2002 Nissan Tino S 1.8 from UK and Ireland


The perfect compromise


Absolutely nothing its been a cracking buy.

General Comments:

This car as with My last Nissan has been superb all cars have their shortfalls, but this does exactly what it says on the tin, versatile.

I find it economical reasonably cheap to insure totally reliable and generally the handiest car I have ever had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2005

2001 Nissan Tino S 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland


Looking good so far


Wheel trim departed company with the wheel

Seat adjuster came off due to lack of cir-clip.

General Comments:

This is a much better buy than the Scenic, performance wise. I don't want a 'sports car', but it does go better with the 1.8 engine

Stability is very good for this type of vehicle

Storage space could be improved, as could the design of the rear parcel shelf

Could do with a few more 'toys'

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th August, 2004

31st Aug 2004, 06:40

Was your previous Renault Scenic a 1.4. If it was a 1.6L then it can't be slower then the 1.8L Tino as I can outpace a 1.8L Tino in my 1.6L Scenic.

2nd Sep 2004, 15:20

My Scenic was a 1.6RT (1999). It certainly seemed slower and ran out of puff at about 75.

If the Tino had Scenic styling OR the Renault, Nissan reliability... what a combination.

The Tino definitely is more stable, although (Datsun) Nissan need to add more 'toys' as standard to keep up with the others.

2003 Nissan Tino SE 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland


A bargain MPV


Recalled by Nissan for rear seat belt modification. Rear seat belts were then too long to allow child's seat to be safely fitted. Seat could not be tensioned, and was therefore too loose. Nissan UK very helpful in solving problem, and communicating with my local dealer. Problem now solved.

Gear changes involving 3rd gear are sometimes 'clunky'. Almost as though clutch is not fully disengaging the gearbox, and 3rd gear is being forced in. Demo model I drove was much slicker in the gear change area.

Dashboard is vibrating. Appears as though felt anti-vibration strips are missing.

In recent very cold weather the outside temperature indication failed. Became stuck at -6.Now reads -2 degrees whatever the weather.

All of the above faults are to be checked out at the first service next week.

General Comments:

Car is very pleasant to drive.

Very little body roll whilst cornering (contrary to most road tests!).

Excellent value when purchased brand new. Only paid £10995 including metallic paint.

Standard specification very good. Air conditioning, electric sunroof/windows/mirrors, CD player, ABS, driver/passenger & side air bags all standard.

Poor fuel consumption. In general driving have only ever achieved between 30 and 31 miles per gallon regardless of driving conditions. A 200 mile journey to Cornwall still only produced 31.3 mpg. Nissan to check out engine management at service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2004

7th May 2004, 03:54

I agree with most of the comments on this review. I have a 2003 Tino, I also find 3rd Gear changes feel as if the gearbox doesn't engage fully and then grinds. I find the engine a bit noisy, and I especially notice it I hear it drive off down the road (if I'm out of the car and someone else is driving it). The trim rattles, but I think that's because all the internal panels are push fit. I love the car, and would recommend it highly to everyone looking for a fun family car (or small MPV).

2001 Nissan Tino 2.2 Di 16v 2.2 turbo diesel 16v from Spain


No so good after a year of use


No power under 2000 rpm.

Excessive plastics.

General Comments:

I bought it with the idea of having a lot of space to carry things with a respectable speed in highways.

Motor hasn't got power without turbo under 2000 rpm.

After a year of use, it appears to have five.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th April, 2003

17th Sep 2011, 15:24

Have you tried cleaning the airflow meter or replacing it?