1988 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1988 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit Diesel

Summary:

Solid, comfortable, reliable car

Faults:

Big ones:

Ignition control module (87,000 miles).

Alternator (94,000 miles).

CV boot (105,000 miles).

Blower motor (112,000 miles).

Radiator (117,000 miles).

Ball joint (125,000 miles).

General Comments:

Good reliable car. Starts easily in the winter *IF* the ignition system is in good shape. And that's a BIG IF. :)

Performance is nil at only 98 horsepower, but gas mileage is outstanding. Very comfortable, quiet car. Good for long trips.

If care is exercised, these cars can last well over 200,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2000

27th Jun 2001, 11:55

The thing on the hood got ripped off the 3rd day I bought one.

1988 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carFord Granada

Summary:

It's definitely not my father's Oldsmobile

Faults:

Rear brake callipers (2x).

Ignition.

Door handles (2x).

Paint recall.

General Comments:

This car looks, feels, and drives like a new car after 12 years. Almost everything is still original. It still looks stylish. Engine is very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2000

15th Mar 2001, 13:24

I own a 1988 cutlass supreme and have had all the problems you marked on. I've owned it since 1997 when it only had 135,000 miles. As of yesterday it has 217,000 miles. It wasn't until two months ago when I finally had the transmission go out. I also recently put a new engine in it. It was beginning to struggle getting up hills and really slow taking off from stop lights. That was the factory engine which had 206,000 miles. Pretty incredible I thought.

I also noticed that on some of the comments, people said they'd definitely buy another car made by Oldsmobile, and I say why not keep the old one they'll go forever.

2nd Apr 2001, 16:18

You are right about the comments I will definitely keep my 1988 Cutlass Supreme. But why just have 1 Oldsmobile when you can have 2.

22nd Aug 2001, 01:40

I too have an 1988 Cutlass Oldsmobile and my last car was also a Ford Granada (1977)...what are the chances of that?

:-)

Tony.

2nd Sep 2004, 15:54

I am a new driver, just turned 18. I was in the market for Camaro's, but upon first glance of a Silver 88 Cutlass Supreme I quickly changed my mind, and proceeded to purchase it 2 days later. I've been driving it for 2 solid months, and am up to 141K miles, it runs great and looks stylish. I raised the car, added a sound system, and put 14in rims onto my 54 magnum tires. This car will seem to last.

20th Oct 2004, 06:42

I have a 1988 cutlass supreme, and she is a trip. Mine has a lot of problems leaking oil. It also isn't as fast taking off from a stop sign. The transmission is about to go I think. It has abvout 203,000 miles on it right now. But still in good condition.

1988 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera International Series 3.8 SFI V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 SFI V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

A dependable piece of machinery from the guys at GM

Faults:

EGR valve doesn't work (doesn't affect performance of the car).

Rear brakes lock up when it's damp out e.g. raining.

General Comments:

I'm very pleased with my car. It's pretty stylish for a Cutlass Ciera and it's in peak condition, both mechanically and cosmetically.

The 3.8L V6 comes in handy when accelerating or passing on the highway, it really feels and drives like a V8... and it gets good mpg. However, it's a bit sluggish when accelerating from a dead stop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2000

20th Jan 2001, 19:20

A great car to drive and own.

2nd Jan 2005, 15:54

Just bought an 88 Ciera 2 months ago and problems aside it's a great car. The alternator has just gone bad (bearings) and I just decided to let the leaking "heater core" go until the weather warms up... our rear breaks also lock up on the passenger side when it rains... can freak you out if you're not careful. Ron of Baltimore, Maryland.

1988 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera 2.8l from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.8l Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired186000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carFord LTD

Summary:

A moderately comfortable car

Faults:

Right tie rod.

Poor headlight assembly.

General Comments:

For what I purchased the car for, it certainly is a more than adequate vehicle. Just waiting to see how it responds to a Canadian Winter!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2000

1988 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera Brougham 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

A great car for the price, that is more than meets the eye

Faults:

Various power steering problems, alternator, now has a sticking valve and a scorched cylinder wall.

General Comments:

A great car, always there and reliable. Very quick car with the 3.8 V-6. Not real fancy, but rides well and will keep up with anything else on the road. The car also tows quite well for a midsized family car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2000

1988 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
Engine and transmission 2.8
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10

Faults:

Cruise control has not worked sinced we owned the car. At 170,000 we replaced the alternator. The left signal doesn't switch off after turning. This car is still running very well!

General Comments:

An ideal mid-size sedan. Great visibility.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 1999

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 31 reviews