1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue LX 3.8 from North America


It could have been great


My power steering rack went out at about 56,000 miles.

My transmission went out at about 60,000 miles.

I am currently experiencing the dimming light problem. So far it only occurs when I push my power window button.

General Comments:

The car has great pick up.

I love how comfortable the interior is.

Everything is in a great location for the driver.

I love how sleek the car looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th April, 2003

1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue LS 3.5 from North America


Nice looking car, but worried about oil consumption


Ever since I reached the 40,000 mark, I am using 1-2 quarts of oil between changes. My dealer says that it is normal, but I have never had a car use so much. Any suggestions? Oldsmobile seems to want to put it off.

General Comments:

Email me with suggestions


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2003

11th Jun 2003, 16:44

Chris here. I have had the same problem with the small amount of oil usage. The dealership says "It's within specs" But I have owned a few new cars and never had to keep putting oil into it every now and then. After about 1500 miles or I should say between oil changes I have to add a quart. The dealership also said that V-6 engines this size do that. I too have a 1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue GL.

1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue 3.5 from North America


Could have been a great car


Intermittent power fluctuations. I phoned G.M. about this problem and was told there was nothing they could do for me. The engineers were working on a new alternator and it "might be ready sometime". I then took the car to a dealer so as to document this problem. The next evening when I returned to retrieve my car, I was told that there was nothing wrong and maybe I was imagining this phenomena! Consequently I took the car to a different dealer. This time I was told the problem was well known and I needed a new alternator, but there was none available and there was a waiting list. Two weeks later I had a new alternator. (they had to remove the radiator to facilitate the R&R of the alternator). Currently there is a "clunking" noise transmitted to the steering wheel that occurs when you hit bumps or brake at low speeds. The power windows operate only when they want to especially the rear passenger one. There is engine knock at idle, that seems to disappear as the R.P.M.s increase.

General Comments:

It would seem that G.M. no longer cares to support Olds, their denials and reluctance to expedite warranty claims tell me that. This really is too bad because the Intrigue has the potential of being a great automobile. Shame on them for this disservice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

29th Apr 2004, 10:13

Hi, you just said in your review that you had some " Intermittent power fluctuations " problems. I don't know if it is the same problem I have. When I ride my car, it suddenly stops. Sometimes I have to wait 15minutes before it restarts. Nobody knows the problem yet. If you have any idea please feel free to tell me! Here's my email address:


24th May 2004, 21:40

The "clunking" noise you feel when braking is due to the steering coupler in the middle of the steering shaft needing lubrication. It is an 8 hour job just to get at the part needing the lube. Fortunately for me it was a warranty job and only neds to be done once.

26th Jul 2005, 14:41

During the warranty period of my car I had to replace the intermmediate steering shaft to resolve the clunking in the steering wheel. Other than that, it has been excellent.

29th Jul 2008, 19:52

The knocking noise you hear at idle is not really a knock, it is just simply your timing chains. The 3.5L and its big brother, the Cadillac north star are both noted for this noise. It is nothing to worry about, and is no sign of premature wear.