2000 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 10 of 36

2000 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Grand Voyager

Summary:

Good and really comfortable and drives well

Faults:

It was a good car and I only had to perform regular manteince.

There was a coolant leak, but it was minor.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car.

Ran well and was good for road trips.

Handles really well surprisingly.

It was quicker than I thought it would be.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2006

2000 Oldsmobile Alero Sedan from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Electrical problems, but a good car all around otherwise

Faults:

I bought my oldsmobile Alero a few months back and everything was fine. Then the rear passenger window decided to rarely work. And just as the others have said, my service engine soon light came on and I also took it to auto zone and they said it was the cap and he turned the light off, a week later it came back on. I still need to get that fixed, but I ignore it for now. Then my tire pressure light came on and I filled them all to what they needed and it stayed on. My leather trim over my passenger air bag also peeled off. Now I am having a problem where my steering wheel won't turn, however it's not the fluid. My radio is malfunctioning and interior and dash lights won't go on, it's not a fuse. I need to get it checked out, it happened recently. What a bummer about these cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd December, 2006

2000 Oldsmobile Alero 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Summary:

I love my car... when it isn't in the shop!

Faults:

The front wheel bearings went at 80,000 miles.

Front and back brakes have been fully replaced 4 times and still continue to squeal.

The motor for the driver's automatic window broke at 60,000 miles.

The entire coil pack had to be replaced at 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car looks good and handles very well, however, I would never buy another GM vehicle again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd October, 2006

2000 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Chevy Baretta

Summary:

Runs well just falling apart

Faults:

The window motor on the driver's side window went out twice under warranty and a third time after the warranty expired. I will not pay $300 to have it replaced. The dash was replaced under warranty due to bubbling. There is a constant rattle in the dash. The replacement dash is now bubbling and peeling apart. I have replaced the rotors 4 times. The paint on the spoiler has oxidized so my dark blue car has an almost white spoiler. Too many problems.

General Comments:

I know why Oldsmobile is no longer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th October, 2006

14th Oct 2006, 18:38

We are contemplating buying a 1999 Alero GX with only 53,000 miles. I am not getting a good feeling about this decision. Would you buy this car? The used car dealer wants $5,600.

2000 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carHyundai Accent

Faults:

I have had to replace the brakes and rotors 4 times. I replaced all this for the 4th time about 2 weeks ago and the brakes are squealing again. I've reached the point where I have learned to live with it!

The power window on the driver's side broke. I literally heard the clip snap and the window fell halfway into the door. Of course I couldn't just buy the little clip. I had to buy the entire motor for about $400.00 and that was including labor. That was about 3 years ago and now the window gets stuck sometimes.

Within the last year the car started to feel like it was going to stall when I would stop at a red light, stop sign, etc and when it was sitting in park running, but it would always start right back up again. It continued to get worse.

To make a long story short, after the car being put on the diagnostic machine 3 times and the computer read nothing was wrong with the car, someone finally figured out it was the entire coil pack.

The front wheel bearings went at about 88,000 miles.

General Comments:

Despite some of the problems I've had with this car, I do like the way it drives and handles and I do not regret buying it.

I can't say I would definitely buy another vehicle from this manufacturer again though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2006

29th Sep 2006, 01:33

The best way to cure squealing brakes permanently is to buy a thin insulation mat that is put between the brake piston and the pads. These map are generic and are cut to match the size of your brake pads. The repair shops did this before, but now nobody does this because they are afraid of being sued, that's what the GM dealer told me. But you can install this yourself. It is super, but on sportcars it is said that you may loose some brake feel. I do not notice them, besides my brakes do not squeal anymore. I bought them at a local car parts store and they were installed when I changed pads on my Chevy.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 135 reviews