1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews - Page 3 of 6

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Too expensive to maintain!

Faults:

The starter, alternator, battery, serpentine belt, fuel pump ALL went out around 100,000 miles. It ended up costing around $1800 or so for all of it.

Not to mention that the intake gasket needed to be replaced shortly after. Costing $600.

Brakes needed work ending up costing $900 but I think that was my fault.

General Comments:

The car looked great and ran smoothly. If you can forget the fact that adding coolant constantly was a must or the car would overheat.

Brakes were extremely costly. I think that is with all cutlass models.

If you have or are thinking of purchasing one of these cars, I would be sure to get it checked out professionally, and I would be prepared to spend a lot of money because as soon as that 100,000 mark you get to spend and keep spending. So it is a good car if you like to do that. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th February, 2006

12th Mar 2006, 19:18

Sounds to me that you got a car with poor maintenance from its original owner and ANY car will fall apart if neglected. Yes some fixes can be expensive, I own a 1995 cutlass That I bought for $1800 and all I have had to do in past year is replace brakes ($200), replace axel ($115), replaced A wheel bearing ($135) total $350. The car has started n ran perfect for a year n looks great. But it was well maintained through the years as detailed by the written records and it was undercoated every year. I love my Cutlass and brag it up every time I can.

29th Mar 2006, 20:49

I appreciate the feedback you left me. You are probably right. I guess it's hard to tell when buying a used vehicle whether you're getting what you paid for. In my case I paid for what I got. Don't get me wrong the car was beautiful and drove very smoothly. I just thought it was insane how everything seemed to go out at the same time and how it cost so much. Thanks again.

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL Series 2 3.1 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Fast, well equipped and reliable!!

Faults:

The only thing that I have had to replace is the rear passenger strut, very inexpensive. Other than that, nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This is a very well built car. The nicest GM car I have ever owned. Mine is dark green. It has every accessory that they offered for that car. It has power windows, power door locks, power moon roof, keyless entry, AM/FM/CD/cassette, black leather interior, 16 inch alloy wheels, rear spoiler with LED brake light, dual exhaust.

This car has some serious power coming from its 3.4 liter V-6. When I want to, it can screech the tires and lay some rubber down.

I am still in high school, and this is my first car, and I have raced some of the kids in their Hondas and Acuras, but my car blows them away every time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2006

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL 3.1L V6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Great car... it's a shame I can't get any better gas mileage!!!

Faults:

Throttle cable snapped shortly after I bought the car. Fixed cable for $15 with a used cable from a junk yard. (4 out of the 5 cars at the junk yard had broken throttle cables) New cost is only $40 and it's a really easy fix.

Driver's seat is showing some wear near the door.

Power steering pump is really putting a pull on the car in cold weather.

Best tank of gas has been about 23Mpg!

Tires were leaking. Shop blamed it on a leak around the valve stem. Tires hold air now, but the gas mileage still is horrible for this size car and motor.

General Comments:

Car has great features for the money!

Black leather interior and dual climate control aren't features you expect on a car I only payed $3000 for.

Car has lots of power and looks nice with the ground effects and allow wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2005

9th Sep 2008, 05:57

Before gas mileage! Consider the way you drive - most that know horsepower don't know mileage.

16th Jul 2009, 10:05

Family owns one as a spare car... 89000km from the farm LOL..

Gas mileage isn't that bad and depends mostly on your driving.

My main car is a 2002 Elantra that gets 520KM out of 45 Liters..

But the Cutlass isn't that bad when you keep it below 2500RPM.

17th Jul 2009, 05:46

I agree with the others. Consider these two statements from the reviewer:

1) "Car has lots of power."

2) "Gas mileage horrible."

Hmm, could the broken throttle cable, the determination that the car has lots of power, and the horrible gas mileage all be related?

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 25 reviews