1993 Nissan Sunny LXi 1.4 from UK and Ireland


Reliable starts first time all of the time


Electric windows no longer work.

Lacquer has started to peel on roof and tailgate.

When engine is warm, acceleration is difficult to achieve smoothly.

General Comments:

Interior lacking any inspiration.

Seating very comfortable and loads of adjustment.

Exterior styling boring.

Quite fast for a 1.4 especially when red lined through the gears.

Exceptionally large boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2007

1993 Nissan Sunny SR (very rare) 1.6 from UK and Ireland


Looks pretty, but stay away!


It's died on me! Unresolved problems, but from the symptoms, I'm guessing that the piston rings have gone.

I am amazingly disappointed with this car, after hearing all the good hype about how indestructible these engines are. It hasn't reached 100,000 miles, yet supposedly these engines last twice round the clock.

Also, due to this being the very rare auto version, the majority of insurance companies won't even accept its existence, and those who do have classified it as insurance group 14, which is very high for a 1.6 with 112bhp. Yes, it is reasonable quick, I took mine to 128mph, but for this insurance group I'd wanna hit 140mph!

General Comments:

I loved this car, 3 months of problem free driving, then out of nowhere it completely dies. For a car with a fantastic reputation, I was completely gutted... I would not recommend this car due to high running and insurance cost, semi-decent performance, but not up to the level of rivals such as Saxos, XR2/3s, and it couldn't even out-accelerate a 1.6 5dr VX Astra!

On a positive note, the body kit and spoiler do make it look a little like the granddaddy Pulsar GTI-R, but it's still a sunny at heart, so if you see one for sale, then back away!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th December, 2006

29th Dec 2006, 06:56

Its sad to hear your disappointment, though not surprising. All the hype around longevity is for the previous model not the one that you purchased. A good mechanic friend of mine advised me to stay away from the 1991 - 95 model as the engines were not anything like as strong as those fitted to the previous earlier cars five years previous, sad, but there you go.

If you read my sunny pulsar review then you will get the idea.

Better luck next time.

15th Mar 2007, 10:09

If it just died on you it's probably an electrical problem.

It's extremely unlikely to be anything to do with the piston rings.

12th Oct 2008, 05:33

How do you know the piston rings fried did you tear the engine apart?

15th Jul 2010, 12:41

To all owners of Sunny/Sentra (and Almera and Primera too):

If the engine completely dies, or misses and splutters up to a certain RPM (usually up to 3-4000 RPM), suspect a faulty distributor - a common problem according to my local junkyard dealer.

The GA16DS engine is said to be a nightmare, but it really works like a charm (well, almost, at least) when properly maintained!

How do I know? I have owned a '92 "nightmare", my present '92 Sunny is much better engine wise!

1993 Nissan Sunny LX 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland


This is an excellent car for only £600


I have required two new tyres as one tyre degraded due to age.

The front brake pads wore out so they were replaced too.

Also, the rear silencer has been replaced.

The fan/heater does not work at setting 1.

There is a mysterious knocking sound, like a loose part, somewhere in the rear. This is not a bearing.

General Comments:

This car is much more reliable than any other car that I have ever owned.

The only disappointing part of the car was the radio/cassette, which turned off when the lights were on, I don't know why.

For long distance travel this car is excellent and has enough power to handle any likely situation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2005

18th Aug 2006, 10:31

I have the same make and model, but with a greater mileage. I too have that same mysterious knocking noise coming from the rear. It does not occur frequently, but is still puzzling. Any ideas? Anyone?