1978 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale 5.0 350 V8 from North America


Powerful, well built, all American!


Needed new plug wires and an oil change, but that's about it.

General Comments:

My 78 Delta 88 was passed down to me from my grandfather. I love this car! It takes me wherever I want.

I can smoke a little Honda Civic easily. Those other compact cars don't stand a chance in the world ha ha.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2010

7th Mar 2010, 12:00

I'm jealous. I've owned 2 of these classic Olds Delta 88 and and 98 Regency cars myself of the same vintage, and wish I'd never parted company with them. There is not a new car on the market today that will match up to the quality, looks, "personality", and feel of this classic car. Hang onto it forever if you can!

The 350 is a 5.7 liter by the way, the 5.0 is their Olds 307. Yours likely has the 350 due to year of manufacture. In the early 80's they switched to the 5.0L 307 for fuel economy.

1978 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale Coup 350 from North America


Never buy an Oldsmobile


Power antenna at 60,000 miles.

Cruise control at 50,000 miles.

Complete exhaust system at 40,000.

Replaced fan in a/c blower four times.

Starter replaced at 90,000 miles.

Transmission seal at 85,000 miles.

Dimmer switch at 87,000 miles.

Hood release cable at 110,000.

Carburetor rebuild at 85,000.

A/C clutch broke at 150,000.

Water pump at 90,000.

Ignition failure at 110,000.

General Comments:

The car was purchased used from the original owner. Car was only two years old with few miles on it, from a neighbor.

This was a very good riding car.

Many parts on the car just did not last and lots of money was spent on the car for repairs, even when the car had relatively low miles.

The car got horrible gas mileage.

The cabin was luxurious and comfortable.

After having this car, I vowed never to own another Oldsmobile and have kept my word to this day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th December, 2007

11th Dec 2007, 15:00

"Water pump at 90,000."

- Excellent amount of mileage for that! And everything else as well!

12th Dec 2007, 21:36

I don't know that this was such terrible service from a car of that era. In the 1970's it was a big deal to go 100,000 miles and people didn't put more than a few thousand miles per year on a car because they didn't do all the long-distance commuting that they do now. Also, I remember that all cars had rusty mufflers and tailpipes back in those days. If it lasted 40,000 miles, which was probably six years, that was pretty good. Ditto for the carburetor -- if it went 85,000 miles that was probably 10 years.

I bought a '67 Chrysler Newport with 90,000 miles when it was 26 years old (yes, average 3,500 miles per year), and it also desperately needed new plugs, wires, a carburetor rebuild, new light and dimmer switch, and other little work. When I knocked that all out, it was a great running car again.

Oldsmobile made some good cars. My family had a '69 Oldsmobile Ninety-Eight that was a real luxury cruiser, though my dad blew the transmission by throwing it in gear and racing the engine after it had sat all winter, without letting the fluid warm up and circulate.

1978 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale 2 Door 350 Oldsmobile V8 5.7 Liter from North America


"There's a special feel in an Oldsmobile"


Normal wear and tear items (shocks, brakes, tires, etc.) several times. wiper motor a/c recharged twice, and replaced compressor the second time tie rod ends master cylinder carburetor rebuilt you joints timing chain just last week.

General Comments:

Here is a true testament to what an American car used to be made of. No computers, no endless sensors or wiring harnesses getting in the way of maintenance. Just reliable, smooth performance and timeless style, packaged in nearly 2 tons of chrome and Detroit iron. I inherited this car from my great grandma before she died, and it was her baby. She was very picky about maintaining it, and who she let drive or borrow it. She would probably be turning over in her grave if she saw the way I used to drive it at the age of 19, but 15 years later I've matured, although I do have to show the occasional poser kid in a grand am or civic what a real car is at the stoplight! After nearly 28 years on the road and nearly 300,000 miles, this car shows no signs of slowing down or dying. The original carmine red paint is starting to fade due to age and sun, and the transmission seals and valve cover and head gaskets are finally going bad. The interior of this car is immaculate, and can seat six adults with ease.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2006

17th Apr 2006, 17:05

Well written review. Glad to hear you've kept it that long! I bought a two door 1987 Chevy Caprice Landau from the second owner when I was 18, I'm 22 now and wonder if I'll still have it when I'm your age. I agree with everything in your review. Hold on to the car- they're great values and classics in their own right in my opinion.

12th May 2006, 12:57

How true! The last of breed. Gone are the days when you could replace a water pump for less than thirty bucks or change a set of eight plugs for less than ten bucks.

I put over 300k on my 77 350 ci. custom cruiser and regret the day I sold it. It was a wonderful car, lots of room and drove like a dream. If GM was still making them today, I'd buy one in a blink of an eye regardless of the environmentalists. For such a big car, it averaged about seventeen miles per gallon and on the highway, it got well over twenty.

Too bad GM pulled the plug on Olds, these cars had character and were built like brick outhouses. Mine was as dependable as ice in winter. It never failed to start even in the coldest of mornings and the heater would blast hot air almost immediately. I used mine to haul building materials to build a cottage in the great white north.

This car contributed to a lot of memories of when my kids were young and I'm truly glad I owned it. I'm driving a Pontiac Montana SV6 now, but I'd trade it for a new Custom Cruiser any time.