1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass SL 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired108610 kilometres
Most recent distance126200 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A competent family sedan that is average in all respects, and superlative in none

Faults:

At 109,000 kilometres, the seals on the head gasket wore out and had to be replaced (dealer fixed it for free)

At 117,000 kilometres (72,000 miles) the alternator had to be replaced, and the rear brakes replaced.

The power antenna has never worked properly.

At 126,000 kilometres (78,000 miles) the ignition tumbler wore out and had to be replaced.

The daytime running lamps no longer work.

General Comments:

The Cutlass' 3.1 V6 is very quiet while cruising along, but sounds stressed when accelerating. It is slightly underpowered.

The transmission upshifts smoothly, but downshifting can be rough, however.

The air conditioner cools down the cabin in a snap, and the heater defogs the windows just as quick in the coldest weather.

The front seats could use a bit more thigh support, but for the most part are comfortable for any length. The rear bench seat is too soft for true comfort though.

The Cutlass' steering and suspension is more tuned for comfort than performance. The steering feels numb and heavy at slow speed, but things liven up a bit at higher speeds, which is where the Cutlass feels most at home. The suspension is a bit soft, but the ride is quite smooth and quiet.

Gas mileage is typical of any midsize vehicle, not great, but that is to be expected of a large vehicle.

Overall, my Cutlass' reliability has been good, excellent or superb, but good. I would recommend the Cutlass to anyone who needs a reliable second car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2002

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL Series-ll 3.1 SOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1 SOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

A car you can always count on

Faults:

The alternator has been replaced three times, twice at 41k miles, and again at 72k miles.

Turn signal switch went bad at 107k miles, it cost $350 to replace.

No other mechanical problems.

General Comments:

This car handles and performs well with the FE-3 suspension and variable assist power steering.

The leather seats are very comfortable and have no excessive wear or tear.

The six-speaker dimensional sound system sounds superb.

I feel like this is a safe car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2002

13th Jun 2002, 23:56

You need to check under your hood more often because you don't have a 3.1 SOHC engine. You have a OHV 12 Valve pushrod engine, but you did get the 3.1 part right!!!

Thanks!

David Commeau

Livonia, NY.

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Convertible 3.4 DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.4 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles

Summary:

A must have, contains everything in one

Faults:

I needed to replace my battery at 43,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is one of the most reliable and sporty cars I've ever owned.

The car is very quick, and the stock strut towers make handling very easy.

The inside is very roomy, and the leather seats are very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2001

1st May 2003, 14:56

I just purchased a 95 Dark Teal Green and I am very impressed with its appearance, performance and looking forward to meeting other owners and the excitement of driving my convertible.

10th Jun 2003, 12:37

Excellent car to own - I bought mine in 2000 and love to drive it. It is sporty and seems to turn a lot of heads. Black on Black with the Roll bar, (not really a roll bar). I am very happy with the car.

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass SL 3.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired66743 miles
Most recent distance70523 miles

Summary:

Excellent power and great reliability

Faults:

Replaced the two Eagle GA tires in the front with Yokohama Avid Touring tires.

New brake discs all around - first time changed.

Turning signals failed and the rod coming out of the steering column had to be taken off to get to the wiring of the signals.

General Comments:

This car is awesome. I love the look of this bright red coupe. It has loads of power readily available. I have it up to around 190 HP with an added K&N filter-charger that only put me down $30.

Great handling out of a front wheel driver.

Doesn't turn the best, but gets the job done and has great passing capabilities.

No major problems.

An all around fun car to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2001

12th Jun 2001, 06:51

I love this car too. I wonder if anyone has had problems with the blinker. Mine failed too.

11th Jan 2003, 18:10

I have a 1995 olds cutlass 2 door bought new it has around 80000 miles on it. I had to change brakes all around + rotors they only lasted to 50000 miles. otherwise this car is a joy to drive. Iam not looking to replace it any time soon.

24th Jul 2003, 09:05

I have a 1996 Olds Cutlass.

So far I have had to replace the turn signal switch (can do yourself for around $60.00).

I have also had to bring it in and have a auto shop replace the head gaskets on both sides.

Also I have replaced the rear rotors 2 times (someone told me to replace the calipers).

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL 3.1 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired48500 miles
Most recent distance59500 miles
Previous carBuick Regal 1988

Summary:

Easy on the eyes

Faults:

The cable that connects the gas pedal to the idle snapped while driving... cost about $65 to replace.

All brakes have been replaced.

General Comments:

These 2 door coupes are "very" attractive rides that have surprising speed.

I tinted the windows, purchased polished rims, added racing stripes, custom painted the interior trim, added a spoiler, and a custom sound system to make this one of the finest of its kind!!

Would like to see pics of one lowered.

Does anyone have a favorite color for these coupes?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2001

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme Convertible 3.4L DOHC V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.4L DOHC V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Smooth, comfortable and sporty

Faults:

Vaccuum hose went, causing brake problems. This was due to an improperly serviced PCV valve from the previous owner.

General Comments:

I'm in love with this car. It's got enough power to be very fun to drive, yet it can comfortably carry 4 adults - a rarity in a convertible these days.

It does burn an awful lot of gas, but it's been a pleasure to own. If they still made the Cutlass Supreme Convertible, I'd buy a new one next!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2000

15th Dec 2000, 15:37

I have one of these too. Be aware of using the "Recirc" button on the air controls. It tends to suck maps and tissues from the glove box into the ventilation fan which are costly to get removed.

I also recommend not taking the car through the automatic car wash. The rear window is now leaking.

1995 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme 3.4 V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.4 V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Ride is wonderful

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Ride is wonderful. The car is styled so perfect it's truly a great American car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2000

25th Sep 2002, 23:11

This car has had many problems in the one year I had it. From the ignition module, and various electrical problems, and the fuel injectors need to be replaced and it only has 105,000 miles. Plus the engine is tough to work on.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 25 reviews