2001 Oldsmobile Intrigue GX 3.5 DOHC V6 24 Valve from North America

Summary:

This car is more than worthy of the "rocket" badge and beats Toyota

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

Interior fit/finish is impeccable.

Exterior fit/finish is exemplary.

Interior ergonomics/materials are first rate.

The multivalve engine is rev happy, economical, smooth, and has gobs of low end torque (like an OHV engine).

Cabin is very quite and comfortable.

Front seats are supportive, rear seats are roomy.

Climate controls are easy to use and read.

The Oldsmobile radio is flawless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2005

2001 Oldsmobile Intrigue GX V6 from North America

Summary:

This car has way too many problems. Should be recalled

Faults:

Wind noise coming from the driver side door.

Headlights flickering.

Right blinker only works half the time. Seems to have a short in it.

A/C doesn't work on lowest setting and a/c light and cold air flicker on and off. I have to giggle the knob to keep the a/c on.

Hissing noise coming from underneath of car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 2005

29th Mar 2005, 14:35

I am having the exact same problems with my 2002 Intrigue.

Everything you said is true, but I can add my transmission seems to be giving me problems, but when I take it in to be checked they say its fine. I'm also hearing a very load noise coming from the front drivers side area when I crank the car. It usually lasts about a minute, but its very loud, sounds like an airplane. No one knows what it is or how to fix it.

31st Jan 2006, 22:07

The loud noise could be the starter sticking. I have read that on other reviews/forums.

1st Jul 2006, 13:33

My 2001 does exactly the same thing! Took it into the dealership, they told me it's the AIR pump (not air pump, but A I R pump) whatever THAT is...

They said the power control module was going, so got that changed, now the "jet engine" sound is WORSE.

I just tell my friends it's the nitrogen afterburners for exceptional speed. Other than that I really like this car!

13th Oct 2006, 18:57

My A.I.R. pump has gone twice also. Jet engine for sure. The beautiful thing is, the check engine light was on for two months and seems to have given up and gone out. Jet engine still there, just tell prospect buyers it's the cooling fan.

14th Dec 2010, 01:56

My 2001 Intrigue has the jet engine sound when you first start it. The dealer says it's the electric cooling fan spooling up. The air pump is bad, check engine light stays on. Brake rotors keep warping. The left rear caliper locked up. Drivers window only works occasionally. Engine misses and transmission clunks when shifting gears. Radio knobs break and fall off. Tie rods replaced at 60,000 miles. Headlights dim and brighten by themselves.

Love the look but not the problems. No more GM cars for me.

2001 Oldsmobile Intrigue GX 3.5 DOHC from North America

Summary:

A fine and sturdy car for heavy-duty service

Faults:

Air conditioning unit was replaced within the first year, free under warranty.

Both rear power window lift motors were replaced in the last eighteen months, also under warranty.

A short in the headliner required extensive warranty service (car out of service 7-10 days) and a loaner, which was fully paid for under warranty.

Aluminum wheels are very fragile and I have had one replaced after several repairs (it could no longer be made to balance on a spin machine). I would have opted for regular steel wheels and hubcaps/wheel covers had they been available.

Other than that, oil change on average every 5-6,000 miles. I have changed transmission fluid and anti-freeze in advance of maintenance schedule, as the car is driven many miles and in severe duty service.

General Comments:

I am very pleased with this car. I drive it many miles daily and it is outstanding in all climates and especially winter weather.

The 3.5 engine is strong at all ranges and I found it to have satisfactory pickup from a stop. Brakes are the best I have ever had in a car.

Cloth upholstery is very comfortable and great in cold weather.

This is my second Intrigue and I regret that Oldsmobile shut down, as I would like to get another one. The car was a sleeper - much better than most of its peer cars.

I also liked the styling, which was clean and elegant.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2004