2001 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 33 of 34

2001 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 3.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles

Summary:

It is a luxury car without the price

Faults:

The brakes are a real problem. We have had the car in the shop about every 3 months because of them. We have spoke to other owners and they have had problems with the brakes also.

General Comments:

The car is very fun to drive.

It is very comfortable.

It is a very pretty car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2003

2001 Oldsmobile Alero GL2 3.4 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

A low resale value lemon

Faults:

When I brought the car home from the dealer the first day the sunroof would not close.

At 15k the blinkers quit working.

At 17k the driver's side mirror fell out. They replaced it three times before it would stay.

At 17k the plastic pillar near the windshield warped and was replaced.

At 17k transmission problems started.

At 18k the dome light fell out of the ceiling.

At 18k the car would barely start, the injectors were cleaned.

At 18k the oil sending switch was replaced.

At 21k the power steering shaft snapped.

At 22k the rotors had to be resurfaced.

At 31k the cruise control on/off switch broke.

At 31k the fuel pressure regulator was replaced because the car would not start.

At 33k the check engine light came on, the computer needed to be reprogrammed.

At 33k the rear window defroster quit working, the instrument panel assembly was replaced.

General Comments:

These cars may be fun to drive and look sharp but are very unreliable. The 36 month residual value of the car is only 30%, so don't buy unless you want to keep forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th December, 2002

2001 Oldsmobile Alero 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Distance when acquired37807 miles
Most recent distance37837 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Faults:

I just purchased my car September 28, 2002.

The blinkers only work when they want to. I have taken my car twice to the dealership. They have replaced the multi relay switch twice. As of 11-2-02, the blinkers still choose to work when they want.

I also had to tow it last week for it would not start. It sounded like it was out of gas... found out it wasn't firing. They had to replace the distributor module, coil pack, some housing and had a bad gas relay. This was 3 days before my warranty expired.

I still don't know what to do about the blinkers.

I also think there is a huge blind spot on the driver side when looking out.

General Comments:

Overall, I love the car. I think it is a sharp looking car. I handles very well. I've had no problem with anything else.

I just wished the blinker issue could be resolved. I feel like taking my car back and getting another car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd November, 2002

2001 Oldsmobile Alero GLS 3.4L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance15604 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

It's a fun to drive, more features for the price, good looking car

Faults:

Rough shifting between gears in transmission.

Front passenger side window regulator and track needed replacement

Signal switch needed replacement.

General Comments:

The car is stylish, responsive, quick for what it is, and comfortable.

It responds well to tweaking, just wish there was more aftermarket performance accessories available.

It's the first vehicle I've had that gets the miles per gallon advertised.

For the price, it offers more than any competitor I checked out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2002

7th Jul 2003, 11:59

That surprises me about the gas mileage. I have a 2001 GL2 with a 3.4L V6, it advertised 32 mpg highway, 21 mpg city. I haven't got anything better than 28 on the highway. During the summer I usually get the advertised 21, but it drops 2-3 mpg during the winter, both highway and city. Other problems have not been numerous... rotors and brakes replaced once (now has 58,000 miles on it), turn signal was fixed (it was not working/malfunctioning) EGR valve replaced at 5,000 miles, and right now, speeds 1 and 2 don't work on the blower, taking that in tomorrow to get fixed.

Most of the problems mentioned above have been covered under warranty or extended warranty, but that will be up at 60,000, so hopefully we'll see what happens after that...

21st Aug 2003, 15:20

I bought a used 1999 Oldsmobile Alero GLS coupe. Here's a list of the problems I have had with the car since I bought it:

- Door seals warped

- Cruise control chip failure (twice)

- Alternator failure

- Window regulator failure (three times -- the two originals and the driver's side replacement)

- Power steering column crack/leak/gear failure (because the fluid all leaked out)

- Water pump failure and coolant compartment leak

- Left tail-light failure (replaced the original bulb, and the replacement blew-out less than 6 months later)

- Speedometer weirdness: the car chugged along like it was going to die, then the speedometer needle whipped around to 140, then back).

21st Aug 2003, 15:52

Hey guys! I have a 2001 Alero also and I have the same problem with the blower. First, it wouldn't work on speed 1, then, about 2 months later, wouldn't work on the second setting either. The a/c works fine otherwise. Please let us know what your mechanic said was the cause. Peace!

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 114 reviews