1988 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1988 Oldsmobile Cutlass Calais 2.3L inline 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3L inline 4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

No matter how rich you are, you will never be able to afford the constant repairs. F-

Faults:

Everything went bad with that car, starting from interior components to the drivetrain.

The cheap rubber linings on the doors and windows corroded away like toilet paper in water.

I had to rebuild the engine and the transmission.

I had to replace the rack and pinion steering as well as the brakes and booster.

The power windows and doors were so poorly constructed that the windows barely made it up to close and sometimes the right window fell inside the door.

The performance was very lousy and the brakes were very weak.

When the crankshaft cracked inside the engine while I was on the freeway at 65mph I could take it no more. The next day I took the piece of crap car to the junkyard. Worst ever experience with a car.

General Comments:

The engine is quick but very unreliable. Very bad passing.

The brakes are soft and weak.

Lousy ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd February, 2001

10th Jun 2001, 22:16

Try one with a 3.3 V6, and you may think different. My car hauls serious booty, and never EVER let me down even after 270,000 Km!

7th Jul 2001, 22:23

I have an 88 cutlass calais with a 3.1 4 cylinder and I have never had trouble with it and it hauls major ass (it can take any car or truck at my school). Plus it has a nice comfortable ride.

1988 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100760 miles
Most recent distance101100 miles

Summary:

The best car ever made!

Faults:

We had some trouble with the mass air flow sensor and a water pump. Both very easy fixes. Just a day in the garage.

General Comments:

The best car I have ever driven. The car may have a small engine but boy can it go. Gas mileage is cheap due the small engine and 440 T4 tranny with overdrive. It is a sporty car but not too sporty (not like those imports). It is a solid car and I will have it for the rest of my life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2001

29th Aug 2001, 12:05

I also have a 1988 Cutlass Supreme. I bought it new and have put 185,000 miles on it. I love this car and am looking forward to turning 200,000 miles!

3rd Mar 2002, 14:03

We've just brought one of these back from the dead. It's a real smooth ride, but because of all of its wear, there are a lot of electrical problems that we need to work out. Your average Joe can fix this car with no problems. Ours has got about 175000 miles on it. Almost purrs like a cat. Maybe one with a slight cold.

29th Jun 2004, 15:33

I just picked up the same thing, only I got it from a rich family who barely used it. $1000 bought a really nice condition one with only 57000 original miles. The only problem I have is the fuel line (leak). I'm in the process of fixing it. other than that I love the options, digital dash, everything about them are nice.

17th Jan 2005, 07:53

I have a 1988 Cutlass Supreme Sl, its the greatest car I have ever driven. I mean I have driven about 43 other cars, but this one is great. I have a 143,000 miles on it and have had to replace very little in parts, and such. And god as my witness I have gotten it up to 153 mph. I was shocked. It has a 2.8 Multi-port FI and My father and I have done a few things here and there to make it quick, but nothing that cost more than $30.00, every year I also have the fuel injectors cleaned with heavy duty industrial fuel injector cleaner, and its never driven in the winter. I have replaced the following:

Converter, Control Module, Circuits, Calipers, Oil ring, Alternator, and than your every day replacement parts such as brakes, fuses, and so on...

And just so every one knows my car is in storage because I lost my license, I got pulled over doing 138.06 mph and the judge told me when I get my license back I should get a geo metro or something.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 31 reviews