1988 Nissan Sunny Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1988 Nissan Sunny GS 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carRenault 21

Summary:

A good car for very little money

Faults:

The rear silencer had a hole in it at 125000 miles.

Clutch worn at 126000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is pretty fast for a 1.6, in a straight line and through the bends.

It's very reliable, it hasn't been serviced for about 13000 miles and it's still going strong.

No rust worth mentioning - not bad for a 15 year old car.

It's got power steering, electric windows all round, central locking, sunroof, a decent radio, all in a car that cost only £75 - bargain! (and it came with a full service history).

Cheap to buy, cheap to maintain, cheap to insure, and it does just over 30 miles per gallon around town, a good overall package.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2003

1988 Nissan Sunny LX 1.6 12V gas from Finland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 12V gas Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance277000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable but boring

Faults:

Motor valves exchanged at 100000km, and it's rusty.

General Comments:

It never breaks, and is a very average family car in all other aspects.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

30th Aug 2001, 15:46

I think the Sunny is the best car in the world.

1988 Nissan Sunny ZX Coupe 1.6i twin cam 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6i twin cam 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

Good performance for the money if it's in good condition

Faults:

The auxiliary air valve has seized up.

Fuel and temperature gauges aren't working. When the engine is started the fuel gauge immediately goes off the scale, whilst the temperature gauge gradually creeps off the scale as it warms up.

Boot leaks.

E-mail me at mintyjim@hotmail.com for any suggestions please!

General Comments:

Good fun car and handles well.

Not as fast as I thought it would be.

Seats and dash layout are comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

13th Jul 2004, 10:44

Try replacing your lambda sensor.

1988 Nissan Sunny GTi 1.6 from Sweden

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17100 kilometres
Most recent distance19500 kilometres

Summary:

Good motor, bad car

Faults:

I've had flat tires twice. Had to replace: cat, exhaust system, ignition module, brake pipes, and a lot more expensive stuff.

General Comments:

Expensive car. Brakes down all the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th April, 2001

4th Jul 2001, 11:54

You can't be serious! A brand new hundred thousand dollar Mercedes will get a flat tyre if you drive over something sharp enough! Regarding the other problems you describe, what do you expect for a car that has covered 190,000 kms? It is normal for any older, high mileage car to need attention to brake pipes and the exhaust; the salt used in the winter in northern countries will slowly eat away any non-rustproofed metal on the underside of the car. So the only real problem you had is the ignition module. One problem isn't bad for a well used car.

1988 Nissan Sunny SLX 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance125500 miles

Summary:

Looks crap, but very very very reliable

Faults:

Cassette player not working when bought the car.

Distributer cap had a crack in it.

Battery went dead, had to get a new one.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable car, has only let me down twice. My sister owned it before me and it only let her down once. Problems that have occurred are only minor.

Lots of knocks and rattles coming from around the car although the engine still sounds good and will probably last to at least 200,000 miles (not sure about the rest of the car though).

Car starts on the first turn of the key still.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2001

9th Apr 2001, 19:55

Since I wrote this review, my car has been written of by some idiot in a rubbish collection truck.

1988 Nissan Sunny GS Pulsar 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired124500 miles
Most recent distance171500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Not nearly as boring as it's made out to be

Faults:

Blown cylinder head gasket and sticking electric windows: apparently common faults. Occasional stalling and refusal to restart without blowing fuel through the fuel filter.

General Comments:

The car has been in the family since new and has only developed problems in the past 30,000 miles. Comfy to drive, generally reliable, great engine and gearbox, deceptively quick yet economical, especially on long runs. Dogged by a boring image but is still more intersting than some new cars I have driven. Hard wearing interior and bodywork. Good for another 100,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2000

22nd Jan 2001, 21:06

Just covered it's 180,000th mile last week. Glided through it's last MOT. The cutting-out problem seems to be fuel related; possibly an auto-choke fault.

6th Feb 2002, 09:12

I have a 1988 Nissan Pulsar also, it is now reliable after I have replaced the following things: engine, clutch, battery, plugs, distributer cap, plug wires, starter, alternator, rear axle.

Now the car is great, and I agree it is amazing on long drives, great on gas, fairly speedy for a 4 cylinder and it looks great!

19th Nov 2002, 05:35

I own a 85 Nissan pulsar nx. After a friend of mine who I let borrow the car accidentally put diesel fuel in it the car was all, but ruined. I had to replace the catalytic converter, head gasket, valve seals, cylinder rings, and crankshaft bearings. Plus remove what was left of the diesel fuel.

The car once again runs great, like its brand new. The only thing wrong is a fuel problem.

The car idles fine until you put a load on the engine, then the idle shoots up to 3000 rpm.

15th Sep 2003, 04:28

I have to say the performance is outstanding on the 1600cc the handling is not so good it, s good for 130 mph. Some people were shocked what it could beat on track good car very understated cheap and easily maintianed well pleased.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 14 reviews