1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass Salon Coupe 350 from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 350 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance161000 miles

Summary:

A nice disco cruiser

Faults:

Dash cracked.

Clock stopped working.

Seats are wearing some.

Needed an compressor and A/C recharge.

Trans rebuilt.

Engine partially rebuilt with new rings, valve seals, carb rebuild.

Alternator died, starter.

General Comments:

A nice car; easy to look at and distinctive.

Interior layout is nice, deep set gauges are easy to read.

Waterfall grille looks cool.

Not the best on gas; if you're after that, go for next year's downsized Olds.

Power is OK for the car.

Interior is very comfortable, with bucket seats and console.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2005

2nd Jun 2011, 05:11

I have a 1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass Salon 2 door coupe. I was told the motor size was 455 cubic. Did they come with this size motor? And there are 3 of this model in all Australia left, can you please give me some feedback if this is true?

And last, please can you give me a rough idea what this car is worth? It has low klms and very original, excellent condition all around. I've never had any problems with it.

My email is charlie.elias@2three.com.au. Please send me some information on this car. Thank you.

1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 350 Rocket from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 350 Rocket Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles

Summary:

Americana

Faults:

Surface rust.

Rear bumper completely rusted out inside.

Suspension is too soft. A ton of body roll.

General Comments:

My Great Uncle was the orinal owner. He gave me the car. I had been trying to get him to sell it to me for the last 8 year.

It has been garaged and regularly serviced since day one.

Absolutely no problems (general maintaince is not considered a problem).

Local body shop is taking care of the rust and laying down primer.

350 will be rebuilt to add a lot more power. Stock does not do it for me.

A stiffer suspension will be installed to correct the body roll. Taller rear springs will lift the rear up.

When I'm finished the car will once again be considered a true muscle car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2005

14th Mar 2005, 10:05

I agree with the above comment. Even if you put a 455 in it (let alone a small block), a '77 Cutlass is too big and too heavy to be a true muscle car.

All you do by insisting otherwise is to dilute the definition of the term until anybody with an eight cylinder engine thinks he/she has a "muscle car". Then it becomes meaningless.

30th Apr 2005, 00:23

I drive a 77 Cutlass daily. 200K miles and running fine. While she can still pass damn near anything, but a gas station, I wouldn't consider her a muscle car. Built for comfort, not built for speed.

10th Jul 2014, 03:40

How many MPG do you get? I LOVE my '77 Cutlass S 4 door! It is a dream to drive! It's not about speed, it's just a great ride!

1977 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme brougham 403 from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 403 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired57800 miles
Most recent distance59800 miles

Summary:

If they could improve the gas mileage WOW!!!

Faults:

Nothing to really note. The clock stopped working (typical) and the Alternator light kept coming on even after replacing the alternator. So the bulb was removed. I hear it was possible a short in the ground wire.

General Comments:

This car is incredible to cruise in. It moves like oil on Ice. Extremely smooth!! The V8 403 engine (thou a gas hog) makes the power come on like nothing else is of much concern.

Too truly know what its like to drive one. Seat in your front room on your couch/sofa and pretend your driving cross country. That's the feeling!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th March, 2004

20th May 2005, 10:19

FYI: The bullet-proof Olds 403 cid was also used in the '77-'79 Pontiac Trans AM. GM stopped using it in 1980 a poor decision and a real shame.

26th May 2005, 11:46

The 403 was nothing more than a boat anchor. It's glory was only 185 horsepower and there isn't much aftermarket for them. The 455 and 350 Rockets were the good Oldsmobile engines.

27th Nov 2008, 08:43

The problem with the 403 was low compression and tiny intake ports. Due to the low compression I've seen many people put performance intakes on these motors superchargers and dyno close to 500 HP.

11th May 2014, 16:49

Not everyone is like you. For most people 185 horsepower and huge amounts of torque - well over 300 pound/feet in most applications - are just fine. With the added benefit that low-stressed underpowered torquey motors hooked up to relatively high gearing last a long, long time. So, again, the 403 (or the similar 307 I had in many a car) are just fine for the non-drag-racer types that make up 99% of the cheap-used-car buying public.

12th May 2014, 08:34

To be brief, the 403 was nothing compared to the 455.

13th May 2014, 16:08

Well yeah, one was a big block and the other was a small block, but both were reliable.

11th Jul 2014, 17:29

I didn't know the 77 Olds Cutlass also had a big block engine.

In my younger years I purchased a 76 Olds Cutlass Supreme Brougham, which was one of the better cars on the road at that time. It had a rare big 455 cubic engine with a lot of power for that point in history. The car had black velour seats, which were like sitting on your favorite couch while driving. The body was also black with a black full vinyl roof; it was a real eye catcher. I would often have people complimenting me on what a beautiful car I drove.

Selling that car was one of the biggest mistakes I ever made. I've owned many nice cars over the years, but the 76 Olds was special to me.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 16 reviews