1984 Oldsmobile Delta 88 LS 5.0 from North America

Summary:

This car is fast and sharp

Faults:

Water Pump At 154,345 Miles.

Radiator At About 160,000 Miles.

Transmission Fluid Leak At About 130,500 Miles.

General Comments:

This car is very roomy. Also this car handles like a sports car. The all together body of the car is beautiful. I couldn't let this car go for many more years. Acceleration and braking is also great. To my surprise this long boat was actually not bad on gas at all and that is with the 5.0 This is flat out just the best car in the world and someone would be a fool to let go of one of these.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th January, 2006

11th Jan 2006, 09:05

This is true. The 307 used in the Oldsmobile Eighty Eights that year had lots of power. I know because I have one. I had my cousin follow me on the freeway to do a speed test and when I was pegging the needle, his speedometer was reading 120 and still going like it was nothing. If you keep up on your oil changes, and other maintenance procedures, the car will not only run like a beauty, it will be a total beast.

1984 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale Brougham 307 4V from North America

Summary:

The only kind of car I will ever purchase

Faults:

Around 44 thousand km the water pump went on it, but it was only 50 bucks to replace. The reason the water pump went was I never check the fluid and run the bag off the car.

General Comments:

This car is the most comfortable car I have ever owned. It rides down the road very nice, has lots of power (does good smoke shows and brake stands), and still gets around 21 mpg.

It is extremely easy to bury the speedometer (140) and it beats most Toyota cars by 2 or 3 lengths.

I have driven the car across the country 3 times, I have nothing bad to say about the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2005

11th Aug 2005, 16:05

I have owned two '85 Delta 88 Royals with much higher (250,000+) mileage and they last forever.. very comfortable and reliable, great performance. Only work I ever needed to do on them was routine maintenance.

15th Aug 2005, 12:19

My dad bought an 85 Delta 88 Royale back in 1987. It had about 45,000 miles on it. Ten years later he ended up giving it to me. I when I sold it the car had 215,000 miles on it. It was starting to show some age at the time. It was leaking oil due to some gaskets needing replacement. The a/c went out and the body was starting rust. Overall, that was a solid well-built car. It's such a shame all of Olds car were downsized the following year.

1984 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale Brougham V8 5 Litre from North America

Summary:

My 88: A Bullet proof Romulan Battle Cruser of a ride

Faults:

Front brushes and wheel connector arm were in desperate need of replacement when I got it.

Wiper controls are temperamental.

The Radiator and coolant system leaked in numerous places, but seems to have righted itself over the months I've had it.

I'm constantly taking it back to the garage, but it's mainly for nickel & dime stuff.

General Comments:

It's totally reliable and durable.

It handles well in the snow and ice.

The interior is spacious and comfy.

The extras and electrics are 1st class luxury from an era when N. America knew how to make cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2005

31st Jan 2005, 09:46

You're constantly taking it back to the garage for nickel and dime stuff?

One of the biggest reasons for having an old car like this is not having to bother with minor problems. If you are constantly taking it to the garage you are probably spending as much on repairs as it would cost to buy a newer, better car.

22nd Feb 2005, 14:51

I bought an 84 Olds Delta 88 Broughm in Nov 91 with 62000 km on it. Sold it in Feb 04 with 241,000 km (close to 150,000 miles. The engine was never opened up or used any oil. Had a lot of carberator problems and had the ignition replaced once. Replaced the transmission once, had a new dash module put in at over $1000 Canadian. It only lasted one year before more bulbs started to go out. Signal light switch pulled out, but still worked when pushed back in, replaced gears in electric seat. Replaced brakes a couple of times, but never touched the shocks. Rear end never was touched. Changed starter and alternator once. Water pump never touched. Had radiator repaired once and replaced once. Car was a very good looking 2 door. Doors were heavy to open, but the car was a pleasure to drive on the highway. It was a heavy car for driving around town.