1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue Reviews - Page 9 of 15

1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue GX 3.1 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

High

Faults:

During quick take offs the engine would slip. The problem was taken care of through a recall campaign. Power windows occasionally do not work and the doors tend to stick. When you open the the trunk, after it has rained, the water tends to leak inside as you are opening it. The front brake pads lasted until 100,000 miles and the rear were replaced at 117,000 miles. Currently the gas gauge is not working. The dealer claims that it will cost at least $500 dollars to fix because you have to replace the sending unit and the fuel pump are one piece.

General Comments:

Overall, I am very satisfied with my Intrigue. The only thing that I don't like is you do not have control over the headlights. When you enter a military installation at night, the MPs want you to turn your headlights off and I always have to tell the guard that I cannot turn them off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2003

15th Feb 2004, 21:33

Simply turn your light switch to the parking lights when you go to the military place...

1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue GLS 3.5L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance51174 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

The Intrigue is fun to drive

Faults:

Both rear windows quit working after about 5000 miles, but since we hardly used them we waited until about 35000 miles to have the dealer repair them under warranty.

The "idiot light" for low coolant occasionally comes on until the engine reaches operating temperature.

One of those tiny light bulbs in the rear view mirror recently started to flicker. Won't replace it until the bulb fails.

The car stalled once while my wife was driving, happened while the engine was warming up. She was able to re-start the engine after about a minute.

Last summer, the outside temperature display acted screwy for a few days before returning to normal. Probably had a piece of dirt on the sensor.

General Comments:

I really like this car for its performance and handling. I have taken several 2000 mile trips with it and find it a joy to drive, especially when passing some 18-wheeler going up a hill. Its Northstar engine is super!

In the interior, the Bose sound system can't be beat and the power seats with leather are very good for long trips.

Since the exterior styling is going to stay "in fashion" for quite some time, I plan on keeping the car indefinitely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2003

17th Mar 2007, 05:54

Now at 95k miles. The tranny acted up on me at about 70k, but added some Lube-Gard and solved the problem. Replaced the crank sensor at 76K miles, and the front wheel hubs and brakes at 80k. Since then the car has been running very well. Everything still works. Changed the oil regularly and flushed the cooling system at 5 year intervals.

One problem is that there is some water in the trunk and I think it is entering from the underside of the car. plan on getting some spray undercoating and hitting the seams. Until then will avoid driving in the rain.

Will replace spark plugs/wires at 100k miles.

1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue LX 3.5 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance74422 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

The most problematic car you will ever own

Faults:

Replaced crankshaft position sensor in the first month of ownership to the tune of $200.

Occasionally the "Service Engine Soon" light lights up for no reason. It has done this 4 times since I have owned the car. Every time no error code registers in the diagnostic.

When the rear windows are opened at about 40 mph, loud, reverberating wind noise engulfs the cab.

My transmission broke after 74422 miles. I had changed the transmission fluid 3 times since ownership (<2 years ago).

I have spent well over $3,000 on maintenance, both major and minor. You would think $14,000 would buy some quality and a 4-year-old car would be less problematic.

General Comments:

I originally bought this car for its high performance engine. Now I regret my quick decision. The engine is fine and responsive. When the car behaves, I love to accelerate onto the freeway or pass some slowpoke. I have treated the car well, too. I have changed the fluids regularly and have avoided harsh driving conditions. However, other than the engine everything seems to be going mechanically and electrically wrong with the car. I haven't had 6 months with the car without some major and expensive malfunction. I doubt it is all due to excessive wear and tear.

I wanted to keep this a good 5-8 years. Now I am contemplating selling it after just 2. The transmission breaking is the last straw. In the past when these problems occurred, I deluded myself into thinking the current problem is the last problem I will have with the car. I am through.

If I could, I would rather buy my old 1992 Sunbird back than keep the problematic Intrigue. The Sunbird's problems were mild compared to this. It made it to 130,000 on one transmission and one crankshaft sensor. This lemon has soured me to GM.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2003

3rd Apr 2008, 10:43

'99 INTRIGUE with most problems listed (oil leaks, sticking doors, Warning lights, etc.) Major problem with the engine is the mass air flow sensor.

Replaced transmission at 80k miles. My mechanic was amazed it lasted that long. He said these transmissions could keep him in business. He also advised me to sell the car before I got another 50k on it, because the transmissions only last around 70k.

3rd Apr 2008, 14:28

I have a 2000 Intrigue with 195,000 miles on it with the original transmission.

23rd Jun 2011, 19:24

Our Intrigue (3.8L) has 155,000 miles, and the transmission needs rebuilding, and the mass airflow sensor is malfunctioning. We are getting rid of it rather than fixing it. We love the way the car handles and rides on the freeway. The transmissions seem to be the weak link on these otherwise nice cars.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 49 reviews