1990 Nissan Stanza Reviews

1990 Nissan Stanza GXE 2.4 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carToyota T100

Summary:

Last Nissan I will ever buy

Faults:

Transmission seals, CV axles and boots gone at 102000.

Radiator gone at 106000 miles.

Timing chain gone at 106000 miles.

Car gone at 106000 miles.

General Comments:

Very noisy ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th June, 2012

20th Jun 2012, 07:32

In reality, a 22 year old car isn't gonna be fun to repair. This car must've been parked somewhere, it's under mileage surely. When this car was bought, was there a safety inspection done? Was a competent mechanic able to diagnose a noisy timing chain, which later broke. Did they notice the ripped boots?

21st Jun 2012, 03:49

22 year old car suffers failure of rubber components and radiator shock... I think this is more a case of unrealistic expectations.

22nd Jun 2012, 22:29

The timing chain didn't break. It was the plastic tensioner that broke.

The radiator sprung a leak near the top seam.

The transmission problems started with a large puddle of transmission fluid under the car.

When replacing the seal on one side, we decided to do both sides, which meant removing both axles. May as well put new ones in.

The car wasn't parked for long periods. It just wasn't driven much.

Looking back, an ex-girlfriend had a 1989 Stanza that needed a new engine before the 100,000 mile mark.

For me, that's 2 bad examples of the same model from the same manufacturer.

1990 Nissan Stanza GXE 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

Cheap, reliable, looks good

Faults:

Replaced plugs and wires regularly.

I treated some rust damage last week.

Air conditioning has went bad.

General Comments:

I bought the car used off a lot as is. Best investment I ever made.

I use it for 400 mile round trip every other week, and it is wonderful on gas.

Looks good when tripped out with some show decorations, mine was like that when I bought it. Still is in fact.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

26th Aug 2005, 11:32

You have a 1990 Nissan Stanza GXE with a MANUAL gearbox? My father had a 1990 GXE with an automatic and to this day I've never seen a GXE with a manual transmission here in Canada. Isn't that 2.4 liter a great motor? Lots of power, smooth, flexible, durable. I love big 4 cylinder engines. Mike in Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

9th Apr 2008, 23:20

I have a 1990 GXE Nissan Stanza 5 speed and need to find Parts for it. What other car can be used for car parts for this?

1990 Nissan Stanza XE 2.4L from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired110 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles

Summary:

Uninspiring, but very reliable

Faults:

Manifold Flex Pipe

Mysterious creaks.

General Comments:

This was my very first brand new car that I got as a gift from my parents for graduating from High School and moving on to College. Although an uninspiring ride, it was a car that I was proud of and babied.

The car had zippy acceleration! Passing other cars was a breeze. Fuel economy was OK considering it had a large 4 cylinder engine. Larger 4 cylinder engines tend to go through more gas.

My chief complaint was that there were a lot of creaks and rattles coming from this car, especially from the drivers side door which the dealer could not identify or fix. Cost over $500 to replace the Flex Pipe in the exhaust manifold at 50,000 which I felt was premature.

Other than this, the car was very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th December, 2004

1990 Nissan Stanza GXE 2.5 12valve from Mexico

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 12valve Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance108500 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

Hight performance at medium cost

Faults:

-Replaced central motor support at 90000 miles.

-Alternator was twice replaced at 104000.

-Rotor (distributor) was replaced at 106000.

-Automatic transmission broke up at 108000 miles.

General Comments:

-This car has performed good.

-I give it heavy use, this city is full of breaches and bad state avenues, so I'm very pleased for the money investment I've made.

-The transmission broke up because the car was used for racing before.

-Interior looks excellent, the sun and the years has caused little damage, but it still looks great with a little hand every week.

-Seats and sunroof hasn't suffered any damage by general use.

-Everything works, the air conditioner has four years without maintenance and still works fine.

-This car has expensive repairs, but nothing broke's up until you give it hard use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2004

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 10 reviews