2000 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 4 of 36

2000 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

Troublesome at times but a great ride

Faults:

I have had my car for 2 months and had multiple problems with it. However most are only minor issues. The one big thing that happened was the head gasket blew and caused my reservoir bottle to explode. Luckily it was covered under warranty so I didn't have to pay the $1,100 bill!

Now the ABS/brakes lights are on and the cruise control stopped working. Those are only minor issues however. The low tire pressure light is always on but I had the problem resolved (hopefully).

It looks beautiful, interior is great! No complaints! I love my car!!

General Comments:

I love my Alero no matter how many issues it has! Overall I think it's a great car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2008

2000 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Summary:

The windows suck

Faults:

Problems with windows continues.

General Comments:

I loved my car until the window stopped working about 3 years ago. I had to take it in to the repair shop, buy an entire unit to get it fixed, THEN a few weeks later the other window quit working. And so on and so on over the last 3 years. I can report that I have replaced the passenger side window 2 times and the drivers side window 3 times, and it just quit again this morning.

Wouldn't recommend it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th June, 2008

2000 Oldsmobile Alero Twin Cam from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Twin Cam Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles

Summary:

Sexy, safe, and reliable! I love it!

Faults:

The turn signals occasionally just stop working, nothing at all happens. Not so good when there is a cop behind you.

Drivers side latch to let the seat down (I have a coupe) gets stuck so you can't let the person out or in on the passenger side without pushing the seat up. Same goes for the seat adjustment; they occasionally stick too.

The check engine light comes on a lot for no reason, so I just let it stay on.

General Comments:

I really love this car! This past December I was in a bad accident and the car was "totaled" but I bought it back and repaired it very inexpensively (The side bowed). But my mother and I walked out with just whiplash. The car is strong and durable.

The pros of this car definitely out weigh the cons. Great pick up and go. Love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2008

2000 Oldsmobile Alero 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

Wish I never bought it!

Faults:

The vinyl is separating from the front dash. Engine just blew with only 45,000 miles! This car has been well maintained with regular oil changes etc... I've never had an engine go with this low of mileage and impeccable Maintenance. It's going to cost more to fix it than the car is worth.

General Comments:

My opinion of the car was that fair before the engine failure. The interior is cheaply done. It does handle well in cornering however.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th April, 2008

2000 Oldsmobile Alero GS 2.4 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2000
Engine and transmission 2.4 liter Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance168000 miles

Summary:

It's a lemon, don't buy it

Faults:

I purchased a 2000 Alero about 4-5 years ago, and it has had many problems since.

The blinker was replaced the day I bought the car (which was a recall), but still makes the blinking noise after you have had it on, and sometimes just randomly does.

The brakes have been replaced twice already, plus the rotors.

The trac off and low trac comes on all the time (or whenever it wants).

The battery & alternator has went out.

Almost all of windows the motors have went out, only the passenger side window goes down, and the driver's side rear window broke where it falls down when I go down the road.

The trunk doesn't close all the way, therefore it looks as though it's never closed.

General Comments:

In all, I wouldn't suggest anyone to buy this lemon of a car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th April, 2008

2000 Oldsmobile Alero 2 Door Coupe 1.7 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.7 Automatic
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Poor, cyclic components fail early

Faults:

I bought my 2000 Oldsmobile Alero from a private sale in 2003. Within two weeks, the dashboard wrinkled up and then peeled back. Within a couple months, the drivers side window started getting cocked to one side when it went up. It ended up being the supports, the motor was fine. To repair the supports, I had to buy an all new assembly including the motor at a cost of $350. The passenger window is now doing the same thing. I just secured it in place and disabled the motor. The power rear view mirrors won't adjust anymore, they act like they are stuck.

Most recently, the check engine light came on. The mechanic said it was an Air signal nothing to worry about, but the car wasn't doing anything wrong at the time. Now the car stalls when going slow or in idle. It's a pain. I'm not sure what's wrong yet. It is fine as long as you are going at a normal speed.

The paint on my front and rear bumpers is peeling.

General Comments:

Overall, I'm not pleased with the car at all, but I bought it for $5K cash. I guess you get what you pay for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2008

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 135 reviews