2006 Nissan X-Trail Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2006 Nissan X-Trail SVE 2.2 dci from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 dci Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 216

Summary:

A brilliant design concept, spoilt by mechanical unreliability

Faults:

Inter-cooler leaking at 23,000 miles.

Sill kick plate broken 16,000 miles.

General Comments:

The X Trail is a very nice car to drive - roomy, comfortable, good performance for a vehicle of its type, and generally economical to run. All aspects of day to day use and functionality are first class.

Unfortunately as with other owners I now have the turbo and intercooler problem, with the dealer taking their time to get the vehicle booked in to sort this out. The broken sill plate mentioned is a minor issue, but does illustrate a certain flimsiness and fragility about the vehicle trim. Given the fact that this is a lightweight (and thus economical) 4x4 I'm prepared to accept the flimsy trim.

To judge by the frequency of other people's reported turbo problems, the original engineering creates an impression in my mind of wholesale inadequacy, and suggests to me that Nissan don't have any idea of how to permanently rectify the problem. I'd be prepared to forgive the original fault if I thought that Nissan and its dealers were able to come up with a permanent fix, but on the basis of the volume of repeat problems reported here I don't really have any confidence in them to do this - maybe I'll be lucky?

Nissan are trading on Japanese reliability credentials earned by other Japanese makers, and with the X Trail they are failing to deliver the expected level of reliability. This can only tarnish their own brand, ensuring low levels of recommendation and repeat custom. They could have made this problem a huge plus for the Nissan brand if they were prepared to admit it, establish a permanent fix, and then systematically fix the cars out there - but instead all I can see is another big, lazy car maker determined to do its own thing, and wholly disinterested in existing customers.

Anybody considering buying a Nissan Murano, Qashquai or 350Z should consider whether they are willing to buy what are relatively expensive cars from a company with this track record on reliability. As a footnote, the turbo charger was patented in 1905 - one hundred years of tecnological progress and Nissan still can't get them to work reliably on the X Trail.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th July, 2007

25th Feb 2013, 06:21

Having had a 2.5 litre automatic X-Trail from new in 2004, and having done 140,000 km in it, I have found the car to be completely reliable so far (touch wood!). The common problem with the turbo in the diesel can not be found, obviously, in the petrol version, and in any case it has allegedly been fixed now. I think anyone buying an X-Trail from whatever year, earlier diesels excepted, will almost certainly be pleased with its reliability, comfort, and sheer versatility.

2006 Nissan X-Trail Bona Vista 2.5 litre DOHC 16v 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 litre DOHC 16v 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance2990 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Awesome!

Faults:

No complaints.

General Comments:

Love it. Would definitely recommend it for young family. Good on gas, handles well in snow. Fun vehicle to drive and comfortable to sit in. Interior is easy to keep clean.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2007

9th Sep 2010, 20:28

I commented back in May 07, at the time my X-Trail was only 3 months old. I traded off an 03 Subaru, and said at the time that I thought the X-Trail was a winner, well, now over 3 years later I can say that my initial assessment was correct, not one problem so far... wish they still sold them in Canada.

26th Mar 2013, 12:20

I agree! Traded a 2000 Subaru for a 2006 X Trail (new) and have 270,000 kms on it and no repairs except 3 wheel bearings! Wish they still built them!

2006 Nissan X-Trail XE 2.5 Gas from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Gas Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance3000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Good buy, but has some issues.

Faults:

Interior scratches and marks very easily.

Road feedback through the steering wheel at highway speeds is excessive and very annoying.

General Comments:

Great power from the 2.5.

Great fuel economy for a small SUV.

Best small SUV 4WD system on the market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th July, 2006

30th Nov 2006, 22:19

Exactly what I would write in the review. Also to add that there is excessive vibration during idling.

19th May 2007, 16:15

I don't like it at all. It seemed like I drove a totally different car when I test drove an X Trail before buying it. Vibrations during idle is quite annoying when in gear. There are more squeaks and rattles in it than a mice and rattle snake farm combined. The interior scratches very easily to the extent that if an ant walk across it you would be able to see where it went. Cannot get proper off road tyres for it. Sun roof leaks only after 12 months and doesn't give a proper seal. I just gave up taking it back to Nissan and just sold it. THANK HEAVENS !!!

2006 Nissan X-Trail 2.5L Gas from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5L Gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance3600 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

This was a good buy, but there are a couple annoying issues, like fuel economy

General Comments:

Front cup holders do not fit a standard medium or large cup of coffee well. They appear to be designed for cola drinks or water bottles. If you're a coffee drinker, bring a towel with you.

Fuel efficiency is only 24mpg, mostly on 110 kph highway conditions, which is considerably less than the advertised 26 city, 35 highway.

It has a very comfortable ride.

The price is great.

The car is perfect for people with a dog, like ourselves.

The interior is nice, except for the cup holder issue noted above.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2006

17th Jul 2008, 23:43

If you are getting poor fuel mileage, there are a few things you should check out.

Make sure that your spark plugs are in good shape.

Check your air filter and make sure it is clean and not obstructed (I suggest a K&N air filter).

Also, the improper air pressure, in your tires, will significantly decrease your fuel mileage and cause unnecessary tire wear.

As well, only use 87 octane fuel. Higher octane is only used for high compression engines (turbo charged, super charged, etc.) Our engines are naturally aspirated, therefore, there is no need for any higher octane then 87.

If you are "lead footed", then you have solved another possible poor fuel mileage problem.

All in all, there is no need to have such low fuel mileage, on the highway. If you are getting 24 mpg in the city, then that isn't too bad.

This is to the individual who made the last comment. Our XTRAIL is a 2.5L 4 cylinder @ about 3400 lbs. In other words, this could be considered a compact SUV. They are smaller than a mid size SUV. With that being said, the original thread starter should be getting better fuel mileage.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 12 reviews