1984 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1984 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 307 V8 from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 307 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

I've never had a better car in my life

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car. That is the reason I am so satisfied with it.

General Comments:

The car has top end,but won't burn the tires easily.

You have to use high octane in order to keep the engine from making a clanking noise whenever you hit the gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 2004

9th Feb 2007, 22:32

The clanking noise you describe is called timing knock, pinging, or spark knock, depending on who you talk too. If you want to feed it the cheaper stuff, back off the timing a few degrees. The timing mark is on the crank, and with a timing gun, you could do it yourself. Or, take it to a shop and it should cost you about $30. You'll save that on high octane gas in the first month. :)

1984 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme B 3.8L 231 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8L 231 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac 1997 Pontiac Grand A

Summary:

A very nice car

Faults:

Well, when I first got the car, the shocks were wasted, and they were replaced for around $200.00.

The smog pump went bad right around 114,000 miles, and since it still has to pass e-check, I had to get it replaced.

The front left and right wheel bearings went bad at 120,000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall, this is a very nice, and classy car, and if anything goes wrong with the car, the parts are fairly cheap.

The interior is very roomy, and the seats are very comfortable. Everyone who gets in my car always comments on the seats and how nice they are.

I am going to get the car painted in the spring, because the paint job it had is pretty faded, and there is little rust on the rear left panel, but that just takes a few days, and some dedication.

This car rides very smoothly, and I would recommend this car to anyone, who wants a "ghetto" look, or a old school look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2004

1st May 2006, 13:20

This is a very good fast car!

22nd Aug 2008, 01:13

I drove a '84 Brougham for almost 12 years. Bought it new in high school and drove it until it was retired by a dump truck with bad driving skills. Best seats ever put into a car and it was a very quiet, smooth riding machine.

A little low on power compared to the V8 models, but I went 80k on it before I found out that the dealer hadn't been replacing the spark plugs on any scheduled tune-ups!! Not many 80's motors could duplicate that kind of even burn.

Just avoid the metric transmission or expect to rebuild it every 40k miles.

1984 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 2.31 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.31 V6 Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102300 miles
Most recent distance192000 miles

Summary:

A really reliable car and a classic

Faults:

The 1st thing to go out was the timing chain, I had to take the whole front of the motor apart to replace it.

The next thing to break was the transmission. I had to get that rebuilt and that hit me for about $500.00.

I got hit in the parking lot of the Post Office and my car is now blue with a yellow door.

The motor finally blew on me and I am in the process of replacing it with a 5.0 V8.

On the inside, I have no headliner.

The carpet is coming up on the back, driver's side.

The seats aren't worn, but could use some serious re-upholstering.

General Comments:

This was my first car and a great fixer-upper so I am trying to be very patient.

I have the original bench seats and the next project after I paint her is to re-do the interior, piece by piece.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2003

1984 Oldsmobile Cutlass Hurst/Olds 307 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 307 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70100 miles
Most recent distance71600 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Rallye 350

Summary:

One rare Oldsmobile

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong with the car, except the headliner is starting to show its age, and is falling off the ceiling.

The under-hood light wire has disconnected, and every time you try to re-connect it, a fuse will blow. However it's not that big of a deal.

General Comments:

This is the coolest car I've ever owned. It's only got 71000 original miles, and looks as if it had just rolled off the line. I got all papers from Cars & Concepts (the place where the Hurst is put together, and it's number 2455 of 3500, and rolled off the line mid February 1984). Everything is original.

The tires needed to be replaced, but I put the correct Goodyear Eagle GT's back on them, and a new muffler, but it still sounds original, but with a little more rumble when idling. And of course the popular Lightning Rod shifters. Which can make you shift-on-command when you use them.

Plus one other cool feature about the H/O is that it came with a factory shift-kit. So far I've only taken it to a few shows, but it still turns heads.

The car handles like a dream. It's comfortable when driving down the highway, but corners like a Trans-Am. However the performance is sluggish. I shouldn't complain, but it's a little slow on take-off. I hope to change that by little adjustments without messing up the originality of it. It truly is a rare jewel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

24th Mar 2008, 00:07

Hi all. I have my Hurst/Olds for 3 years now, 3rd owner, original documents, had to replace some wiring in the engine bay. Just put in a new oil pan, replaced the stereo, put an amp in the trunk. #2365 of 3500. Put it back to factory specs. T tops with the T tops cover in the trunk. Only thing I need are the Lightning Rod brushes to put it back to factory correct. All documented, up to 93000 miles, park it it in the winter. Very fast off the red light, got caught by the cops fishtailing, showing off, I got a warning. Got lucky only paid $9500.00 for it, put maybe $3000.00 it, stereo wiring, oil pan & got new tires, & a new headliner. Fun car.

15th Nov 2009, 19:14

Purchased a 1984 Hurst Olds about 8 months ago... Was one of my favorites back in the 80's and could not afford one back then... Well got a hold of one here in Florida, and reading your post, I too am interested in finding out what the number off the production line it is...

Bought this car from a guy who owned the car for several years... until one night a drunk driver hit it while it was parked... bought the car... damaged, and with a little help from a couple of old school body guys and an excellent mechanic... and myself... we started putting it together...

It is almost done... and yes I'm keeping it... being 50 now it took 26 years to get one I can afford and I'm not letting it go... please email me back at sfmrepos@aol.com.

15th May 2011, 15:29

"However the performance is sluggish. I shouldn't complain, but it's a little slow on take-off"

- Actually not much of a problem. Just rip out that little 307 & the trans that's already in there & replace them with a 455 & a TH-400 trans. And the 455 will need a larger radiator. You can get parts at http://www.mondellotwister.com/ for building the 455 to over 500 HP.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 11 reviews