1998 Nissan Terrano II Reviews

1998 Nissan Terrano II SE Touring LWB 7Seat 2.7 Tdi from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 Tdi Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

A great car for people who need 5 plus seats, but want more than just a people carrier

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Surprisingly quick of the mark for a big lump of metal.

Auto box is great and engine loves going up hills the bigger the better goes great even with 7 people in it.

Fantastic ABS brakes manage to stop this weight very quickly without great loss of control (Thank you Mr taxi driver for the chance to test).

Body roll on cornering is quite unsettling until you adjust your driving style to compensate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2004

1998 Nissan Terrano II TI 2.7 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance86000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Landcruiser

Summary:

Great car!

Faults:

Electric window motor failed at 78 000 Km (Plastic part) and plastic slider for the window guide.

Both very expensive!

Vehicle is quite a bit of lacking power at the moment and reading info on the net it could be the Air Sensor, again expensive!

Suffer with high engine tenperature. when working off road in summer.

General Comments:

Seats are a bit hard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd February, 2004

1998 Nissan Terrano II SE 2.7 TI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 TI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carFord Granada

Summary:

A much underrated 4WD

Faults:

When I purchased the vehicle I was very disappointed with the lack of any performance. The vehicle was booked into a Nissan main dealership here in the UK. After some three days their so called "technicians" were unable to diagnose the lack of power & heavy exhaust smoke. I arranged for the vehicle to go to a local diesel injection specialist & yes, you've guessed it, it was the infamous Air Flow Meter! Some £350.00 lighter in my pocket the vehicle was transformed!

General Comments:

I have since fitted a plug in power box & it now is even better! Thoroughly recommended if you want to surprise other 4WD drivers! This makes the Terrano really move!

I have also fitted an electric fan in place of the standard "windmill" viscous type. This gives quicker warm up in our climate & improves fuel consumption by 10% too.

No other faults have yet shown, but I've only covered 5000 miles since purchase, but otherwise I'm well impressed with the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2004

22nd Nov 2013, 17:17

Would be very interested to hear further details on the "plug in power box", as it sounds like a desirable addition to help offset the auto-trans.

1998 Nissan Terrano II S 2.7 TDi from Greece

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 TDi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance87000 kilometres
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

Very reliable

Faults:

Water pump broke at 80000km and replaced immediately.

General Comments:

It is a very reliable and very powerful car. Has excellent off-road capabilities. Driving it on the high way is not my favorite, but when it comes to drive it on the mountains or around smaller roads it is very nice and exciting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2003

1998 Nissan Terrano II TI 2.7 TD from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 TD Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance550000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Terrano II

Summary:

A great vehicle to drive - on and off road

Faults:

Front bumper mount broke on Gibb River Road.

Air flow motor died at 40,000 km, but just out of 3 year warranty.

Bush around gear lever broke and lever went sloppy (still able to select gears)

Clutch fluid hose leaking around connection block (underneath vehicle)

General Comments:

All in all I have really enjoyed owning this vehicle and look forward to keeping it for a few more years.

Biggest disappointment was the air flow meter and subsequent poor service from the the manufacturer and dealer. This fault occurs with all Terrano 2's and should have been a recall.

After much complaining, Nissan finally sold me the air flow meter at half price - $600.00 instead of $1200.00.

If you are lucky enough not to have lost your air flow meter yet, start knocking very loudly on the dealers door and may I wish you the best of luck.

If you have to purchase one yourself Coventry's or Repco can source one from Bosch in Germany (5-7 days delivery) for $313.00 plus $88.00 freight. (price quoted June 2003) Makes my 1/2 price of $600.00 look a bit sad doesn't it.

Looking at towing a camper or small van around Australia with this vehicle soon, able to tow in excess of 2000kg, but tow-ball weight of 100kg is a bit of a restriction.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th June, 2003

22nd Aug 2004, 03:06

I am an Australian resident and own a Terrano which has done 156k. I have had similar minor problems, Broken bumper brackets, blown clutch hose, blown rear brake hose, cracked left engine mount, fractured battery lead, broken gear lever retaining ring. In general I am very happy with the vehicle and about to do the 160k service, will replace front brake hoses now before they blow and the disc rotors as they are worn to the limit, otherwise all is excellent!!!

PS. I have just done 10k in the top end of Australia including a stint on the Gibb River Rd, that's about the time my front bumper brackets broke!!!

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews