Nissan Tino Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2002 Nissan Tino S 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6500 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

The perfect compromise

Faults:

Absolutely nothing its been a cracking buy.

General Comments:

This car as with My last Nissan has been superb all cars have their shortfalls, but this does exactly what it says on the tin, versatile.

I find it economical reasonably cheap to insure totally reliable and generally the handiest car I have ever had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2005

2001 Nissan Tino S 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12850 miles
Most recent distance13500 miles
Previous carRenault Scenic

Summary:

Looking good so far

Faults:

Wheel trim departed company with the wheel

Seat adjuster came off due to lack of cir-clip.

General Comments:

This is a much better buy than the Scenic, performance wise. I don't want a 'sports car', but it does go better with the 1.8 engine

Stability is very good for this type of vehicle

Storage space could be improved, as could the design of the rear parcel shelf

Could do with a few more 'toys'

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th August, 2004

31st Aug 2004, 06:40

Was your previous Renault Scenic a 1.4. If it was a 1.6L then it can't be slower then the 1.8L Tino as I can outpace a 1.8L Tino in my 1.6L Scenic.

2nd Sep 2004, 15:20

My Scenic was a 1.6RT (1999). It certainly seemed slower and ran out of puff at about 75.

If the Tino had Scenic styling OR the Renault, Nissan reliability... what a combination.

The Tino definitely is more stable, although (Datsun) Nissan need to add more 'toys' as standard to keep up with the others.

2003 Nissan Tino SE 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired53 miles
Most recent distance8898 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A bargain MPV

Faults:

Recalled by Nissan for rear seat belt modification. Rear seat belts were then too long to allow child's seat to be safely fitted. Seat could not be tensioned, and was therefore too loose. Nissan UK very helpful in solving problem, and communicating with my local dealer. Problem now solved.

Gear changes involving 3rd gear are sometimes 'clunky'. Almost as though clutch is not fully disengaging the gearbox, and 3rd gear is being forced in. Demo model I drove was much slicker in the gear change area.

Dashboard is vibrating. Appears as though felt anti-vibration strips are missing.

In recent very cold weather the outside temperature indication failed. Became stuck at -6.Now reads -2 degrees whatever the weather.

All of the above faults are to be checked out at the first service next week.

General Comments:

Car is very pleasant to drive.

Very little body roll whilst cornering (contrary to most road tests!).

Excellent value when purchased brand new. Only paid £10995 including metallic paint.

Standard specification very good. Air conditioning, electric sunroof/windows/mirrors, CD player, ABS, driver/passenger & side air bags all standard.

Poor fuel consumption. In general driving have only ever achieved between 30 and 31 miles per gallon regardless of driving conditions. A 200 mile journey to Cornwall still only produced 31.3 mpg. Nissan to check out engine management at service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2004

7th May 2004, 03:54

I agree with most of the comments on this review. I have a 2003 Tino, I also find 3rd Gear changes feel as if the gearbox doesn't engage fully and then grinds. I find the engine a bit noisy, and I especially notice it I hear it drive off down the road (if I'm out of the car and someone else is driving it). The trim rattles, but I think that's because all the internal panels are push fit. I love the car, and would recommend it highly to everyone looking for a fun family car (or small MPV).

2001 Nissan Tino 2.2 Di 16v 2.2 turbo diesel 16v from Spain

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo diesel 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance51500 kilometres
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

No so good after a year of use

Faults:

No power under 2000 rpm.

Excessive plastics.

General Comments:

I bought it with the idea of having a lot of space to carry things with a respectable speed in highways.

Motor hasn't got power without turbo under 2000 rpm.

After a year of use, it appears to have five.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th April, 2003

17th Sep 2011, 15:24

Have you tried cleaning the airflow meter or replacing it?

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews