1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass 403 from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 403 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired31700 miles
Most recent distance48700 miles
Previous carCadillac Brougham

Summary:

A True American Classic

Faults:

I have replaced:

Brake system.

Radiator and Thermostat.

Horn Relay.

General Comments:

I have never enjoyed a car so much.

Mine is loaded and even has the big 403 from the "98".

It's just the right size for American driving.

I know that my children are safe in it.

No airbags (Thank Heaven)

Easy to maintain and cheap to repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th June, 2002

1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 350 Rocket from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 350 Rocket Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance128514 miles
Previous carAMC Grand Wagoneer

Summary:

More dependable than tomorrow!

Faults:

Timing chain broke after 2 years of daily driving.

General Comments:

This car is a joy to drive! I look forward to getting in her every day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2002

1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Brougham 350 V8 4bbl from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 350 V8 4bbl Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carFord F100

Summary:

The best old luxury car

Faults:

I had to replace the water pump when I first purchased the car.

The interior is sun damaged with cracks and fading.

General Comments:

This car is a real gem and a real collectors car. I let mine sit for two years when I moved away, then came back home. I put a battery in it and pumped the gas and it started right up! Drove it around the block. That's how reliable it is.

The 350 V8 will intimidate those pesky Honda's with resonators on the exhaust. Plenty of torque to move the 2000+ lbs of steel.

The ride on this car is excellent, the steering turns with hardly the slightest effort from a single pinky. The seats are more comfy then any new plastic car I've driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2001

3rd Oct 2001, 15:51

Nice car, I also have a 1977 Olds Cutlass Supreme in mint shape with 39,000 original miles on it. Mint green outside and white bucket seats... nice to know others enjoy a 77 Olds.

15th Jun 2002, 08:44

I havwe a '77 Cutlass that just turned 48,000 miles. It is the best car I've ever owned. Now GM wants to drop Oldsmobile. If only they would statr building REAL cars again. Glad to see that some of us still know a good thing.

Craig Gilbert

3rd Oct 2002, 23:19

I Own a 1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass and it is my baby. I got after I graduated from High school and have had it ever since. That was in 1997 so it was officially an antique. It has been an awesome car, I am trying to fix it and restore it. I would not trade it for the World (Just a figure of speech). Any way I also enjoy reading about other lovers of the Cutlass!

Respectfully,

Sly Saldana.

8th Feb 2003, 13:33

I own a 1977 Olds. Cutlass Supreme Brougham with 59,000 miles on it. It's a real gem to drive. It has a V8 403 big block engine. I have know this car since it first driven off the showroom floor. I myself have driven for at least 30,000 miles. My friend who passed away left it to me in her will. What makes this car incredible is it starts up quickly no matter the weather or temp. It handles on the open road like a dream. Tons of power, melts the bumps, and never fails to impress everyone who rides in it.

If you could drive your family room down the highway for 500 miles it would be close to the experience of driving this fine automobile.

19th Sep 2004, 06:47

I own a 77 cutlass supreme mint green with 35000 miles on it. Every thing works. What an awsome ride this 27 year old car still gives. It rides and drives better than my 2000 Town Car. No kidding!!!

1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Brougham 350 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 350 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90125 miles
Most recent distance90575 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

An Earth-bound mystic flight!

Faults:

My throttle cable got stuck once after a rather "quick" take-off. Other than that, nothing.

General Comments:

I love my Olds! I got it for $1,000.00 at a used car lot, put a compact disc player in the dash and plan to have it painted soon back to the original color. It is a fantastic car and a pleasure to drive as well as ride in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2001

5th Jun 2001, 08:39

I also own a 1977 Cutlass Supreme. I think they are great cars also. I've never seen a car that can take such a good beating and still run like a CHAMP.

1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Coupe 350 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 350 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired162000 miles
Most recent distance216000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Buy one!

Faults:

A water pump, and not much besides more and more rust.

General Comments:

I wish these cars didn't rust so quick! I love it! I love intimidating and frightening Toyota and Honda drivers with my two tons of steel. Very reliable and comfortable!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2000

16th Jun 2001, 21:39

I own a 1977 Olds Cutlass Supreme. Bought it new in 1977, wish I had bought two and put one in storage. Got 135000 on car and it's parked now. Black outside with black interior. Only trouble I've had with it is the air conditioning & some body rust. Hope I can restore it when I retire (about eight years), love it and can't see getting rid of it.

8th Dec 2002, 22:57

I bought a 1977 olds cutlass about 2 years ago. this car is awesome. I love it. it olny had 60.000 miles on it when I got it and have had no problems at all with it. wish I had another. this car looks showroom new and just love the way it rides.

30th Apr 2003, 09:17

I bought an 1977 olds cutlass supreme. It's a beauty with no rust and 32000 miles original.

Will.

30th Dec 2009, 10:44

I just got my Cutlass. I've had three of them from 77 to 76. I paid two hundred for the car. It has 86 thousand miles on it.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 16 reviews