18th Dec 2017, 18:56

The front fenders are identical. A 1970 Olds 88 has the same fenders and marker lights. Mine are faded and I have 1 NOS marker light I bought last year. I also have a pair of cornering lights I bought off a junker in 1990.

18th Dec 2017, 19:17

Many exterior parts on a 1970 Oldsmobile 98 are one year only production. The fenders, hood, nose, headlight trim, grilles, and bumper. The whole front end of a 1970 Olds 88 is also the same as the 98. Much of the interior including the windshield, dash, and seats would be the same. I am not selling parts, I’m just trying to put back together my teenage cruiser. I tell my kids I’m not so sure I will ever finish the car, it would be the end of a dream and would surely remind me I’m not a teenager any longer. The big bonus to finishing this project would be the opportunity to send my grown kids off to cruise as I once did in years long past. What would be better. Thanks for your interest.

18th Dec 2017, 19:43

No kidding, but the problem is that we have somebody commenting on this thread who fails to see the reason for buying the donor car.

19th Dec 2017, 00:23

What review and comments are you reading? The car that is under restoration is a convertible. The 4 door is the parts car. All of your replies are focused your experience, and you think because you've "been there and done that" everybody doing a restoration is supposed to follow? The reviewer bought a parts car because the specific convertible (not 4 door) is a very hard car to find body, trim and interior parts for. Same goes for its cousin car, the Buick Electra.

19th Dec 2017, 00:44

Not restoring a 4 door. Restoring a 2 door convertible. Bought a 4 door car as a "parts donor". At least one poster on here is getting so wrapped up defending this decision, they are responding to their own comments...

19th Dec 2017, 02:34

Is that what the original commenter actually did? Hopefully he will respond to that very question. I opened up a discussion for all the considerations in anyone contemplating bringing one home now. Not just the commenter. Is it economically feasible to rent a warehouse on a low budget project? How long are you anticipating its completion? Is there any budget in mind. Otherwise you could even just send it out and write checks. I use to get daily messages with where the tally is on my last. With all the immense interest in this 4 door project, hopefully we all will have an opportunity to see this Oldsmobile. Maybe next August at the Concours d’Elegance! In the interim at least everybody has some actual insight on what’s involved.

19th Dec 2017, 10:35

Convertible value around $14,000. 4 door $1400-2500.

19th Dec 2017, 13:52

Well, it looks the the reviewer/or person restoring the car has chimed in explaining that the parts are hard to find, which is why they bought the donor car, and the fact that they are NOT restoring a 4 door. Glad he proved my points, because this was starting to get old.

19th Dec 2017, 18:59

What "4 door project" are you talking about? For the last time, it's a convertible that is being restored here. Yeah warehouse space if you don't have room on your property. Is there something wrong with that? They are fairly cheap where I live. I know a guy that it works out great, he works on his toys, leaves them there and keeps all the tools there. A man cave away from home for under $400 a month, and if you do side work, it pays it off.

21st Dec 2017, 16:44

What about utilities, HVAC, lease deposit? Single bay warehousing to fit 2 cars runs 1400 month plus after factoring in S.F. here. If side work is your intention, then power for the compressor, welder etc is to be considered.

21st Dec 2017, 21:28

What about just letting it go and not be concerned about how everybody does their own restoration.

22nd Dec 2017, 11:59

It’s not just about only this one owner. My point was to share the actual restoration process experience with thousands of others on this very review. They then have some direct first hand experience to weigh out what direction to go with. Have some insight on what you are undertaking for someone new to this. Buy one done, perhaps pass or know what’s really involved. Both with effort and time involved. I got in very deep on a couple without understanding this at first. It's not just about you. Get it?

22nd Dec 2017, 20:44

Yeah, I "Get it".

I get it that every last review on here regarding a classic is not complete without you getting in the last word or comment about vehicles you've owned, or how, when and where you think a restoration should be.

I also get it that the parts for the Oldsmobile convertible on topic are hard to find, and that's the reason the individual purchased a parts car. Even before he posted the same reasons a couple of days ago. And that they are restoring a convertible, not 4 door.

Finally I get it that after all the facts have been stated and your opinions have been heard over two weeks now, there is really no need to continue on. At least not for me anyways. See you in the next classic thread.

23rd Dec 2017, 04:25

Thousands of others reading this very review? I wouldn't bet on it. I lost interest weeks ago when you tried to claim the fenders wouldn't interchange.

23rd Dec 2017, 12:46

You claim that one of the justifications for buying a donor car is to save money over buying the parts individually. Then you suggest renting warehouse space to store said donor car at $400 a month? Does this make sense to anyone besides you?

23rd Dec 2017, 15:25

But you are still on here. I am sure this is read in many areas of the world. The site is up and running. For some reason you didn’t care to internet check to see if part numbers for these fenders were exactly the same. Simple. That’s what I said. I do not know myself as I never restored this model. Seems the most logical direction I would take. I have verbally taken someone’s word in the past and they were mistaken on what fits. I last ended up with an incorrect starter in this manner and got hit with a 20 percent restock plus additional shipping. That it itself was minor. Having the car lifted and apart was another. I had to drop it and roll into the garage vs exposed outside. Not a fender, but who would want one that doesn’t fit. I also had a bad experience with a very well known auto catalog supplier in the past. Mailed catalogs all the time. The body parts were restamps from a new OEM fender vs straight from the original molds. There is a big difference. To rework the parts and fitting new rotted out sills was more trouble and time than buying quality ones. Plus they were thinner gauge. The chrome trim pieces were also poor and pitted in 8 months. Maybe I have recaptured your interest with this.