Awesome car, with a serious image

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong, although the front suspension bushes on the lower toe control arms will need replacing for the MOT.

General Comments:

WOW, quick, this car is seriously quick. I love the speed this car will accelerate and shed speed.

Nissan claim only 250 horse power for this car, but it must be more.

It will out run a BMW 328 or 330, and costs less new and has more image than either.

I had a XR 4x4 before this, and although I miss the security of the 4 wheel drive, I wouldn`t change it.

The interior may not have a lot of room in the back, but the stereo is great.

The handling is great, but you have to be careful in the wet, as you will get wheel spin in 3rd gear (sometimes 4th if it`s really slippery). And that`s with 235 width tyres fitted.

People don`t know the Nissan Skyline range also has lower performance models, with 2 wheel drive and anything from a 2 litre non turbo to the full 2.6, twin turbo four wheel drive version.

This is the only car I`ve known that can have grown men bow down and kneel in front of it. I mainly got it over other performance cars I could have bought because was I got sick of the Sierra, and losing it in the supermarket car park. So, I wanted something rare, that you wouldn`t see thousand of others on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2001

5th Jan 2005, 15:24

You say "People don`t know the Nissan Skyline range also has lower performance models, with 2 wheel drive and anything from a 2 litre non turbo to the full 2.6, twin turbo four wheel drive version"

There was also a R32 Skyline GXi released which many people don't know about, which has a CA18i (1.8L) inl DOCH 4-cylinder, front disc's rear drum brakes PCD 4x114.3. Although I wouldn't exactly call this a performance car either.

1st Sep 2005, 22:34

I'm not entirely sure which car you are reviewing? :s.

There weren't any Skyline GTS M-Type's made. Only thing close to that name is the Skyline GTS-t Type M (R32) - I assume that is what you're talking about?

And as for the 250hp claim - no R32's (1989-1993/1994), apart from the 280hp GT-R, exceeded 215hp (GTS-t and GTS-4 - RB20DET). The only Skyline to come out with 250hp is the R33 GTS-25t which came out after 1993/1994. :)

25th Sep 2007, 20:23

What you say is true... but there was an option Nissan (Japan) gave to late model (93/94) R32 GTS-T buyers, that option being the new RB25DET from the R33 that was released while the R32 made its last production run in 93/94.

As far as I'm aware only a few of these made it off the production line.

5th Jul 2009, 01:50

I owned a 90 Skyline GTR for 1 full year, it was a bad car. It been to a repair shop more than I drive. I'll never tell my friend or anyone buy this car, thanx.

1990 Nissan Skyline Silouhette 3.0 litre EFi from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre EFi Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired250000 kilometres
Most recent distance256589 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

A great car and bargain for its age

Faults:

Nothing really!!!

General Comments:

It is not the most fuel efficient car in the world, but it pays off with a lot of power.

It is quite comfortable, it's a luxury car and handles well.

It's good off the mark and is very, very reliable.

Its amazing at towing and is the ideal car for an Aussie like me.

It has a nice dark interior and beautiful seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2001

19th Jul 2001, 01:03

You think your car goes nicely? I have an '87 Skyline Silhouette in Manual, and the difference is fantastic... I can beat brand new Commodores and Falcons off the line, and use less petrol while I'm doing it!

14th May 2002, 21:07

I have a 1988 Nissan Skyline Silhouette TI and I absolutely love it. However, I have found that the engine will miss at low idle speeds, and I'm curious about timing belt issues. A mate of mine told me that the Skyline has timing gears/cogs rather than belts. Anyone know if this is the case?

9th Sep 2002, 06:01

I've had an '89 GXE Auto for about twelve months. In that time, I've had next to no problems with it & found it to be one of the best cars I've ever owned. Fuel consumption is a bit weird though. Around town, Canberra, I average 20mpg (to old to work out the metric equivalent in l/100km), but on a trip it jumps straight up to 30mpg. A friend has suggested changing the standard air filter system to a sports style that's available for $175. Has anyone done this? And how much difference did it make?

14th Sep 2012, 10:22

Hello, yes, about buying a $175 air filter upgrade; don't waste your time.

If you want more power, go turbo.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews