1984 Oldsmobile 98 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1984 Oldsmobile 98 Regency Brougham 307 from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 307 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance197000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

This car has been ultra reliable.

Faults:

I'd say nothing has ever really gone wrong with the car. The transmission was rebuilt by AAMCO after a 120,000 miles. There is minor rust around frame of one back door. And minor rust around the driver's side lock. But the rust is primarily surface rust.

General Comments:

Another reviewer described the 1984 Olds 98 like a traveling living room, and that is a great description. The seats in this car are velour and feel like you're sitting in a Laz-E-Boy recliner.

I've been told by more than one mechanic that all I have to do is change the oil every 3,000 miles and the this car will run indefinitely. One mechanic told me the body may rust and fall off, but the engine will run forever.

The car starts with a couple of pumps on the accelerator and a turn of the key. Yes, it costs a lot to fill the tank, especially now (1994), but gas mileage is about 17 mph city and 24 highway. It runs smooth, even after 197,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st October, 2004

1984 Oldsmobile 98 Ninety Eight Regency 307 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 307 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired41198 miles
Most recent distance42378 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

This is a classic collectors item in every since of the words

Faults:

I have had no trouble out of this car. The milage is original and no maintainance is required right now.

General Comments:

This car runs like a new one from the showroom floor. Smooth riding, excellent performance, both highway and city. Everything works very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2004

3rd Aug 2004, 00:24

I just got my license and bought a 1984 98 Brougham with 86k miles on it. There's virtually nothing wrong with the performance of the vehicle and just a few appearance details. The paint over the wood on the inside of the doors is starting to come off on one side.

Also, I was walking around the car and examining it and I noticed that in between the front and back door windows, there is a strip of light that opens up when you turn on the lights, they are also going dead. When I open the driver side door, the lights don't come on, but they do when any other door is opened.

I previously drove a 96' Neon and when I got in this car and drove it for the first time, I immediately fell in love with it. Truthfully, I don't know much about the car, because I haven't owned it long, but I love driving it and I'm always getting older people coming up to me saying how they always wanting one of these.

A wonderful car for performance and appearance! Go get one!

1984 Oldsmobile 98 Regency 307 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 307 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A very very comfortable mobile living room set

Faults:

The year after I bought this car, the valve cover on the passenger side started to leak. On older cars than this one, a valve cover is not such a big thing to replace, and it wasn't on this one either, except for the task of actually getting to the thing through all the plumbing.

Since I bought this car, very little has gone wrong with it. The lock on the drivers door refuses to activate with the press of the power lock button, though all the rest do. This is probably just a matter of removing the inner door panel and making an adjustment or reconnecting a loose wire, something I just have not bothered to do yet as it is no big deal.

The headliner has dropped since last year and I removed it fully this year, to be replaced next spring when it comes out of winter storage.

The A/c has ceased to function as the freon has leaked out due to the seals in the system drying out from lack of use. This car is not a daily driver. It is my "Pleasure Yacht" and as such, only gets driven now and then, which is why the seals dried out. This will all be taken care of when the 403 C.I.D engine makes it's home under the hood next summer :-) ) ) )

The biggest problem that I have with this car is the torque converter. After driving long enough to get everything nice and hot, the torque converter stays "locked up" when coming to a stop, and only disengages just before coming to a complete stop. Something like coming to a stop in a manual shift car without putting in the clutch. This can be taken care of with a manual switch which you can flip to "on" or "off" as you want.

General Comments:

The first car I owned was a '77 Olds 98, which I bought from my father in 1984. I was only 19 then and did not have the money to take care of it mechanically. I basically pounded this car into the ground over the 6 years I had it. That being said, it stood up to the abuse extremely well and never let me down. If I had the money to maintain that, I might still have it today. It was truly a gorgeous car to drive with lots of power coming from the 403 that it had. Sadly, the frame finally let go in it, and the transmission was starting to slip badly. The car still looked great though, as I did take care of it's appearance.

The next car I had was an '86 Pontiac Acadian (Chevette with a Pontiac badge) and after a year of that car I bought an '89 Grand Am, and while I still owned that a friend told me about the '84 Olds 98 that I still own.

This car came from Fla. originally, and was garage stored from Oct thru to May by the man who brought from there. I live on the east coast of Canada, and if you want a car to last, you have to store it for winter.

This car was, and still is immaculate, even tho it has 142,000 miles on it now. It is white exterior with a red interior and is a 4 door. This car is an absolute pleasure to drive, especially on the highway where it just eats the miles.

The only thing I can really complain about with this car, is it's severe lack of power. Around town the little 307 does it's job quite fine. It gets this very heavy car to speed with very little effort, where it lacks is passing power once you are at 50 to 60 and wanting to accelerate.

That is the main reason for the plan of putting in the 403 that I bought this past summer, which is currently in a '78 Olds Custom Cruiser. It will receive a complete rebuild, a hotter cam, and some head work to raise the compression and improve the flow. When all is said and done, and according to a dyno program I have, it will be in the area of 360+ H.P. with over 420 ft. Lbs. of torque. Should be quite a surprise to a few of those little imports around with the stove pipes sticking out the back of em!!

Skunkwurcx.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2003

26th Feb 2004, 17:14

Hi! I have recently inherited a car exactly like your Olds. 82,000 miles pearl white body - burgundy interior. I also had a drooping headliner, which I have replaced. Thanking God and my late Grandmother Mae Belle... Jeff in Garner NC.

15th May 2006, 01:33

You want to put a 403 in your car? You better get rid of that 200 r4 overdrive transmission and get a turbo 350 or 400. A stock 403 would rip that little transmission to shreds. Id hate to think what 360 hp would do to it. The 403 had overheating problems too. It is still an Oldsmobile small block, but has the largest pistons ever put in an american V8 car, 4.351 inch diameter. There are no water jackets between the pistons, so if you increase the compression ratio you increase heat. I would look into some heavy duty auxillary cooling if I were you, or consider a Oldsmobile 350, a much stronger, more reliable and durable engine, stock or modified.

11th Feb 2011, 19:12

I have a 1984 Oldsmobile 98 Regency. I have a 350 under the hood, but I don't know what kind of transmission I need to put under there. Can somebody help me?

12th Feb 2011, 15:23

-Use the Turbohydramatic 350 transmission.

Average review marks: 8.8 / 10, based on 14 reviews