1988 Nissan Sunny ZX Coupe 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Quick, cheap, reliable, retro styling

Faults:

Nothing at all went wrong with this car. Wish I still had it.

General Comments:

Fantastic little car, if slightly dated looking. I liked the slightly retro 80s styling, but it's not to everyone's taste. Brilliant performance, low fuel consumption even though it used L.R.P. Well proportioned front sports-style seats, back seats usable (good for a coupe!) good visibility, etc. Only real issue was under-steer, which could be alarming at times, but I got used to it.

Rock solid Nissan build quality, cheap prices, mine was owned by older driver, must be others out there the same, go buy one! Very quick, light (maybe overlight) steering, great brakes, great fun and cheap!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2005

18th Sep 2007, 17:58

I had a silver E reg Nissan Sunny coupe. Fantastic car. Loved it, wish id never got rid of it, but had to. Tried finding another one for sale, but have never come across one. I'm gutted. I could"nt fault it...

1988 Nissan Sunny LX 1.3 Benzin from Poland

Summary:

I love my Sunny

Faults:

The muffler had holes, but it was from the beginning I bought it.

General Comments:

Engine is not so much dynamic. It takes about 14 seconds from 0 to 100 km / h. The highest speed I was driving in this car was 180 km / h, but it took a lot of time to accelerate to this speed.

The position behind the wheel is very comfortable. First time when I was seateing in it I felt like I was driving that car for at least 10 years.

Average requirement for the fuel is 8 liters per 100 km.

It is very cheap, but it is worth much much more money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2005

1988 Nissan Sunny LX 1.6 from Finland

Summary:

Speed limit? I can't go that fast, but this looks good isn't it :)

Faults:

Clutch, one shaft above the valve's, brake pipe and some electrics.

General Comments:

Car is nice looking and cheap. It has weak point's in clutch, but I can manage that cause I am although driving almost reliable car that anyone can afford.

Maybe needing some extra power some day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2005

1988 Nissan Sunny Coupe 1.6 carburettor from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Superb, a pleasure to own

Faults:

Digital dashboard clock display occasionally fails on cold mornings, works fine when warmed up. Clock also slows down if the car hasn't been used for a week.

Tailgate gas struts don't work if its raining or covered in frost or snow. Works fine in warm weather, although acceptable for a 16 year old car. Tailgate lock has seized up, the previous owner only ever used the interior release lever to open the boot.

Rust appearing on the bottom of the drivers door, threatening to spread to the sills. Some surface rust on the rear arches, although not serious at the moment. Small rust bubbling around the plastic trim/bumpers on the front wings.

Occasionally difficult to start after a long run i.e. after filling up with petrol. Usually starts on the second attempt.

General Comments:

Bought as a temporary replacement for my previous car for 400 pounds. Came with a full Nissan service history and one previous owner, this unmolested and unmodified example still looks superb, despite its age. The interior is unmarked and looks as good as new. Became so attached to this car and am still using it daily.

Excellent reliability, has never let me down. Always starts first time every morning even at -10 Celsius.

Engine is the reliable carburettor 1.6 which doesn't suffer from the problems of the 16 valve 1.6 & 1.8. Easy to work on for self servicing and replacing components.

Being the base coupe model, there are no electric windows or central locking, although came with a factory fitted manual sunroof. Variable intermittent wipers are useful. Ideal for a car of this age as electrics usually start to go wrong after 8-10 years old. All switches, lights and dashboard meters still work fine. Original top of the range factory fitted stereo/cassette still works.

Strictly a 2+2 seater. The rear seats are only suitable for (very) young children, although even they may complain.

Engine and gearbox still in excellent condition, never missing a beat. Can get noisy above 70 mph though.

Sadly, have decided to sell this car in October/November 2004. Missing the air conditioning from my previous cars. If anyone is interested in acquiring this vehicle, please contact me on rma_1999@hotmail.com. The car is located in hertfordshire (Junction 6 or 7 M1) and will come with 12 months MOT. I will definitely miss this car when I sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2004

9th May 2005, 09:41

We have a Sunny Coupe from 1988, the car is running very well and has a perfect motor. The body work is very good with just a few spots of rust which I have retouched.

The electrics are top class, and to date we have only replaced the generator.

The car has just passed the German equivelent to the MOT, and had only one negative remark on the report. The plastic skin between the two glass pieces in the front window screen has gone dull, so we will have to replace it.

The cars automatic gearbox is perfect, and still changes its three gears very smoothly.

The 98000 km which we have traveled have been a real enjoyment.

31st Jan 2009, 04:39

The digital clock problems are some sort of a type problem, and seem almost magical in nature - I've owned a Sunny, my grandfather has owned a Sunny, and my sister has owned a Sunny of this model - and only my sister's car had an actually working clock! Both in my grandad's and my own, we measured it, that the clocks did get electricity and all that, but for some reason getting a spare part didn't work in either of the cars. Reason for the malfunction I so justly deemed the curse of Nissan Sunny. :P.