1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue Reviews - Page 15 of 15

1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue GL 3.5 twin cam from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.5 twin cam Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

A car you enjoy spending time in

Faults:

I have only had two problems with the car, one minor and the other major.

The heater fan motor needed replacing as it squeaked when cold.

The major was the engine needed replacing because of a knock on cold starts. All under warranty.

General Comments:

I enjoy driving this car and it is very responsive.

I would buy this car all over again.

General Motors said this knock was a well known issue, so hopefully they can resolve it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2002

1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue GL 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired375 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

I wish Oldsmobile made a full size truck!

Faults:

Wind noise with the outside mirrors... Problem in the design.

Steering is moaning.

General Comments:

I live the power this car has... great family car for the sporty family...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2001

18th Aug 2001, 05:28

I have constant problem with the steering column. It has been repaired two times in one year for the ticking noise coming from the steering column when turning.

25th Nov 2001, 11:36

I have a '99 Olds Intrigue GL, and had similar problems with the steering. My steering shaft, or some part of it, was replaced. I believe there was a notice to the dealers on this and it should cost you nothing to have it fixed.

1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance40700 miles

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

The front tires kept losing air. Had the valves replaced, when dealer noticed the inside of the wheels, all four, was totally rusted. It looks as if the metal is "peeling". I wonder what caused this.

General Comments:

I am happy with the car but very distressed for my safety if the rusting could cause my tires to blow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18002 miles
Most recent distance51150 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

I enjoy driving it on rural roads

Faults:

Odd warning light signals. Different lights would stay on for over a minute or so. Yet the dealer could find no problems.

Regular dealer visits for oil changes.

Had the dealer replace the bad right rear seat belt.

New tires at 47,000.

Recent problem when trying to start. Turn key - nothing! Have to move the shift lever, move the key or wheel to start?

Have a dealer appointment.

General Comments:

Looks great. Has good response.

GM cloth interior could be nicer.

Only one usable cup holder. Rear center cup holders allow items to fall sideways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd May, 2001

28th Sep 2002, 15:52

Hi! As a 1998 Intrigue owner, I am somewhat familiar with the random no-start condition of which you speak. In my car's case, the battery was slowly leaking ACID from around the terminal and fouling the connection. At first, there was only an occasional no-start, but as the battery leaked more profusely it ended up being permanent. You may want to peel back that rubber insulator around the outside of your battery and take a look at that, if you haven't already had the car fixed. Hope this helps! Mike.

1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired190 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry '98

Summary:

Terrible experience and GM should be ashamed of themselves

Faults:

Wind and road noise. Cheap interior. Noise in the front end that could not be found (factory rep included in the search). In the shop 5 times with many parts replaced but no fix.

I would not recommend this car to anyone.

General Comments:

This is the best performing (engine/response) that I have owned since I was a kid, but it simply is a pain to drive because of the rattles, squeaks, moans, and groans that it makes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th December, 2000

20th Sep 2002, 16:59

Had you kept your '98 Camry, it wouldn't have been any better or a car. They have their own fair share of reliability related problems. And besides, most of them have a noisy and weak 4-cyl. engine.

1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue LX 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Best car purchase we've made in 15 years

Faults:

CD player skips. Consider replacing with a better quality player.

General Comments:

Great handling and pick up makes it fun to drive.

Have received compliments on the attractiveness of the body.

Reasonable features included in the package ~ in other words, I didn't pay for bells and whistles that don't serve my purposes.

Would like a power passenger seat. Comfortable interior, including the back seat. Reasonable for lengthy rides. Exiting the back seat takes some maneuvering.

Front lacks cup holders.

Wind noise when back windows are down.

Not the smooth and quiet ride of a luxury car, but comparable to Accord or Camry. More comfortable than Accord or Camry (softer, contoured seats, more head and leg room, more features), priced less.

Pleased with the quality of workmanship after 10 months of ownership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2000

30th Jan 2001, 08:01

Generally I like the car, although build quality (squeaks/rattles,etc.) needs to improve to compete successfully with Japanese and German models in the same category.

I have 61,000km on my vehicle and have had only one problem of note, although that was a major one. The 3.5 engine in my vehicle developed a knock on cold starts when I hit 45000km on the odometer. After battling with my dealer for several months they replaced the complete engine under warranty. The vehicle was maintained properly and not abused. They had no explanation for the problem.

8th Nov 2002, 22:14

Cold start rattles are normal on GM V6 vehicles. The source of the noise is the valve lifters which does not pose any driveability or reliability issue. The most common dealer answer to the noise is "The pistons are made smaller to expand as it heats up and fill the hole." Not the case, just some valve lifter noise. On the higher millage cars, I would be concerned if your car was NOT making that noise!

15th Jun 2005, 21:19

The 3.5 L is a dual overhead CAM. It doesn't have lifters!

8th Jun 2006, 12:48

That knocking noise is piston slap. Once the cylinders war up the pistons expand, thus not allowing them to "slap" against the cylinder wall. It's a common thing on most gm vehicles. Its really nothing to worry about. My 88 chevy truck has been doing that since it was brand new, it just rolled over 300,000 miles, and the motor has never been touched.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 49 reviews