1995 Oldsmobile Aurora Reviews - Page 8 of 14

1995 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0 liter from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

I hated it, It hated me

Faults:

Transmission slams into gear when shifting.$2500. Rack was going out on the steering $2500. Replaced Two motor mounts $800. air condition compressor

$2000. Window molding around rear window $800.Trunk/fuel buttons on dash replaced twice $140.Transmission module replaced $340. Water pump $500.Remote door openers never work will when close to car. Car seem to always run hot.

General Comments:

This car always drove very nice, but much to expensive to repair. I think GM should never released this car until it was tested better. I don't think any one should buy one of these no matter the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th September, 2004

1995 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0L DOHC 32 V V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L DOHC 32 V V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Flaming fireball on wheels

Faults:

Seat Belt problems (warranty)

Master Cylinder leak at 49,000.

Cracked Engine mounts, new engine at 57,000M.

Wiring harness, coolant leaks at 55,000.

Cruise control problems at 60,000.

Various fuel pumps 60,000 - 80,000.

Missing/surging problems 60,000 - to date (still not fixed)

Fuel injector problems 82,000.

Engine Mount broken and Transmission replaced 84,000.

Rack and pinion bindings replaced 109,000.

Radiator replaced 121,000.

Fuel Leak - 143,000 (GM says is not under recall)

General Comments:

This has been the single most disappointing car I have ever owned. Have spent over $5,000 to date on this lemon. Now GM tells me that my car, which has the fuel leak (as noted per NHTSA Recall #04V110000), is not covered in the recall.

The original draft recall issued in March 2004 included the 1995 Auroras. Then, when the "final" recall was issued in June 2004, the 1995 year was excluded. GM will not explain the reason for this. Basically 1995 owners are driving potentially flaming fireballs that will cost over $700 to fix.

Has anyone else run into the recall problem?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th August, 2004

21st Sep 2004, 13:02

The Auroras are an awesome car! It seems as though you got a lemon. There are ways of fighting GM on the recall. Also, since you're internet savvy, check on the class action lawsuits regarding Dex Cool, the crappy orange anti-freeze they used.

I just bought a '95, and already own a '98. I joined a great on-line group: http://aurorah.proboards.com/

Look into the group! I look forward to following your progress. I don't know if they will let me post my email here or edit it out: ted.copeland1@verizon.net

But try to keep me updated.

The love/hate relationship with GM continues!...

1995 Oldsmobile Aurora from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired176000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

A beautiful car with expensive costs to repair it.

Faults:

My car back fired on me twice already.

I've needed new spark plugs and wires.

Tune up.

Rear shocks.

Air conditioning compressor.

General Comments:

I just bought this car about 2 months ago. So far its been a disaster! It's a gorgeous car though, with beautiful leather interior, power everything and heated seats.

Luckily the dealership, with some convincing, helped pay for the problems that I have so far encountered. Even at that it was expensive to fix though.

Now the problem with my car is that it has a hard time starting. Any suggestions would be great. I thought the tune-up would have solved it, but it seemed to have gotten worse. I've even put additives to my gasoline, but so far it has done nothing to help start my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th August, 2004

12th Sep 2004, 08:45

I have a 95 Aurora and just got a letter in the mail for reimbursement for the fuel rail. Did you get that?

12th Nov 2004, 12:13

My '95 Aurora has had several small problems, but most to be expected with over 100K miles. It had a hard time starting, with stumbling at 45 MPH, and was told after a couple of trips to the dealer that the fuel injectors were to blame. 7 of 8 were bad. Had all replaced and have not had the problem again. I have not been made aware of the recall, but will check with my dealer today. Overall, I love the car, but it is pricey to maintain. Exhaust is next on my list! By the way, these things warp rotors like few others. Fortunately my brother does these for me!

30th Jan 2005, 16:40

My car has not had any problems with injectors, but it has had problems with fuel pressure regulator. The fuel pumps, even when you put factory GM ones in do not seem to hold pressure. Normally the pumps and regulators are a cause more than the injectors. Yes mt recall on the fuel lines was totally covered and no cost to me.

2nd May 2005, 07:27

I got a 97 Aurora. I did get the notice and have the fuel rail replaced without cost at dealer.

My Aurora has been great until the recent coolant leak. The radiator has been replaced, but still leaks about one gallon per 1000 miles. Any comment on it. Thanks.

28th Sep 2005, 17:01

The car needs a new fuel pressure regulator. Having a malfunction fuel pressure regulator prevents the car from starting.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 42 reviews