1990 Nissan Sunny LX 1.6 monoinjection from Republic of Moldova


It is perfect


It's perfect. I haven't any problems with this car.

General Comments:

This car is faster than the Opel Astra 1.8. Only the Nissan Primera 2.0 runs faster. The top speed of my car is 180km/h,10 seconds from 0 to 100km/h. The 1.6 engine is really fast! I love this car because it has a CD player, rear and front speakers, and it's beauty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2002

1990 Nissan Sunny zx 1.8 from UK and Ireland


Performance with attitude!!


Rear brake caliper failed at 64 thousand miles. Easy to repair with replacement factor part.

General Comments:

Very use friendly car with huge fun factor built in.

Excellent performance and handling, body kit sets it apart from lesser Sunny's.

I would recommend these cars to anybody looking for something a little different to hot hatches of the same era.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2002

1990 Nissan Sunny zx 1.8 twin cam from UK and Ireland


A rocket on wheels for a very good price


I've had problems with the following-


Engine pinking.

Spot lamps letting in water.

Exhaust blowing.

General Comments:

The car is very, very fast and should not be over looked as an old, slow mobile.

I've showed up boy racers in saxo VT s's, GT s's and had people tell me that they have won an RS 2000.

The only thing that you should look for when buying one is rust. If you are lucky enough to get one keep hold of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2002

1990 Nissan Sunny LS 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland


A decent, reliable small car!


Steering rack and ball joint needed replacement.

Minor welding needed around the rear sills and suspension.

Electric window front far side jammed at 100000 miles.

Rust around the doors on the far side.

General Comments:

The car's performance is very good for its age, and the engine ticks along like one half its age!

The problem I've had is corrosion. The bodywork is a bit worn out, although the car was very cheap at £400 and has not given any trouble apart from the electric window (now held up with a piece of wood!) and the battery needing replacement.

If you can find a low-cost example with little corrosion you'll be onto a winner. The engines in these things go forever!

Watch out for the dreaded rust though! :(

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2002

7th Jun 2002, 08:37

Six months on I still have this little car, I've now covered over 15000 miles in it with no mechanical failures. The clutch plate is getting a little bit noisy at times, but it's not really too much of a problem yet. I have total confidence in this car, if it gets through the next MOT in January I'm quite sure I'll still have it in 18 months.

10th Sep 2003, 10:17

I bought a 1990 Sunny 1.4LS with absolutely no rust except a blob in the middle of a door, which I patched a few months ago. It had only 84,000 miles on the clock - not bad for 13 years' use.

I agree that if you can find a rust-free example, you're onto a winner. Before I bought it, Sunnys were dull, boring things that only old people drove. But, for a 1.4 litre engine to pull like it does is amazing - my next car will be a Nissan too! (That's if I ever need a next car!) I can imagine this car doing another 84,000 miles, and I see no reason why it shouldn't pass its next MOT - more than can be said for most Escorts and Astras on the road.

Japanese cars are just better than Euro-trash.

1990 Nissan Sunny SLX 1.6 petrol from Finland


A reliable rice burner


My headlight washer on the left light blew at 70,000 kilometers.

Pilot's side window jammed at 100,000 kilometers.

Minor failure in the carburetor at 120,000, but it was quite cheap to repair.

Back light of original Nissan radio cassette player's display blew at 50,000.

General Comments:

Engine reacts sharply when pressing the accelerator pedal.

Beats its classmates at traffic lights.

Easy to handle, maybe a bit over-steering character.

Not too shaky at high speeds.

I like the interior design, some may call it poor, but however I like it.

Reliable winter weather vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2001

16th Oct 2001, 01:23


12th Nov 2001, 00:11

Diesel? What do you mean?