2000 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 7 of 36

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GL l4 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission l4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 kilometres
Most recent distance19954 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Trans Sport

Summary:

Nice car, but needs to be serviced a lot

Faults:

The hub assembly, brakes, rotors and struts.

General Comments:

I like the look and the room the car has also the way it drives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2007

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GX 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

I would keep it longer, if only because of the money I spent on repairs

Faults:

Drivers window off track

Drivers door won't stay open

Buckle on the dash board

Replaced battery twice, and rotors and brakes twice

Constantly loses oil

Now I need new lifters and/or valves.

General Comments:

The car when first purchased ran like a dream. It had only 28000 on it and looked great. The pick up on it is also awesome.

I love my car, but not the problems I have had. I believe it could be considered a "lemon" car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th August, 2007

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GLS from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired106500 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Good little car, but lots of brake problems (with noises)

Faults:

Brakes make a crunchy noise.

Had to replace rotors.

Brake and ABS light on 24/7.

ABS does not work.

Car gets too hot sometimes.

General Comments:

I have a 2000 Olds Alero GLS. I love the way this car handles. It is very quick to pick up and it responds well with steering. It is a serious gas guzzler though. Not as bad as my previous car (Olds Cutlass 93) but still not what I expected. The brakes have serious issues. I have had 3 different mechanics inspect my brakes and they all said there is nothing wrong with them. However, the brakes still make crunching noises.

But I love it in the end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd August, 2007

2000 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

Good car!

Faults:

I have a 2000 Alero. The problem is the drivers side passenger window & front passenger window. They only work when it is cold out. Once it gets above 30 I can no longer get the window down. Has anyone run across this issue & know how to fix it?

Please email: dristoff@comcast.net.

General Comments:

Has been a good car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th July, 2007

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GLS from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Pile of junk

Faults:

My turn signals would go out conveniently on the way to work or school. I first replaced the multi function switch, but it was the hazard switch I later replaced that did the trick.

My driver's side window didn't work, but luckily that was fixed under warranty.

My blower does not work unless on high speeds.

My big complaint is my door panels, head liner, and my dash board. it kills me that I have paid nearly 10,000 for this car to have the interior look so poorly.

General Comments:

I am very disappointed and would never invest in a Chevy or GM product ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2007

2000 Oldsmobile Alero Gx from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

This car is very unsafe

Faults:

The steering wheel keeps locking up on me and I cannot make a complete turn. And it cut off on me in the middle of the expressway going 60mph, in the rain.

General Comments:

I almost killed myself in this car. The thing cuts off on me in the middle of the expressway. So I only take back roads now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2007

17th Jul 2007, 16:18

"This car is very unsafe"

- GET RID OF IT NOW!!!

2000 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carnone none

Summary:

This car is a total lemon!

Faults:

The water pump in this crappy Alero is going to cost 1400 dollars to replace because of the labor involved in doing the work! The car is only worth 3000! WE just replaced the brake pads and that made me angry that it cost so much to do that! This car sucks : (

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th June, 2007

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 2.4 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance121616 miles

Summary:

I love it sometimes, but then I don't other times

Faults:

I have had a lot of problems, but I finally resolved one of the problems which resulted in making my car run right again. I replaced the ignition switch, which was causing my car to cut off without warning.

I have problem with my A/C blower switch working on buttons 1 and 2. If you have any info concerning this PLEASE, PLEASE email me at yello_boy05@yahoo.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd April, 2007

2000 Oldsmobile Alero SE 2.4 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Terrible manufacturing..

Faults:

A week after I bought my car, my service vehicle, anti lock, and track-off lights came on. Replaced the wheel speed sensor 4 times in 1 month, then the service engine light comes on and off whenever it feels like it.

My brake rotors pads and calipers have been changed 3 times in 1 year.

My driver's window motor was replaced after it got all tangled up inside (only cost me $20 for parts, and $20 for the less than 1 hour of service to repair the broken motor).

Now in the last 2 days, my low coolant light came on, and I filled the coolant, which was entirely empty after filling it less than 2 months ago, and it will not blow hot air until after the car is entirely warm, and it will start to overheat. I have had nothing but bad luck with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th March, 2007

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 135 reviews