1984 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale 231 V6 from North America


Dirt cheap luxury


The windshield washer motors had to be replaced. No big deal there.

The passenger seats plastic trim broke near the bottom and got caught on the arm rest. Again an easy fix.

The most frustrating problem was my headliner. There was absolutely nothing keeping it attached to the roof, and it became quite cumbersome.

General Comments:

Driving this car is like piloting a king sized bed down the road.

The Buick V6 may not be the strongest power-plant out there, but it's fantastic on gas and great on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2002

3rd Mar 2005, 13:59

The V-6 huh? too bad yours doesen't have the optional Oldsmobile 307 V-8: much better engine!

5th Jan 2011, 14:03

The great thing about the V6 is you can pull it and drop in any BOP, small or big block. They are a direct bolt in. I've done it on an 83 Olds Cutlass.

1984 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale 5.0L 307cid V8 from North America


Reliable, powerful, and fun!


Two of the valve lifters were not getting oil properly and they tapped very loudly. A little bit of oil additive helped this.

After the vehicle had been warmed up, the torque converter clutch would engage too soon, causing the car to lurch. To fix that I would just downshift to 2nd until I got above 40 MPH.

The seats were worn out and the headliner was falling down when I got the car. I made seat covers and a new headliner.

The cruise control didn't work above 62 MPH.

The intermittent wipers didn't work.

The left-rear power window only went down about 3 inches.

The power antenna didn't work.

The left-rear inside door handle was missing when I bought the car.

Junkyard air conditioning compressor that was on the car when I bought it seized after about 10 minutes of use. I just disconnected the wiring and rolled the windows down.

General Comments:

Despite a lot of minor problems, the car was very reliable. Even on very cold mornings it would start right up.

The ride of the car was nice. Except for the noisy valve lifters the car was very quiet.

At speeds above about 55 MPH the car liked to weave a little from side to side. It did feel a lot like a boat.

I wish the car had had overdrive--with the three speed automatic I only managed around 11 miles per gallon. With a 25-gallon gas tank, though, the car would still go a long way between fill-ups.

All in all, at a purchase price of $200, this car was a great deal. It's a testament to American ingenuity that it still ran at all at that mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd May, 2002

1984 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale Brougham 5.0 liter (307CI) V8 from North America


It is a very comfortable and reliable car

General Comments:

At 80,000 miles, I replaced the stock transmission with a more durable Turbo 350. The original TH200C was slipping.

The engine has never had any problems.

At 75,000 miles I replaced the radiator.

At 78,000 miles the starter failed.

The carburetor was rebuilt at 105,000 miles.

I have done no other work to this car except for regular maintenance per the owners manual.

This is by far the most comfortable vehicle I have ever owned, my only complaint is that I wish it had more power. I have taken several long trips with no problems at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2002

25th Mar 2007, 22:21

I wrote this review and still have this car. 163,000 miles and still going strong. The car uses little to no oil between changes, and the only major problem I have had since I first posted this is an A/C compressor which failed last year. I LOVE my Delta 88!

26th Mar 2007, 06:52

I just bought this car a few weeks ago. This is my first car. It only has 80,000 miles on it. I love this car.

1984 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royal 307 from North America


A car for a lifetime


Torque converter lock doesn't disengage so I disconnected it. Too late though, it caused a rod bearing to break and had to get a rebuilt motor.

Replaced the timing chain, and water pump, and fuel pump in the original motor at 80000.

Three sets of front calipers so far.

New rotors.

Rebuilt the carb myself.

New dimmer switch.

Replaced the starter once.

Can't get the quiet corporate muffler anymore. They only sell the noisy crap. So I added an extra muffler in the back.

General Comments:

Quietest car I can find, though I did add some insulation myself. Tried to replace my Black Beauty with a '96 Delta 88, then a Lexus SL400 to no avail. I get nauseous driving new cars and they hurt my ears. It's a fact that new cars make more road noise than the older ones.

It's been in the shop only twice in the 15 years I've owned it. Did the rest of the work myself.

Guess I'll keep this baby forever.

Too bad I can't find a date that's not embarrassed to drive in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 2002