23rd Dec 2017, 19:16

Can't buy parts "individually" for this car. Nobody reproduces them.

23rd Dec 2017, 20:34

It just goes on and on.

If you really need to know, the warehouse mentioned is used for a private business unrelated to the automotive field. But yet is large enough for the individual that I know to store his cars and tools and for me to do side work. Any other personal matters you want to know?

The donor car. Seriously again?

Do you really think it makes sense to spend hours or days searching the internet for parts on a specific car that no OEM company provides, and buy part by part from different sources (if that's even possible) and pay shipping costs on each one, instead of buying a full parts car for everything needed, and maybe even sell the frame or whatever is left over? Did you not read the reviewer replies that it was the right thing for him to do? Who cares where he is storing the car or where the work is being done. Obviously for him it's not a concern.

23rd Dec 2017, 22:40

12:46, the original reviewer brought up the $400 dollar a month working warehouse space for his convertible and donor car. It must make complete sense to him. He wrote this review. Everyone else following is a commenter. There is tremendous interest in this review. Maybe more can share their own insights on a project. We all get his intentions with the donor car to finish a restoration.

24th Dec 2017, 00:34

For this application you can forget your simple internet check and go back and read comments 18:56 & 19:17 that appear to be written by the author of this review. They are the one who have the parts right in front of them. I'll take their word for it.

24th Dec 2017, 12:19

I take my cars sometimes into work after hours for bigger jobs. A fully equipped shop with air tools, press etc. Used our forklifts even for some interesting applications. But the condition is to have whatever project done and out that evening. Work is work. Customers can arrive and fill the facility with added work flow. However doing personal work free at times is a great benefit. Doesn’t cost anything. Maybe insurance won’t cover the cost of a business having you do this. Or another guys shop is liable if you get hurt or a car drops on you. I got lucky.

The issue with home garages is there’s limited space. Maybe I am being cheap, but I do not want to pay $400 every month like the reviewer or $1400 here for a single bay warehouse. I am sure you can split a rent, but I really fret sharing space where something or someone that might hit my car. Or someone working there decides to take my car out and drift it. I had a motorcycle gas tank damaged that got hit in someone’s garage. Compliments of his wife. Maybe not a concern for your set up. Not asking your financial outlay on this unless you wish to respond. Is the price of buying the convertible plus the 4 door and rent covering its value finished? If it’s a favorite, a dream car or passing down through family it makes sense. How is it you selected a very difficult restoration car with little to non existent parts support? This was never discussed. You of course are under no obligation to share costs or respond. Buying something like this one completely finished seems at least within a possible feasible direction.

My first project years ago was a lifted full size Blazer that only cost 2k. It was for practice mainly to learn body work, spot welding etc without really hurting it in any way. It was so cheap. I made my share of mistakes but persevered on. If not for the V8, big wheels and 4WD I would have walked. I sold it for 5k during a blizzard after and got many replies. But I do not really know if I still recouped my time and effort in it. I painted it black; the one color that would show any and all flaws. I was set on that look. Another error I learned later. So some of the earlier comments are more for others reading this review that can learn by these experiences. The reviewer may complete a fantastic restoration and has found everything he needed. That’s great. I wish him the best. If anyone else that has never done this, consider finding a project that has every part easily accessible. My son started out with a Mustang on a pretty tight budget. Heavy parts support. You can remove parts and sell online. Upgrade with those proceeds and do a nice easy build. Over the years he’s owned at least 4. And kept upgrading cars since. You have club support and tech nights. It doesn’t have to be a Mustang. This isn’t telling anyone what to do. Only a suggestion. There are many other cars to make this simpler. Maybe a late 60s Cutlass Convertible would be one that you could order what parts you need on a lunch break everyday for a short while. Good luck. Wish we could post pics of our before and afters.

24th Dec 2017, 19:33

And that means what? That there are no NOS parts and the available used ones only come with the whole car?

"Yeah, I needed to replace my Olds 98 glove box lock but I had to buy a whole car to get it. Cause some guy on carsurvey said nobody was reproducing parts for it LOL"

25th Dec 2017, 17:06

Doesn’t apply to you. It’s been established and recognized that you had no choice. Hoping you could however share share at least some more insight on your restoration for the new guys. It was for the benefit of others to realize they may buy a future project of their own which could scream to a halt with a situation like that. Lucky you found a extra car. I know some guys that had to have some parts made. No reproductions. Or straightening and rechroming. Very expensive, but with a very high value car it is yet another alternative. The comment was not just about you. You don’t have to share budget etc. I will, but that’s me. Back in the 80s we would buy cars that had good interiors without new parts support, but needed body and paint. You couldn’t get every part. Maybe luck at a junk yard. Sometimes parts even worse than what you had. Today body and paint costs are a very big factor to really watch out for. It adds up quick.

26th Dec 2017, 05:44

The most popular body style was the 4-door sedan which saw 29,005 examples produced. 3,161 were convertibles making them the rarest in the lineup. 21,111 were the 2-door holiday hardtop and 19,377 were 4-door Luxury Hardtops. In total, over 95,800 examples were produced in 1970. Granted some were destroyed in accidents or crushed etc. I restored a model that had 3400 convertibles out of 37000.