1989 Oldsmobile Cutlass Cierra International 3.8 V-6 from North America


Extreme luxury, high performance and a pleasure to own


Not one thing, in fact this car saved my life in a recent accident and was restored to its original beauty. This car was previously owned by my father who bought the car new. He had no trouble other than the usual tires and batteries.

General Comments:

I love my car!!! If you can find one get it and hang on to it. It gets great gas mileage, is highly dependable, comfortable and luxurious. I highly recommend this car for those who want the luxury without an outrageous price. The car is a winner!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2000

24th Mar 2001, 23:08

I to own this car man, it is quick and dependable, but every once in a while it just dies all of a sudden, but very rarely. I paid $850 for this car and it runs like a champ. This has been the most reliable car I have ever owned.

1989 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera 2.8 from North America


Laugh now... but I'd probably beat ya' in a race!



For $100 I bought this great automobile from a Chevy dealership and have not looked back since. The car is really fun, it still has plenty of power and all that has had to be done is to get new tires.

The 2.8 engines have to be one of the greatest engines ever assembled by GM!!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2000

24th Jan 2001, 12:03

I own a '91 Cutlass Ciera and it has a 145,000 miles on it and is still running good! The only things on the car that I disliked were the options... If the car had more options it would be the favourite of everyone...

12th Jun 2001, 10:06

I have an '89 Cutlass Calais. It has the 3.3 rather than the 2.8. I'll race ya! :)

20th Jul 2001, 21:23

I just sold my 89 Ciera... that was the best damn car EVER! That 2.8 V6 was hammered on by my dad, my bro and me for over 8 years and still kept giong. We finally sold it with 205,000 miles and still had a lot of life left in her... to be exact, it still beat Hondas at the street light!

16th Jul 2004, 12:13

We have an 89 Cutlas and just lately we have been having problems with the steering column locking up. The key will eventually turn, but you have to play around with it a lot and kind of jerk the steering wheel. Has anyone else had this problem?

1989 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera SL 3.3L V6 from North America


A car that'll never let you down


Had the radiator replaced at around 140K miles, and the starter around the same time. Other than that, no major probelms.

General Comments:

An excellent vehicle. The 3.3L V6 still gets very good fuel economy. The car has excellent power and a great ride, especially for its age. The tachometer and other (oil, temp, volts) gauges are one of the car's best features. Perfect for anyone who wants reliable, powerful, basic transportation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2000

1st Feb 2001, 11:04

Yes, very true all that was said. I also own this model and mine now has almost 197,000 miles on it. Oldsmobiles last a long time!! Although I did have to replace the timing chain recently cause it was making a noise, but that is normal right?!

It wasn't until 160,000 miles that the first tranny went, so I thought that was really good.

Other repairs are just minor ones such as alternator, etc. Otherwise, at almost 197,000 this car runs great and that 3.3L V6 is still quicker than heck!!

17th Dec 2001, 16:01

Oldsmobiles will last long if you put a lot of money in them. They don't ride even close to nice. When you drive it, it doesn't feel like you have struts on at all. I have put a lot of money in a car that's only worth five dollars, no, I'll give it the benefit of the doubt, ten dollars.