2002 Oldsmobile Alero GX 2.2 from North America


OK transportation, but you can find better cars out there


The brakes don't last on these cars. In 6 years and 51600 kilometers since new, I'm already on my third set of brakes.

The blower motor (for the air conditioner & heater air vents) seem to be getting less reliable as time passes, that is, it doesn't blow as strong as it once did.

This may sound trivial, but the writing on the radio controls wears off way too easily.

The driver's side window scratches way too easily when being opened/closed.

General Comments:

I detest the 2.2 liter 4 cylinder engine this car has. It is way too noisy and sluggish.

I love how the ignition is in the dash instead of on the side of the steering column.

This car has decent headroom and interior space.

I don't like how this car has a prop rod for keeping the hood open. This is cheap and crappy, something I would expect from a Cavalier but not an Alero.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th June, 2008

2002 Oldsmobile Alero GL 2.2 from North America


Wouldn't buy another one!


My 2002 Alero has had few issues thus far with 156,000 miles;

The problem now is the ABS, tracs, and service lights come on when I turn hard left/right or hit a bump. The GM dealer couldn't make a good assessment of what was causing the problem.

Contributing to the problem is an electrical problem, which is also causing the starter to go out now. That's what the mechanic says.

Radio knobs painting is gone.

General Comments:

The car was good so far, if I can get this problem solved.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2008

2002 Oldsmobile Alero GL1 2.2 I4 from North America


It is a great car


My 2002 Alero GL1 has been an excellent car. I have had no problems whatsoever with it.

The buttons on my radio are peeling off, but that's normal. I think that I just got lucky with my car, or everybody else has just got bad ones.

This is actually my first car, and I have ran the hell out of it, and it is still an awesome car

General Comments:

I love my Alero.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2008

2002 Oldsmobile Alero 2.2 from North America


Can you spell lemon


One week after buying it the replaced coil.

A few months after that both front wheel bearings.

The security system failed and would come on for no reason. I then had to sit and wait 10 minutes while it re-programed itself. The dealer told me it was $400 to replace the ignition system or 150 to disconnect it. I had a mechanic do it in my driveway in 5 minutes for $20.00.

Replaced front rotors and brakes cost $400.

When traded the O2 sensor was bad and needed to be replaced.

The alero is/was a good car if and when it ran. buy another... wouldn't take one for free.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2008

2002 Oldsmobile Alero GL 3.4 from North America


Not very good quality


Upper front strut mounts were gone at 62,000 kms.

Blower motor went at 64,000 kms.

Brake caliper went at 66,000 kms.

Paint wore off radio controls.

A lot of moisture inside of brake light lenses.

Engine rattles very much when first started until it warms up.

Both side window guides are too tight, and allow grains of dirt buildup to scratch the window when you put it up and down.

Strut mounts in front are gone again, and strut mounts in the back are gone now.

Paint all came off around the gas tank filler.

General Comments:

I babied this car since I bought it, and only put a little over 20,000 kms on it, and it has not been very good to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th March, 2008

2002 Oldsmobile Alero GM's Ecotec 2.2-Liter 4-Cylinder from North America


Nice looks hide shoddy workmanship and design flaws


8/6/02: Mileage – 4396. Shifter handle release button falls out and has to be replaced.

11/16/04: Mileage – 31782. Rattling coming from passenger side-wheel area. Cause: Poor machining. Right front strut mount not sitting properly in spring seat. Strut mount and spring seat replaced and alignment checked.

Driver’s side door speaker doesn’t work. Cause: Terminal backed out. Bad connector in wiring to left front speaker. Wiring terminal repaired.

12/28/04: Mileage – 33588. Car broke down while travelling home from New Orleans Christmas morning and had to be towed to a hotel. Couldn’t begin the process of getting the car fixed until the next day. Car towed to dealer on 12/27/04 and repairs completed on 12/28/04. Stranded out of town for four days until car repairs completed. Catalytic converter not working and engine missing on 2 cylinders almost resulting in the vehicle catching on fire. Catalytic converter replaced and fouled cylinders cleared.

30K mile service completed at this time as well.

11/25/05: Mileage – 44464. Stranded when car unexpectedly wouldn’t start. Had to call roadside assistance and have car towed to the dealer. Battery had bad cell and needed to be replaced.

2/23/06: Mileage – 46493. Vehicle wouldn’t start and stranded on the side of the road. Had to call roadside assistance and have car towed to the dealer. Cause: Ignition lock cylinder shorted. Ignition lock cylinder and pass lock sensor replaced. System reprogrammed.

11/14/06: Mileage – 53475. Vehicle disabled and wouldn’t start. Stranded and had to call roadside assistance and have car towed to the dealer. Battery dead and wouldn’t take charge. Battery replaced and safety inspection completed.

3/29/07: Mileage – 59180. 60K mile service completed.

12/19/07: Mileage – 69823. Engine quit running while travelling 70 MPH on a crowded Interstate highway resulting in loss of power steering and a life-threatening situation for myself and other motorists. Stranded and had to be towed to the nearest city 35 miles away over 125 miles away from my home. The timing chain had snapped causing damage to the cylinder head. Repairs required a new timing chain kit and cylinder head. The car was no longer under warranty and the repair cost $2640.14 on top of the towing charge and having to rent a car for 8 days.

General Comments:

This car is unsafe to drive and needed to be recalled.

Note: This engine is advertised as having a maintenance free timing chain. The defective part was the timing chain tensioner, which was redesigned in 2004 to prevent this type of extensive engine damage and life threatening situation. GM could have either issued a recall to correct this problem or this defective part could have been replaced when the vehicle was getting its 60000-mile maintenance on 3/29/07 while it was still under warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th December, 2007