1989 Oldsmobile Cutlass SL from North America


A complete waste of money


I have had to get a new lower ball joint on the front right tire.

Plus I have had to get a new breaks for the car.

Lately the digital dashboard has been dieing on me.

And then for the past few days the accelerator has been sticking causing my car to either speed up when I don't want it to, or causing it to stick at one speed.

General Comments:

The car is nothing but trouble.

The digital dashboard is nothing but trouble.

All the electronics on it are crappy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th April, 2002

1989 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 2.8 L from North America


A wonderful car, stylish, smooth and comfortable!


I bought this car after everything that could break down already had! So this car now has a rebuilt transmission, rebuilt engine, new computer, brakes, etc etc in it. The rebuilt engine has only 45,000 KM on it.

The only complaints I have is on the interior. The dash seems to buckle and pop out the heat duct, and the interior trim needs to be secured since the snaps are broken.

General Comments:

I love this car!

It is really good on gas, has great pick up and is a very stylish car. My model has a sunroof and power everything! I love the ride, style and comfort of this car.

The previous owners of my car must have loved it too, the car looks like it is brand new!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2002

1st Apr 2003, 17:59

I love my Oldsmobile! I have had this car for over 6 years now, and I wouldn't take all the tea in china for it... the only problems I have had out of this car was the oxygen sensor, it took awhile, but we finally figured out that was the problem, and my interior is coming down from the top, and like everyone else's my dashboard is coming up, other than those few minor things I love my car!!!

1989 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera 2.8 from North America


Great, almost armor-like vehicle


I have not had problems with the car. So far I've kept it maintained.

General Comments:

The Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera is very powerful, quick, and sturdy. This car has saved my life many times, with its sturdy body, as well as its great handling. I've been hit with a utility van, a Dodge Caravan, and even bumped by my sister's Volkswagen. This car has a hard time denting. Sometimes I feel like I am in an armored vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2001

1989 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera V6 from North America


It was worth what I paid for it


The car is leaking water from somewhere.

It shakes a little at 75 MPH

General Comments:

This car has been beat up and still runs like a champ.

It may only have a V6 but this baby has some pickup and go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th July, 2001

1989 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme International 2.8 liter multiport injection from North America


A tight car for everyone


The engine had to be replaced due to the previous owner running the car without coolant (cracked block).

Replaced the rack and pinion.

Replaced the power steering reservior and pump (leak).

Replaced calipers, rotors and brake pads.

Replaced struts.

Replaced speakers.

General Comments:

The dash board is entirely digital, it is really cool.

The twelve way adjustable seats are great.

The car is very roomy in the front, but lacks leg room in the back seats.

All seats are bucket seats.

The design of the car was way ahead of its time.

Even though it's only a 2.8L, it has a lot of power to go with it.

Since Oldsmobile kept the same basic type of setup in a lot of the Cutlass's, the parts are easy to find.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2001

1989 Oldsmobile Cutlass Calais S 3.3L V6 from North America


Wicked car!


Right side transaxle snapped due to abuse.

TPS and MAF sensor failures.

General Comments:

Personally, this is the best car I have ever driven! She kills any other car that even thinks of taking me off the line, rides like a caddy, and looks great!

I love this car so much, that I am thinking about restoring it totally. Too bad it is in the "Family Car" genre, because this is definitely my sports car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2001

22nd Jun 2002, 20:17

I have an '89 Cutlass Calais SL with the V6 3.3L that has ALOT of power! It's the fastest V6 I have ever seen! I can kill other cars that think they are faster than me. It's so cool to see the drivers' faces after I beat them at the red light!

It looks like a sedan, everyone think it's a family car, but damn, it has power in it!

Finally, it's a sport car for me!

I went to see a movie on Friday with 3 of my friends, (4 in all with me). With all of these people in the car, my Calais can burn rubber with the tires and beat a 1991 Honda Civic Si Hatchback off the red light!

Hehe, I love this car soo much!

I think I will restore it too, and try to upgrade the engine to have better performance!

25th Dec 2002, 23:25

I have a 1990 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera SL Sedan. This is the best car I have ever driven even though it has a fault in the temperature sensor. I even installed a novelty car horn that plays "La Cucaracha" with 5 horns!

I barely even tap the accelerator and away I go!

17th Jun 2004, 13:46

If I didn't own a calais myself, I don't think I would believe these stories, but I do so I know they are true. I have a 1989 cutlass calais (international) with a 2.3 quad 5-speed manual and took a 1996 firebird (v8) to school. it was sick. that guy was so mad, but oh well. calais is "The most underrated car ever!"

10th Mar 2007, 09:47

I have a '90 Cutlass Ciera SL. I'm 17 and it's my 3rd car and the best one yet. It has so much power, even more than my New Yorker with a V8. I love this car. If you can find one, buy it and keep it.