1998 Nissan Terrano II Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1998 Nissan Terrano II R20 2.7 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance62000 kilometres
Previous carFord Telstar

Summary:

A great car from a disappointing corporation

Faults:

The air flow meter failed at ~60000km / 4 years old causing a severe loss of power. The local Nissan dealership had experienced the same problem on 3 other vehicles of this model. He considered it a fairly common problem although Nissan corporate disagreed. The local dealer said he could replace it for A$1150 other dealerships quoted A$1395. My local turbo diesel mechanic could source and replace the part (Bosch) for A$520.

General Comments:

The car has been great otherwise - very comfortable and generally reliable.

I'm very disappointed with Nissan for not accepting this as a design fault and fixing it without an argument.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st March, 2003

15th May 2005, 14:56

Yes we have a 1999 terrano II. Same problem, but we managed to get it fixed within the warranty period. Nissan wouldn't accept it was the air flow meter, but eventually had to listen to us. We also found out it was a very common problem with this particular model and age.

1998 Nissan Terrano II Not Designated 2.7 diesel Intercooled from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.7 diesel Intercooled Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100 kilometres
Most recent distance57800 kilometres
Previous carProton Proton

Summary:

Promises more than it delivers

Faults:

Persistent rattle in rear (5th) door. Subject of a product recall. The vehicle is back with the dealers for the third time to deal with the door.

A more important problem, is the need to replace the air flow meter after 3 years of ownership (with ~58000km on the clock). I understand that this is shaping up to be an inherent fault for which the manufacturer is unwilling to accept any responsibility. I have heard that 3 Teranno II's of a similar age have been seen by the garage within the last two weeks with the same problem. I have been quoted $1250 for a replacement. Not happy.

General Comments:

The mechanical design faults detract substantially from it to the extent I would not recommend it.

On the positive side, it is comfortable and has up to 7 seats, which makes it a useful people mover and recreation vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th October, 2002

1998 Nissan Terrano II turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance122000 kilometres

Summary:

A Lemon

Faults:

At 80,000 km the clutch gave out, thankfully the car was still under warranty at this point.

The car was however running poorly, but the dealer told us that it was the way we drive the car or that perhaps the fuel injectors needed replacing.

The car was then taken to have the injectors serviced where they told us there was nothing wrong with the injectors and that the problem was the air flow meter. They has had this problem with the same model vehicle on at least three previous occasions and recommended that we take it back to Nissan and have it fixed under the warranty.

We asked Nissan about this and they denied that the air flow meter could possibly be the problem.

On the last service with Nissan, just over the 100,000 km and the end of warranty, the Nissan dealer advised us that the car required a new air flow meter at a cost of around $2,500.00 to purchase the part and have it fitted. Nissan Australia have informed me that I could take legal action if I desired, but they would not consider fixing the car under warranty.

General Comments:

We may have been happy with the car if Nissan had been more cooperative with it's faults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th October, 2002

3rd Jan 2005, 16:18

I own a Nissan Terrano with the Neo DI 3.0L diesel. 90000ks First problem was the bottom hose to the intercooler. Nissan NZ would not replace under warranty and yet was recalled in other countries! Second problem was the Air flow meter and after several enquires at the exhorbadant price I located one from Cochram Nissan Christchurch NZ I managed to get it for 3-400 dollars.

1998 Nissan Terrano II TI 2.7 TD from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.7 TD Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance47000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Has been an extremely reliable 4x4

Faults:

Air flow meter failed at around 45000kms and vehicle was just out of warranty. This resulted in an extreme lack of power and took quite soon time to source the part from Japan. The dealer told me that this was a common problem with this vehicle and unfortunately Nissan has not chosen to recall the vehicles to have these defective units replaced. The cost of these units is $1500.00 from Nissan or $750.00 direct from Bosch in Germany. The air flow meter is around the size of a bic lighter and fits in a tube beside the air filter.

General Comments:

Other than this problem the car has been great. If you happen to own one, and you warranty hasn't run out, start knocking on your dealers door so you don't get caught out in the $$$ stakes like I did.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st May, 2002

1st Oct 2002, 02:18

Do you know the part number?

14th Aug 2005, 23:28

Hi I have just bort 1992 Nissan Terrano turbo diesel auto with 227,000 km on the clock can you help me find out more about the weaknes of said unit. what help you can give would be grate. should I put a turbo timer on it.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews