1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass SL 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Gets me where I need to go

Faults:

Bad intake gasket, timing chain, EGR valve, brake lights, turn signal, spark plug fell apart, lights flicker, other people can unlock with keyless entry, shake at all speeds, fog/driving lights always a problem.

General Comments:

All in all, it's just a GM car that has high miles. Not the first; also had a 94 Grand Prix, 2x 84 Olds Cutlass Supremes, an 81 Cutlass, and a 91 Cavalier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2004

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL 3.1L SFI from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1L SFI Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired114225 miles
Most recent distance114250 miles

Summary:

Everything well built. Top notch vehicles

Faults:

I have not had the car that long.

A new Fuel Regulator was put in for free when I got the car.

A parking light was out and was also fixed for free.

Otherwise no problems.

General Comments:

I have always really liked Cutlass Supremes. Out of all the cars I have looked at and test driven, the Cutlass is the best in everything.

They handle very well, acceleration is great, good gas mileage, they also look very cool, this is one of their best features. They are just simply overall really well-built great cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2003

21st Jul 2004, 16:54

I have an Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme LS and I have had a few problems with it, but nothing major.

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance106500 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

A perfect balance of performance and comfort

Faults:

One of the fuel injectors had to be replaced recently.

Rear suspension is sagging.

General Comments:

I love this car. It was worth every penny of what I paid for it.

The car is very quick for a car of its size.

The car handles nearly flawlessly.

This car is beautiful and gets attention wherever I take it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2003

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass SL 3.1 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85450 miles
Most recent distance98703 miles

Summary:

A car that will always take care of you!

Faults:

When I first got the car the struts were bad.

The rotors were warped.

The Dealer fixed everything while under warranty.

The rotors warp to quick.

The brakes wear out to quick.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable.

It has a lot up power.

These cars have been in my ever since 1991 and we have never had any problems what so ever, Everybody loves them.

The car handles very good and runs smooth.

Wish they would start making them again.

People in my town that have them don't want to get rid of them because they are the most reliable cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2003

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL 3.1 li V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 li V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

Good looks, bad comfort

Faults:

59,000 Rear Spring (warranty)

62,000 Gas Tank (warranty)

74,000 Tie Rod End (warranty)

82,000 Electrical problem (warranty)

92,000 Rack & Pinion, Belt tensioner, Akterbatir, Power door lock motor.

Drivers side seat ripped and shot when I got rid of the car.

General Comments:

As you can tell if it was not for the extended warranty I purchased with the car it would have cost me a fortune. Overall I was happy with the car. Although it was not very comfortable (like sitting on a rock) I really liked the way it looked. It was black with Grey leather interior. It was a 2 door so it looked really sporty. I never was impressed with the preformance from the 3.1, it sounded like it really had to struggle on hills and acceleration but it did prove to be a reliable engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2003

14th Jan 2003, 18:31

Your engine was obviously out of tune, or the timing was off. My GM cars with the 2.8 and 3.8 V6's have given me better power (or just as good) as most V8's I've owned.

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass SL 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Needs to be updated bad

Faults:

Well I received this car for my 18th birthday. I was excited because I was driving a 1982 Ford Fairmont with NO air or radio. It was so old it had grass growing out of the gas tank.

I have enjoyed my Olds, but it does not perform as well now as it did when I first got the car. The seats feel like you are sitting on blocks of cement. The back seat, oh my, let's say I would be more comfortable in the truck of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd December, 2002

18th Jun 2004, 09:39

Why would you ever be riding in the back seat of your own car anyway?

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 25 reviews