2002 Nissan X-Terra Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2002 Nissan X-Terra SE/supercharged V6 S/C from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 S/C Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Faults:

While shifting from 2wd to 4wd at any speeds above 15 mph, it makes a terrible grinding noise. Nissan techs says it's normal for this vehicle. Also, extremely poor gas mileage.

General Comments:

Gas mileage is below average. Got 12 to 14 miles per gallon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th April, 2004

5th Jul 2004, 23:08

Shifting from 2wd to 4wd above 15mph??? c'mon now, that's like rule#1 in Four Wheeling 101: do not shift between drives above 15mph!!!

11th Feb 2008, 12:05

That's untrue. On my 1989 Toyota 4runner I've shifted into 4wd over 30mph many times, and it doesn't make any sounds.

10th Apr 2008, 22:21

I really like this vehicle, but the gas mileage is horrible!

19th Apr 2013, 01:56

I know these are old comments, but I have to say something here. Trying to shift into 4 hi while moving is a really bad idea. They use automatic locking hubs from the factory, meaning the CV axles must turn to lock them and engage the wheels. So in 2wd the transfer case is spinning while the CVs, driveshaft, and diff are not. What do you think is going to happen? Stationary vs moving = Grind!

If you install manual locking hubs and keep them locked while off roading, you can engage and disengage 4hi at any speed as everything is turning at the same rate. Same goes for flange style 4 wheel drive setups like '96+ Pathfinders.

2002 Nissan X-Terra XE 2wd V-6 3.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Don't Know
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

An iron slug

Faults:

Replaced radio first summer I had the vehicle.

Replaced all window motors.

Front skid plate had loose fitting.

Front bumper also loose fitting.

General Comments:

Overall, this is a distinctly mediocre vehicle. I agree with other comments stating that the Xterra is a good value for money, but overall, the vehicle makes too many compromises to be a really enjoyable truck.

I seemed to have had more problems than others with my car. I live in Phoenix, and the truck seemed to have problems surviving our summers. All of my above mentioned problems happened in the summer months. On a related note, the air conditioner was a joke.

When my truck visited the dealership for these problems, there was always a back order for parts. My service rep told me that they had a recall on the window motors.

The loose skid plate and bumper were ongoing problems from my first summer on. Not a huge problem to deal with- when going over speed bumps, the truck would make a sound like metal hitting metal. Also made noise when going slowly on an unpaved road.

Performance was so-so, and fuel mileage was abysmal. I tend to put a lot of miles on my car, and my monthly gas bill was easily reaching $200/month.

I owned the car for 25 months, and I put 36000 miles on it. The Nissan Xterra is a relatively cheap way for someone to work a desire for an SUV out of their system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th January, 2004

1st Jun 2004, 10:29

I'd have to agree with all of the above. The X-terra was attractive in the low $20k range, should have known I was getting what I paid for. I now have over 60k miles on mine and I've probably paid for another car in the gas I've put into it!! I put a class III trailer hitch on it only to find out that I average 10.3 mpg towing anything! My empty trailer is enough to drop my mileage to about 12 mpg. I'll never buy another.

3rd Jun 2011, 18:31

I couldn't agree with you more... I really don't desire an SUV after this one.

2002 Nissan X-Terra XE 6 cylinder gas from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder gas Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carNissan X-Terra

Summary:

A great value for what you get

Faults:

I have had a rattle pinging noise coming out of the front end. I took it to the dealership and they said they tightened everything up and the noise seemed to go away. That was over 4,000 miles ago, and the noise has not come back. Overall, I think the Xterra is a great deal. When you compare it to other vehicles, and what you get for your money, it's an even better deal. I have had many Nissan's over the years, and none of them have let me down. Passengers in the back love the stadium style seating, the ride is firm yet comfortable (as opposed to that cushy motion sick ride of American vehicles). However, this is an agressive SUV, built on a Truck Frame. So, if you are looking for a Cadillac type ride, this is not the SUV. It's Heavy Duty, and feels like it.

General Comments:

I compared it to the Jeep Liberty extensively. True, the Liberty can handle the Rubicon Trail better than the Xterra, but I don't go there. There is far more storage than the Liberty, the back seats fold flat (easily), the seat pan is build for an adult (not a child), and above all, it looks better! The standard 6cyl is a little sluggish, but I have no problems with it. It runs consistent, and I haven't had any engine troubles. I average about 16mi/gal city.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2003

11th Jul 2003, 07:44

How can the Jeep Liberty handle off-road conditions better than the Xterra when it too has IFS? Only the Wrangler can best the Xterra when it comes to rock crawling.

9th Jun 2004, 07:24

Because it's a Jeep, that's why it can handle off road. If it couldn't, it wouldn't be called a Jeep. Trust me, I have a Liberty. Almost bought the X-Terra SE-SC. Then I drove it and found out what a slug it is. It has a very weak engine for a 210HP SUPERCHARGED. The Liberty goes much faster and can take on many at stop lights.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 10 reviews