1995 Oldsmobile Aurora Reviews - Page 6 of 14

1995 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0 V8 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired134000 miles
Most recent distance134800 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

Unreliable, smooth riding family car

Faults:

I just purchased my 1995 Aurora about a month ago.

The air conditioner has went out, and blows out only hot air.

The car runs very warm, no matter the temperature outside.

Biggest problem, oil pan gasket leaks. Took car to the dealer and he said Oldsmobile came out with a different shaped oil pan because they were having too many problems with the old ones. Car leaks a quart of oil a day!

Car has trouble starting sometimes. Sometimes it will pop right off, other times it will take 30 seconds to start.

General Comments:

This is a nice car with a lovely interior.

It has great horsepower and is smooth riding.

However it is a headache maintaining the car in tip top shape.

I have only had this car for a month and still owe $3,000 on it. Can someone suggest to me what I should do? Sell it or fix it and keep it?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th September, 2005

5th Nov 2007, 10:25

At 13 years old, everything will start to go (even at under 95,000 mile)

The 95 Aurora has a North-star engine. The book says 11 hours to change the gasket. Dealers here quote $3500, although I have found a good shop that will do it for $1000 (including parts and oil). The engine has to come out to do the job. Cadilacs have the exact same propblem.

I love my 95 aurora - only had oil changes and tires until now. Also had the air conditioner go. Steering gear and pump, and also I am told the steering column is loose (the adjustable part) and no longer available through GM. Rust starting on the body.

You can put about $7000 to $9000 into it at this age, or purchase a 98 model in good shape for about $5000. Mine is one of the first off the line and so I am keeping it.

1995 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Toronado

Summary:

I would not buy another one!

Faults:

Power steering fluid leaks.

Transmission fluid leaks.

The radiator has been replaced and still leaks.

The power antenna does not work.

The CD player eats CD's and does not work.

This car gets bad gas mileage.

Doesn't start well in cold weather.

Very expensive to fix, and very difficult to find mechanics to work on the car.

The air conditioning pump is shot and needs to be replaced. Costing over $1000 I think I will have to live without it!

General Comments:

I bought this car in January and within the first week it wouldn't start. It turns out even though it has such a big battery it still isn't enough to turn the engine over in -20 degree weather, and with no block heater there was nothing I could do about it.

Half of the time it feels like the car is floating when I'm driving it, like I have no control over the car. I have absolutely no control in snow, it buries itself and will not move.

Now the car is spitting and sputtering and I can't find anyone to fix it, nor do I have the money to fix it. The engine is too big for the space that it is in making it difficult to get to anything that needs fixed.

The latest problem is after driving it for 5 miles the engine starts to steam and smoke. The radiator has a leak somewhere, but no one can seem to find exactly where it is coming from to fix it. I usually put in a gallon of antifreeze every two weeks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2005

16th May 2005, 12:20

Gee, did it never occur to you that buying a high-mileage 10 year old car that is loaded with all kind of electronic gadgets might not be the smartest choice?

But no, instead you blame the manufacturer for your own lack of foresight...

4th Dec 2008, 22:35

I just bought a 1995 model. It has 149,000 on the odometer.

It needed a starter which was replaced in about 15 minutes by me. Gee whiz, the factory delco starter only lasted 14 years.

It also needs a power steering line. That's regular upkeep in my book.

The radiator has a small leak. Go figure, it's been in Nebraska for 14 years. That's 56 different seasons.

My radio acts up at times, but some of the buttons are sticky. That is to be expected when buying a new car.

The motor is in need of a tune up, i.e. plugs, wires, air filter, PCV valve, oil change, transmission service, etc. Once again it is a used car, and the factory plugs and wires are the most likely suspect for the 8.2mpg I have averaged over the last 3 days.

The rear air shocks need to be replaced too. 149,000 miles on them and the previous owner was a salesman, so I know there were heavy loads in the trunk.

The fuel door solenoid is not functional on my car as well. But how many times has the gas tank been filled in the last 14 years?

My oil pan gasket leaks a little. I know what is required to replace both of the gaskets. I'm not worried about it because it doesn't drip on the ground.

The only thing that makes me uneasy is that my data center says I have a consistent 15.5 volts in the charging system. It is a little high, but not drastic.

Enough of my rant though. I was informed of what repairs need to be made on my car before I even considered buying it, and I was given a substantial reduction from book value on it.

I'll finish by saying that I rather enjoy my Aurora, and that I look forward to many happy motoring miles, and if it's 20 below zero I'm staying home!

17th Apr 2009, 23:14

"IT TOOK 15 MINUTES TO REPLACE THE STARTER!"

You have to remove the intake manifold to get to it! So unless you are the "million dollar man", you really need to research before you just start spouting stuff on here!

18th Apr 2009, 10:36

15 minutes to replace the starter? You must be the world's greatest magician!

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 42 reviews