1989 Nissan Sunny SLX Coupe 1.6 from Netherlands

Summary:

A mostly under-appreciated friend for life

Faults:

Not very much, apart from the stuff you would expect over the years:

- Two new batteries.

- One set of new tires.

- One new rear muffler for the exhaust.

That's it!

General Comments:

This car is reliable, fun and cheap.

* Reliable because it has never ever let me down. Not even gave me the feeling something could be wrong. Every time I turn the key, it starts, be it summer or winter.

* Fun because it looks not bad at all, it has a very nice running 12-valve engine with enough power.

* Cheap because the car doesn't need much maintenance or spare parts, it doesn't cost much in road-tax and the mileage is good too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2001

9th Jan 2003, 11:19

Hi, I'm from Finland and I can say that Nissan Sunny Coupe is RELIABLE it has not let me down even in -45 celsius degrees in winter.

Fun and great to drive, plus easy to tune up some more horses under the hood!

26th Mar 2003, 05:32

I have such a nice car too. a Nissan Sunny SLX Coupé. my son is very proud about it!

It looks nice and is pleasant to drive. my car is 13 years old now and has done 179.000 km's.

I have a problem too: every now and then there is a mechanical noise. riding or standing makes no difference. it sounds as if something rotates and is not fixed to its bearings or so. doesn't sound healthy. I'm afraid of a costly repair..

But I like the car very much!

Barend Jan van Eijk

Zaandam

Netherlands.

30th Mar 2003, 10:21

Hi, I'm Andrew from Scotland. I've just had to replace a valve on my Nissan Sunny Coupe 1.6 12 valve. Please could anyone give me information on valve timing as I am having trouble setting the timing back to its original position. It's a great car to drive and I don't want to scrap the engine. Thanks if you can help.

12th Nov 2003, 09:43

Hey! I'm Ken from Estonia. I've just purchased sunny coupe 1,6 SLX. if you have any information, links or photos about this type of cars please send me an e-mail. I want to learn more about my sunny and get some more horsepower out of it.

Ykskomakuus@yahoo.com.

1989 Nissan Sunny LX 1.6 12v petrol from Finland

Summary:

Total cost of ownership is superb

Faults:

Minor problems with the rear suspension due to heavy loads. I am building my own house and sometimes I put 1000 kg of weight into the trailer which is 300 kg heavy.

General Comments:

This Nissan is the most reliable car I've had. Also the performance and looks are fine and spare parts are cheap. Here in Finland it is important that the car works in cold weather (e.g. -30 to -40 degrees of Celsius) and the Sunny does. Sunny is also very stable and easy to control on ice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2000

1989 Nissan Sunny ZX Coupe 1.8 16v twin cam from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Cheap, reliable performance

Faults:

Starter motor failed at 73,000 miles.

Back caliper seized due to a common fault where water gets past the seal on the handbrake cable and corrodes the the piston.

Back discs needed replacing, Nissan wanted £199 for the pair, pattern discs cost me £80. Another example of a typically greedy dealer.

Apart from that, the car's in good working order.

General Comments:

The ZX is surprisingly quick, it still surprises boy racers. Not bad for a ten year old nail.

The bodywork is generally good but seems to rust around the mounting points of the body kit (side skirts, front valance etc), have a good look before you buy.

Fuel economy is good, insurance is OK but the dealer backup is one of the worst I have ever known.

All this aside, if you can find a good one the performance you get for the money is outstanding.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2000

1989 Nissan Sunny L 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Very economical little car that loves a good long run

Faults:

Left hand CV joint knackered, still knocking, must fix that!

Clutch is juddering but not really a problem.

Winder on drivers side window snapped.

Little oil leak out of petrol pump housing.

Leaking gearbox oil seals when I bought it.

Sunroof mechanism knackered.

General Comments:

Engine is sweet and it is a very cheap car to drive. Feels like it could go forever.

Must solve a few of its minor niggles and hopefully it will go for another 100,000 miles.

Could do with fuel injection though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2000

2nd Mar 2002, 15:59

Hold onto your old Sunny, I have had an 1989 1.4L, a 1992 1.4L and a 1994 1.6SLX. The more modern Sunnys are nicer inside, but the build quality is nowhere near as good (bordering on crap). I have just flogged my SLX and bought a Civic Vtec.

Steve_pepa@yahoo.co.uk

6th Nov 2006, 11:11

I agree with steve and you will find my comments on the Honda in the Civic section 1994 /5. My partner has owned 3 of the early 1.4 LS Sunny's and they are really quite remarkable, especially in the 1.4 variant... No timing belt to worry about and with a modicum of good service sense these models will last beyond 150,000 miles if the body holds up on the rear arches, front wings etc. They also have a fair turn of speed!!!

I have just purchased a 1.4 pulsar saloon for £500 on an '89'.

It has covered just 40,000 miles and after a full service tomorrow it will be just superb.

If you find a good un... buy it and stand all the laughter from your mates... You will be able to laugh at them as you continue with mile after reliable mile of trouble free motoring... these cars are really over engineered and are only matched, in my limited opinion, by the mark 2 Honda Civic, one of which I also own.

Happy motoring...

1989 Nissan Sunny 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Electric windows iffy but sort-of working.

Seat belts!! - keep locking no matter how gradually you're changing speed - uncomfortable and infuriating!

General Comments:

The incessant rattling of various plasticy bits of the interior can be ignored using a loud stereo, but other than that, the car is solid, reliable and I've been very happy with it - It got me from Sunderland to Berwick (120km) in less than 50 minutes!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2000

1989 Nissan Sunny SLX 1.6 petrol from Slovenia

Faults:

Only small things had to be repaired.

General Comments:

Incredible car - 126.000 km and almost no trouble with it. It drinks a bit too much but it still outperforms some new 1.6 engine cars. People say it is ugly and the name Sunny sounds funny.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 1999

26th Aug 2006, 12:05

275000km and still going good. Not any bigger problems.

9th Jan 2007, 15:50

355000km and still going well. Engine is still fantastic whit no oil leeks. Since 70000km - 355000km replaced generator, output shaft, and clutch (at 335000km). Incredible car.

1989 Nissan Sunny GTi 1.6i 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Nice car! Family car look, but performance is quite good. Driving is easy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

1989 Nissan Sunny GS 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Blocked engine breather pipes. Not much else.

General Comments:

A good car that is deceptively quick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 1998