1996 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL 3.1L from North America


The girl next door: a deceptive mistress


As per usual, the alternator gave me problems, but that was an inexpensive problem to fix.

I also had a head gasket leak I had to fix.

Other than that, a charm.

General Comments:

This car has taken a lot of people by surprise. My mechanic is a certified Porsche mechanic and he drives a different, beautiful sports car home every night. After driving my car, the first words out of his mouth were "Definitely not what I expected." He went on to comment on its speed, control and overall comfort. Words I could not agree with more. This is a great American car, and I'm sad to see it gone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2001

16th Aug 2001, 06:49

I am the proud owner of a 97 Cutlass Supreme SL. It looks and drives like a dream. Very precise handling. Corners like it's on rails. This car looks HOT!!!

Had to replace a speed sensor and an alternator, but both under warranty, so it didn't cost a thing.

Love my car!! I won't drive a foreign car. Not as long as there are cars that look and drive as well as mine made here. It's not my father's Oldsmobile that's for sure.

Lots of power to spare. Very nimble and quick. It's a love affair!!!

2nd Oct 2002, 07:14

I agree with you, I have a 1996 Cutlass Supreme too and I prefer to call it "The Poor Mans BMW". The only complaint I have is it's tiny 160HP V6, I guess it's my fault, because I bought the car cheap at 27,000 miles without a second thought. I took the test drive alone and man! This thing can haul ass alright. I am college student and always pressed for cash, and at 20 miles to the gallon on city roads is pretty good fuel milage. When I come home for breaks, I stuff all my belongings, two of my friends and their belongings in this car and cruise home on the highway at an average of 80 to 90 miles an hour. . I have had the car for 3 years now without any sign of problems and I absolutely love it.

1996 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme SL 3.1 V6 from North America


Wolf in sheep's clothes


Just the usual GM alternator, but it died under warranty. Otherwise just the expected stuff.

General Comments:

This car ROCKS, I've had it for about four years now. Moved across the country pulling a trailer. Very powerful engine, I've got the 3.1 V6 and have been able to push it up to about 290 hp just with minor tweaks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2000

24th Dec 2000, 17:48

Same here... how did you get that much horsepower... I have a 3.4 twin cam with 200 horsepower... I'd love more out of it.


2nd Feb 2001, 11:45

Could you tell me how you dealt with the horsepower? I've got a 96 3.1 4 door.


2nd Feb 2001, 16:01

I have a '96 2-door SL... My 3.1 is generous in the power dept., but of course I'd like more power, too. I'd like to know (like everyone else) what kind of minor 'tweaks' you made, and how it affected your gas mileage. Please respond to jgarland@infa.net.

PS... I love the tail-lights and spoilers on the '97 2-door Supremes. Anybody know of aftermarket kits? (Dealership wants about $130 per tail-light and close to $300 for the trunk-mounted wing).

1996 Oldsmobile Cutlass V6 from North America


Plenty of power


Master cylinder went out, replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Nice looking sedan, plenty of power with extra to spare. Extremely dependable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2000