27th Nov 2007, 15:51

Agree with all above posts; bought our '98 Bravada new and all was well until 50k, then:

*Fuel gauge stopped working which led to the fuel pump


*2 batteries

*a/c compressor


*serpentine belt

*side mirror motors

*ignition switch

*wiper motors

*driver door hinges

*NOW: ball joints.

When will it end?

1st Dec 2007, 12:53

I'm getting a 98 olds Bravada because it's an Escalade for the poor! As long as you service your vehicle it will run forever, and if this is not so, then GM does need a talking from its customers...

19th Dec 2007, 08:10

I'm am in the process of buying a 98 Bravada and reviews are telling me to stay away, but it isn't pushing me away. For one I drove it about 5 times before buying it and it runs great, plus the dealership I bought it from has another one that has a blown head gasket, and he said if anything goes wrong with it, he will replace the parts. I am hoping nothing goes wrong with it, because I love the truck as a whole, and I badly want to get it off the lot today and start driving it.

18th Jan 2008, 15:47

I have a 2000 Bravada with 198,000 miles and I love it!!! I have a friend with a '99 and he has had nothing but trouble with it, just like most of you '98 owners. After talking with him, I was worried that I'd have the same problems, but I think I've been very lucky!!! The only problems I've had were minor. Spark plugs, rotors, now a thermostat. It's a very good riding vehicle and is great in Wisconsin winters. I'm hoping for another 50-80K out of it.

21st Jun 2008, 13:56

I own a 1998 Oldsmobile Bravada and have about 198,000 miles on it. No tune up yet, K&N Air Filter, Mobil 1 Oil Changes and it gets 17 avg mph. Just got to do the traditional maintenance when it is due. I plan on another 100k.

11th Jul 2008, 21:59

I have a 98 with 112k. The transmission has slipped occasionally since I bought it at 72k miles. I had a transmission service done and it stopped for quite a while. The check engine light comes on intermittently, and I know the bank Oxygen Sensor needs to be replaced. Now the door is busted. It won't close, and looks like the latch on the body somehow pushed itself through the metal. I've always loved this truck, but it's strange too see how many similar problems I've had with some of you. Wiper motor, Serpentine Belt, etc. GM should be responsible to fix wide known problems to their vehicles, no matter how old they are when discovered.

14th Aug 2008, 21:29

I leased a new 1996 Bravada for two years and loved it.

Two years ago I looked for a used Bravada and found a 1998. Before buying, I negotiated several repairs and bought the truck with 95K for 6K. 20,000 miles later I've made various repairs totaling around $4,000, many of which were normal replacement repairs, such as fluid changes, tune up, battery, etc.

The truck runs great, tows my boat and handles snow very well.

A friend recently traded a 2001 Acura MDX because it needed $4,000 in repairs. Every vehicle model needs repairs, and every model has lemons. When you buy a used vehicle, you need to know whether the owner serviced it properly. If not, stay away from it; a Mercedes will break down without oil changes.

I think people don't service American cars like they do their Lexus, and this accounts for many of the horror stories later owners tell. Just my theory. I've owned all brands of cars, and American cars of the last ten years have been great. Just my opinion.

15th Aug 2008, 14:47

I have a 1998 Bravada that I purchased new. It now has almost 120,000 miles on it and has been an excellent vehicle in my opinion. I got 90,000 miles out of the factory brakes so I feel very lucky there. Outside of normal maintenance items the only 2 things that might be outside that realm would be the driver side window motor and the radiator tank cracking. I love my Bravada.

17th Aug 2008, 01:02

I am just recently buying an 1998 Bravada /w 107k on it and all the (limited) options. I have driven it and had the car checked by my mechanic. He tells me it is in great condition and says he sees them come in with over 250k on them with owners who service properly. I live in snow country and I certainly hope I will not have the problems you all speak of. I do have to point out that several of you bought the car knowing there were mechanical issues. If at all possible I would never want to buy a car from a dealer. Go private if at all possible. Oh and mine was going for 4k and I'm getting it for 3.5k.

7th Oct 2008, 09:32

I have a 1999 Olds Bravada that I've had for 2 years, and I swear I've put so much money in it, that I could've had a brand new one!!! This piece of crap has left me and my kids stranded on roads, highways, etc. so many times that I'm scared to even think about going out of town with it.

As far as regular servicing, I am nothing short of a firm believer on this route, but that still hasn't helped. Now, today all of a sudden, there's no heat, only cold air blows out when the heat is on. Every other week, no kidding, it's something else. By the way, every time I think I've replaced everything on this truck, I'm introduced to something else that's gone bad. I give up...

24th Nov 2008, 21:52

I am a Ford lover and I can't believe there are so many complaints about fixing routine things. I am not defending any car company, but you can never count oil changes and tune ups in the price of the vehicle. You have to do that with every vehicle.

And I can't understand 700 dollars for brakes? Are you freaking kidding. I have a Ford F-150 and I changed the brakes myself; it took 1 hour and it cost me $41.98.

Oh here is a tip... if you change your brakes regularly, the drums and rotors won't need changing every time.

2nd Mar 2009, 12:53

I have a 98 Bravada. I bought it with 116 k miles two years ago, and it now has 159 k miles on it and I have had to replace the water pump and belt.

I had to replace the hubs and brakes and upper balljoints on both driver and passenger side.

Replaced the control arm and pitman arm. Had the transmission fix because the third gear was slipping - that cost me almost $ 1900 dollars.

I paid $4000 for the car and have put almost $6000 into it. If I knew about the problems these have, I would have never bought it. But even after all the money that I dished out it's a nice truck to drive after everything has been fixed.

7th Apr 2009, 14:46

I own a 1998 Bravada, which I bought new. The first 50k miles were flawless, but then it was a never-ending story of expensive repairs. Three transmission system replacements; an alternator; rear differential; and leaks from EVERY valve and gasket on the vehicle. The air conditioning system stopped functioning. Windshield wipers stop working when it rains. Window seals leak. Now I use it only for hauling garden and waste materials. BTW: My 2006 Honda Pilot runs like dream.