1990 Nissan Stanza Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1990 Nissan Stanza XE 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

My favorite car

Faults:

The AC compressor had to be replaced when it was about 5 years old.

The latch for the gas tank door broke and wouldn't close after about ten years (but was easy to fix with a new latch from the junk yard).

The master cylinder for the brakes just was replaced in 2003.

The transmission broke at 143,000 miles (2003). I just got it fixed using a $40 transmission from a Stanza at the junk yard and it works perfectly now ($400 to have it put in).

The reservoir for windshield washer fluid got a leak after about 11 years.

At about 11 years old the car started to idle weird and sometimes stall. The mechanic said that it was a problem with the computer and Nissan had made a chip to correct the problem (apparently others had the same problem). The chip helped as did a tune-up. The new transmission seems to have fixed it all together now.

I think I had to replace some tie rods or something at about 11 years.

General Comments:

I really never took care of this car and twice went a year without changing the oil and yet it has really been a wonderful car. It has only ever broken down once in the ten years I've had it and that was this when the transmission broke.

The seats are really comfortable.

It is fun to drive.

Everyone should have one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2004

8th Jul 2004, 20:51

You mentioned a chip that fixed the idle problem on your Nissan. Do you mind letting on how much it costs? (Jaracer64@charter.net)

7th Sep 2004, 17:29

I'm experiencing the same type of problem with my 1990 stanza idle. I've tuned it up and still runs rough. You mentioned a computer chip. Please let me know name or type of chip and cost. Thanks, eliajcortez@peoplepc.com.

2nd Oct 2007, 10:09

I also had a rough idle problem with my Stanza. I had the alternator rebuilt and replaced a bad fuel injector and now the problem is gone. This really is a great car, over 17 years old and I have never had any major problems.

20th Mar 2010, 09:38

Where is the wiper washer reservoir located on a 90 Stanza XE?

Also, where is the temp gauge sensor located?

Lastly, where can I find a used and budget priced right rear brakelight lens assembly along with other front and rear signal lenses and other misc. parts?

Damsel in Stanza XE Distress here in Washington State surely would appreciate your feedback. Thank you!! Please post comment here or email response (preferred) to: back.2basics2009@hotmail.com

11th Apr 2010, 19:37

I am 21 years old, and I bought a Nissan Stanza 1990 for 300 dollars 11 months ago. I have put over 20,000 miles on it. Drove it to New Orleans for Mardis Gras 2010, and the starter just blew on my car; the bindex pin snapped.

1990 Nissan Stanza XE from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A scrap yard owners dream.

Faults:

2 Fuel Injectors cracked at 100,000 miles.

Automatic seat belts malfunctioned at 90,000 miles.

Radiator Cracked at 95,000 miles.

Starter died at 100,000 miles.

Speedometer/Odometer malfunction at 120,000 miles.

Passenger Side rear window fell off of the track.

Power steering hose leaking at 100,000 miles.

Alternator died at 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

When the car is running, it drives flawlessly, if not with a great deal of road noise.

For a person over 5' 8" the interior is highly cramped.

With the cost of replacement Nissan parts, I would not recommend this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd October, 2002

1990 Nissan Stanza XE 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

A decent performance, comfortable, economical, reliable ride!

Faults:

The car never ran right since I rebuilt it (was in a head on crash before I got it). It doesn't like having the pedal part way down, as it will gain RPM's, then kind of stall, gain RPM's, stall, etc.

I blew a muffler skin off, that was an expensive fix ($140 for the muffler, compared to my $17 mufflers for the old Buick).

Front axle had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This car has been beat on, and I am still very impressed with it.

The interior is great, very comfortable and holds up forever.

Not much has gone wrong, but when things do happen to go wrong, replacement and repairs are not cheap.

It handles well, even though the struts are totally shot right now (a $200+ fix).

Best $100 car I will ever have!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2002

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 10 reviews