2002 Oldsmobile Aurora Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2002 Oldsmobile Aurora 4.0 4.0 Northstar V8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Northstar V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

The best of GM = Not saying much

Faults:

Leaky head gasket, can smell antifreeze constantly.

Power steering leaks, last owner ran dry, constant steering pump noise.

Replaced bad dealer installed CV Axle.

Bought it with Fuel Gauge faulty, useless.

Replaced warped front break rotors.

Center console lid hinge broken.

Transmission SLAMS into reverse when cold.

The spider gears in the transfer are about to go, very loose.

Steering knuckle clunk every time I turn.

Oil leak.

Transmission leak.

Using cigarette lighter for my cell kills my radio reception for my favorite station over time.

General Comments:

This car loves to accelerate coming out of 35-45 mph, it's great for passing. Corners well. Good looks. Very comfortable.

Nice all around car to have if things worked.

I love GM and have owned several and have been burned by most for the short periods I have owned them. I know what I get with GM. So GM rides with my own tools and shop manuals, but this car is very hard to work on, I don't bother bringing my tools with this car. This is by far the best driving GM I have ever been in though, but little to anybody's surprize this near-luxury, big-ticket car just falls apart. Luckily I got this car with 99k only 3-4 years old for $3600, good depreciation there. Try buying HALF a wrecked, burned, flooded 2002 accord V6 for that much despite it selling for less when new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2006

9th Nov 2006, 08:10

So let me get this straight, you paid 3600$ for a 2002 Oldsmobile Aurora (Oldsmobile's flagship) with 99,000 (Obviously neglected/abused miles) and then blame GM quality when the car starts to fall apart...

5th Mar 2007, 16:25

Good point, it was probably a cab or something.

13th Mar 2007, 13:59

Cars, like everything else have a life span. Some you can drive hard and forever with little or no cost. Others you start making monthly payments to repair for as long as it takes to pay it off. Advise: If it starts out costing you, sell it and the the loss up front. It will be worth it in the long run to save the lost investments you will be faced with over time.

As for me, I drive a 1993 Chevy Cavalier I paid $300.00 for three years ago with 192,000 miles on it. I replaced the heater core and tires since then and have used it to drag trees and tow other - newer - cars to the junk yard. NO COMPLAINTS!

2nd Jul 2011, 08:40

Nightmare with this car. I bought an 01 Aurora for $5000 2 months ago. It started giving me problems within 2 days. It is still in the shop and is not tagged. $1800 later, and the GM DEALER couldn't find out what was causing the accelerator problem and hard shifting. Come to find out, only too late, there are numerous Aurora owners with the same problem, most of which could not be fixed, and had to dump the car and eat the loss. Repairs ranging from 1500 to new trannys to 4600. GM are not owning up to it -- they're giving 1500 vouchers towards the purchase of a new GM vehicle. For this reason, this is the last GM car I'll own. THE BITTERNESS OF LOW QUALITY LASTS LONG AFTER THE SWEETNESS OF LOW PRICE.

2002 Oldsmobile Aurora 3.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50666 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Aurora

Summary:

If Oldsmobile built their cars like the aurora, they'd still be in business

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong,except for a few lights that blew out in the dash.

General Comments:

This is my second aurora and I'm very happy with it. My first aurora was a '95 and had over 145,000 miles before the car was totaled by a red light runner. I really wanted the 4.0 but settled for the 3.5.This car rides, feels and looks like a much more expensive automobile.I've received lots of compliments on the cars good looks from friends. The only change I'll be making in the near future would be to convert to xenon headlights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2006

30th Jan 2006, 09:37

When GM dropped the Aurora, they goofed BIG TIME!!!

30th Jan 2006, 11:45

Yes, unfortunately GM has a long history of doing this with various models.

30th Jan 2006, 12:25

I agree. The Aurora was always a few steps in the right direction for GM. It was over-looked and under-appreciated.

30th Jan 2006, 13:51

I also think the Alero showed way too much potential to be dropped. Both should have been transferred to the Buick lineup.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews